Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 3 - 12Z4.233298
A thirteen-year-old girl seemingly destined for a modeling career finds she has a deformation of the spine called scoliosis.
Hardcover, 192 pages
Published on December 1, 1982 by Atheneum/Richard Jackson Books
ISBN-10: 0027110206
ISBN-13: 9780027110203
21 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • readerThursday, April 11, 2019 at 10:42 am
    This book was very good. It illustrated the downsides of having scoliosis and also how Deenie learned that you just have to live with what your given. You can't choose everything in life and if something happens, it just happens. You can't always help it.
    • vivisawesome
      vivisawesomeMonday, February 12, 2018 at 4:03 pm
      i wanna read that book.
      • thetriplews
        thetriplewsTuesday, February 13, 2018 at 12:32 pm55 stars
        I have it I can give it to you.
      • thetriplews
        thetriplewsMonday, February 12, 2018 at 1:31 pm55 stars
        very helpful
        • thetriplews
          thetriplewsMonday, February 12, 2018 at 12:49 pm55 stars
          I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!
          • blue511
            blue511Friday, December 1, 2017 at 7:30 am44 starsFeatured
            I read this book because I was intrigued by the theme and concept of this story just by reading the back. This book was about a girl named Deenie, her family wanted her to become a model, but shes never been over the top excited about being one. In this story Deenie develops scoliosis, this book is mostly about Deenie and her family coping and adjusting to such a big change. I thought this book was well written and I like the fact that it is about something unique, not about the common things such as friendship and puppy dogs.
            • skrrttt
              skrrtttWednesday, April 5, 2017 at 7:20 pm44 stars
              This book seems great
              • maggies20
                maggies20Saturday, January 2, 2016 at 12:05 am44 stars
                Deenie is a pretty inspiring book. Deenie grew up in a world where her mother and everyone else gives her high expectations, she was expected to become a great model. However, everything changes when the doctor announces that Deenie has scoliosis, to fix her spine and prevent further dangers, she has to wear a brace. With this brace, Deenie feels insecure and lacks her usual confidence. She has to learn to overcome this challenge and face her life with a positive attitude. This story is really great, I think it teaches 2 lessons. One of them is not living under other's expectations, our life is controlled by our own hands. We should go after our own dreams and not be limited through people's expectations for us. Another lesson is looks can't judge a person. Deenie might not be able to look as glamorous as she was before, however, as long as she has a true heart, it doesn't really matter. So Deenie is a truly great book.
                • lisbeire
                  lisbeireTuesday, February 3, 2015 at 11:57 am44 stars
                  I recommend this book because it's interesting and if you don't have anything to read you could read this book.
                  • edmodo-jtysrbmnd5
                    edmodo-jtysrbmnd5Monday, October 14, 2013 at 5:22 pm11 star
                    it look okay
                    • la_eliza
                      la_elizaFriday, September 20, 2013 at 8:03 am55 stars
                      This is a really simple description; this book is about a thirteen-year-old girl who want to be a model but, then she finds that she has a deformation in her spine called scoliosis. Life isn't as easy as it may seem.