A thrilling futuristic adventure set deep undersea, Dark Life follows the settlers of the world's first subsea settlement as they defend their homesteads against a brazen band of outlaws.

Set in an apocalyptic future where rising oceans have swallowed up entire regions and people live packed like sardines on the dry land left, DARK LIFE is the harrowing tale of underwater pioneers who have carved out a life for themselves in the harsh deep-sea environment, farming the seafloor in exchange for the land deed.

The story follows Ty, who has lived his whole life on his family's homestead and has dreams of claiming his own stake when he turns eighteen. But when outlaws' attacks on government supply ships and settlements...
Paperback, 304 pages
Published on February 1, 2011 by Scholastic Paperbacks
ISBN-10: 0545178150
ISBN-13: 9780545178150
7 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • dd30
    dd30Tuesday, March 8, 2016 at 9:01 am
    Do you like underwater life books, awesome action packed books, with with amazing powers well read this review and you will with no doubt want to read this book. The book is Dark Life by Kat Falls and its science fiction and awesome. I really like this book and would give it 5 star rating. The main character is Ty he is a teenage boy who lives under water. One day he met a topside named Gemma who is also a teenager while he was in a abandoned submarine, and she needs help finding her brother that came subsea and never returned.. There is a group of Outlaws name the Seablite game that make life a challenge for these families under water. With the outlaws out there there is a lot of action and even besides the outlaws there is action. And you get to see how these underwater families have adapted to their new home. If you have ever read any books or seen any movies where they are on aquatic planets this book is like those but much better.
    • camlav
      camlavTuesday, December 15, 2015 at 5:55 am33 stars
      Dark life by Kat Falls This book is about a guy named Ty and his girlfriend named Gemma. They encounter lots of earth shattering earthquakes so the only way to survive underwater. On their journey they meet a lot of their friends trapped underwater. By now your probably thinking how do they breath underwater well they have suits with rebreathers on them so they can live deep under water. For food and water they go to sunken ships that where there from the Beginning by that I mean the Rebels with big submarines shoot down other submarines and scavenger bots. If you are still wondering if there are huge monsters in deep blue yes. Maybe there are some still in our ocean today but they encounter big heavyweight giants that swim but don't eat but megalodon does. Rebels are people who scavenge around for food. They are basically people from the apocalypse but they are saine at the same time. If they were to go up to the surface they would deal with some pretty bad radiation sickness. But there very little chances you could survive because there are lots of tsunamis happening which break the floor and causes immediate volcanic eruption. In this book they live in the ocean because the world has basically ended and the only way to survive is to go underwater. The protagonists of the book are Ty and Gemma,the antagonist of the book would probably be the raiders or the Rebels. The one major conflict is that they have trouble surviving and the other major conflict is that most of there things get taken by the raiders.Ty tried his best by gathering food and shelters for other people,and they can't really do anything to the raiders because they have armor,guns,food,medicine,and men (lots of them).Personally I liked the book because it was sort of my type of book what I mean by that it is a fictional book.But I highly recommend this book for kids who can read with speed because I just barely finished the book in time. BY: Cameron Lavoie
      • ehperez
        ehperezFriday, September 25, 2015 at 9:00 am
        Do you like science fiction then you should read dark life because it is a book about a earthquakes shattered the continents toppling and now humans live packed into stack cites. I enjoyed it because ty is a character that live in the ocean and helping his family farm the ocean floor but outlands attack homestead
        • ehperez
          ehperezFriday, September 25, 2015 at 8:42 am
          Do you like science fiction then you should read dark life because it is a book about a earthquakes shattered the continents toppling and now humans live packed into stack cites.
          • rushi
            rushiThursday, October 16, 2014 at 9:36 pm44 stars
            it was pretty cool! kinda gross at the end but still a good read.
            • haoan
              haoanThursday, October 10, 2013 at 8:25 pm55 stars
              This book is a great book, both exciting and surprising. The seas rise, forcing some people to live in tall apartment buildings while some other people, to live under the sea. I don't know why, but I love reading books that have to do with earth dying and then surviving or humans dying and then surviving. This book is a great book and I really recommend people reading it.
              • N.S.Tuesday, March 5, 2013 at 5:43 am
                This is my favorite book of 2013!!!!! It is a book about another world living at the bottom of the ocean . It is about an boy creature who lives on the dark side of the ocean .but, one day out laws attack The boys home!! Then the boy meets a girl her name is Helena. I think that's her name? So the girl and the boy set out on A dark adventure to find the treasure of a dark life!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

                Recent Kids Book Reviews

                thenoobquax

                Final battle is Dark Forest vs L...
                Warriors #6: The Darkest Hour (W...

                thenoobquax

                Rusty walks around finding Grayp...
                Warriors: Into the Wild

                thenoobquax

                How do you actually like Firesta...
                The Last Hope (Warriors: Omen of...

                thenoobquax

                Finally Erin Hunter finally got ...
                The Last Hope (Warriors: Omen of...