Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 3 - 12Z4.233298
A thirteen-year-old girl seemingly destined for a modeling career finds she has a deformation of the spine called scoliosis.
Hardcover, 192 pages
Published on December 1, 1982 by Atheneum/Richard Jackson Books
ISBN-10: 0027110206
ISBN-13: 9780027110203
25 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • 45
    45Thursday, October 1, 2020 at 8:11 pm55 stars
    amazing book
    • hemelak
      hemelakWednesday, September 30, 2020 at 2:29 pm55 stars
      This book is good i have read it before at first i did not want to read them but then my little sister said you should this book and i said ok and then i really liked the book and i have read another book called are you there god? it is me margret and i am reading another book and i really like the Book and i am satisfied with the books Judy Blume write i reallly like this book!
      • ReaderMonday, June 22, 2020 at 11:11 am
        I absolutely LOVE this book. Im about halfway through and its amazing. Im in fifth grade and I have scoliosis. Just like her I have a brace and everything. I found this book on overdrive when i was looking for stories about scoliosis.
        • PebblezMonday, May 4, 2020 at 6:55 am
          I thought this was an excellent and very well written . It's a story about a thirteen-year-old girl called Deenie who her mother thinks should be a model. Deenie is not very keen on the idea but deals with it. When the doctors find out she has a back problem called scoliosis her mother's dreams of Deenie being a model are crushed and Deenie is forced to wear a brace which she describes as being like a cage. Strong Deenie manages to get through life though at times she thinks that she is going crazy.
          • readerThursday, April 11, 2019 at 10:42 am
            This book was very good. It illustrated the downsides of having scoliosis and also how Deenie learned that you just have to live with what your given. You can't choose everything in life and if something happens, it just happens. You can't always help it.
            • vivisawesome
              vivisawesomeMonday, February 12, 2018 at 4:03 pm
              i wanna read that book.
              • thetriplews
                thetriplewsTuesday, February 13, 2018 at 12:32 pm55 stars
                I have it I can give it to you.
              • thetriplews
                thetriplewsMonday, February 12, 2018 at 1:31 pm55 stars
                very helpful
                • thetriplews
                  thetriplewsMonday, February 12, 2018 at 12:49 pm55 stars
                  I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!
                  • blue511
                    blue511Friday, December 1, 2017 at 7:30 am44 starsFeatured
                    I read this book because I was intrigued by the theme and concept of this story just by reading the back. This book was about a girl named Deenie, her family wanted her to become a model, but shes never been over the top excited about being one. In this story Deenie develops scoliosis, this book is mostly about Deenie and her family coping and adjusting to such a big change. I thought this book was well written and I like the fact that it is about something unique, not about the common things such as friendship and puppy dogs.
                    • skrrttt
                      skrrtttWednesday, April 5, 2017 at 7:20 pm44 stars
                      This book seems great