Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 2 - 5n/a4.283432
The hotly awaited second book in the dystopian Matched trilogy

In search of a future that may not exist and faced with the decision of who to share it with, Cassia journeys to the Outer Provinces in pursuit of Ky - taken by the Society to his certain death - only to find that he has escaped, leaving a series of clues in his wake.

Cassia's quest leads her to question much of what she holds dear, even as she finds glimmers of a different life across the border. But as Cassia nears resolve and certainty about her future with Ky, an invitation for rebellion, an unexpected betrayal, and a surprise visit from Xander - who may hold the key to the uprising and, still, to Cassia's heart - change the game once again. Nothing is as expected on the edge of Society, where crosses and double crosses make the path more twisted than ever.
Hardcover, 384 pages
Published on November 1, 2011 by Dutton Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0525423656
ISBN-13: 9780525423652
44 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • wiccanbat666
    wiccanbat666Monday, July 2, 2018 at 1:02 pm55 stars
    This book is a journey. A dangerous and exhausting one, but it is perfect. The canyons are the exact opposite of Oria, where the first book takes place. The first and the second book are generally exact opposites and this is what makes these books so amazing! Both books are authentic and thrilling and at the same time both are filled with an surprising depth through poetry. I love it!
    • shipgays4ever
      shipgays4everWednesday, February 21, 2018 at 2:39 pm55 stars
      MATCHED the series is THE BEST SERIES EVER!!!!!!!! Its on my list of top 10 books I've read EVER! Thank you Ally Condie for creating a series that me and my best friend Sateva (she read the books too) both LOVED!!!
      • hannpet1718
        hannpet1718Monday, October 16, 2017 at 10:29 am55 starsFeatured
        “Two little dark figures, looking up. Are they looking at me? Is it him? This far away there's only one way to know. I point to the sky.” -Ally condie crossed. Do you like adventure, romance and a mystery? Then, Crossed by Ally Condie is for you because it's all of those things! This book is set on the rims of a dystopian society of the near future The protagonists Cassia and Ky switch off narrating the story. As a reader this structure worked well for me but in the end it got a little confusing because it became similar.The antagonist is the society. The plot in general was very engaging and suspenseful, I didn’t want to put it down. Always full of twists and turns as great or better than the first book in the trilogy this is the second book in the trilogy and makes me want to read the last one to know what happens. This book made me think about our world today and how we could have a similar society at some point.
        • kaate
          kaateThursday, June 9, 2016 at 10:42 am55 stars
          I love it, and I mean who wouldn't? Thank you author!
          • angelay
            angelayThursday, February 25, 2016 at 6:06 am33 stars
            This book was pretty good, however I liked the first one better. The first one had a better plot and more original ideas, and a clearer voice of the main character, in the second book the author inserted a POV of another character which didn’t make the book so pure and beautiful anymore. Also, the plot was a bit too predictable and I didn’t really like the love square? the author threw in, it was too obvious that Cassia will end up with Ky. Also there was a lot of answers that went unanswered in the second book and there were also tons of plot holes. However, the author’s style of writing was very beautiful, she made the whole book sound like poetry, like her writing style was quite elegant and classy which was very different from the setting of the book which is a futuristic city.
            • soccer05
              soccer05Friday, September 11, 2015 at 8:12 am44 stars
              This book had me hooked! I recommend this book for 5th graders and up .
              • minecrafterdog
                minecrafterdogTuesday, February 3, 2015 at 6:10 pm22 stars
                this book was REALLY good at the beginning but then got really boring at the end. I didn't want to read Reached because of this. I didn't understand some of it.
                • foodluver
                  foodluverWednesday, November 26, 2014 at 11:07 am55 stars
                  This book was absolutely awesome. I loved it so much, I read the whole series.
                  • mandapanda1118
                    mandapanda1118Sunday, November 9, 2014 at 5:11 pm44 stars
                    One of my favorites. I couldn't put it down. I read the entire trilogy on vacation, and refused to go on a Disney ride to read it. Yep, you read that right.
                    • boots2002
                      boots2002Monday, October 27, 2014 at 2:20 pm
                      I thought it was ok. The first is WAY better!