Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5U4.369857

The three children of Squirrelflight and Brambleclaw, grandchildren of the great leader Firestar, have thrived in their apprenticeships: Lionpaw's strength and energy serve him well as a warrior in training, Hollypaw hones her understanding of the warrior code, and Jaypaw explores his mysterious powers and connection to StarClan as the medicine cat apprentice.

With more experience comes both power and danger: Lionpaw makes a friendship—and a discovery—that must be kept hidden; Jaypaw learns a secret that could benefit ThunderClan by damaging others; and Hollypaw knows something that could avert a battle, if she could convince the rest of her Clan.

The three are torn apart as each discovers darkness: in themselves, in the Clans, and in the past. And, as conflict begins over what it means to be a warrior, rising tensions threaten to overflow, washing away the peace that has existed for many moons.

Hardcover, 352 pages
Published on January 1, 2008 by HarperCollins
29 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • skywatcher2140
    skywatcher2140Saturday, June 6, 2020 at 12:07 pm55 stars
    Warriors: Dark River is a sensational read that makes you hungry for more...a tense, emotional book. It has everything you’d want for an awesome story, and is neatly built, with enthusiastic characters and amazing events. It’s page-turning, awe-inspiring, and a great must-read, definitely recommended for readers!
    • LeafsongFriday, April 10, 2020 at 6:31 pm
      This is a great book. Hollypaw, Jaypaw, and Lionpaw are the grandchildren of Firestar, the leader of ThunderClan. Lionpaw sneakes through the tunnels to meet a WindClan apprentice called Heatherpaw. It is purrfect.
      • giggi1Monday, March 30, 2020 at 12:13 am
        Lionpaw and Heatherpaw are perfect! I'm in Long Shadows now! I like Jaypaw!
        • absol67
          absol67Sunday, March 22, 2020 at 9:52 pm
          I love this book and I’ve read it a million times! :P!
          • Cat1Saturday, March 21, 2020 at 6:15 am
            The 3 cats went over a meowstic adventure when he faces of many dangers and scratched..
            • loketoke
              loketokeTuesday, March 17, 2020 at 2:04 am33 stars
              This book is about 3 cats - Hollypaw, Jaypaw, and Lionpaw. Well, this book may not be the kind of books my mom wants me to read (historical and classical books), but I couldn’t resist just taking a peek. It’s full of suspense and humour. Lionpaw goes out to meet a pretty WindClan apprentice called Heatherpaw. Hollypaw and Cinderpaw soon find out Lionpaw’s secret, and Lionpaw is as grumpy as ever. So that’s all I’m going to say. If you want to find out more, go read : Dark River, by Erin Hunter
              • warriorsgirl11
                warriorsgirl11Monday, March 16, 2020 at 6:32 pm55 stars
                I loved this book!! But the thing is, I. Hate. Breezepaw. He is sooooo annoying! It was so sad when Lionpaw had to part with Heatherpaw. I personally think that heartbreak is because of the "spirit"of evil Tigerstar. But I think Tigerstar also wanted sincerly to help Lionpaw in his training. Ashfur looked like he didn't care about Lionpaw, even though during the apprentice ceremony he told Firestar he wouldn't let ThunderClan down (in book one). I liked Hollypaw's desire to help RiverClan because they've been driven out of their home.
                • warriorsgirl11
                  warriorsgirl11Monday, March 16, 2020 at 1:18 am55 stars
                  I liked Hollypaw. But Breezepaw was super annoying. I liked Hollypaw's ambition because it was not dangerous ambition like Tigerstar, but ambition like Bluestar.
                  • vafosihu-157805875278
                    vafosihu-157805875278Tuesday, January 7, 2020 at 6:52 am55 stars
                    In my opinion, I really liked this book. One reason why is because it is full of action . Another reason why is because I LOVE CATS!!!!!!!!!!!! The last reason why is because it shows cats are powerful .  ******SPOILER ALERT*******  My favorite part is when lion-paw sneaked away to meet heather-paw You might like this book if you like cats. You should read this book because it will make you never want to put it down
                    • stomay26Tuesday, April 17, 2018 at 4:53 am
                      I love this amazing book. Fallen Leaves is my favorite character in this book.