Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 8V3.631485
Newbery medalist Jerry Spinelli tackles the tale of cocky seventh-grade super-jock Crash Coogan, who got his nickname the day he used his first football helmet to knock his cousin Bridget flat on her backside. And he has been running over people ever since, especially Penn Webb, the dweeby, vegetarian Quaker kid who lives down the block. Through the eyes of Crash, readers get a rare glimpse into the life of a bully in this unforgettable story about stereotypes and the surprises life can bring.
Paperback, 176 pages
Published on March 18, 1997 by Yearling
ISBN-10: 0679885501
ISBN-13: 9780679885504
33 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • MysteriousWednesday, January 10, 2018 at 8:37 am
    Interesting book. Some funny moments, some weird moments, and some sad moments. Book is amazing you guys should read it one day :)
    • jackelinem
      jackelinemMonday, November 13, 2017 at 3:13 pm
      cool but mean!!
      • chocazulu
        chocazuluThursday, April 6, 2017 at 6:03 pm55 stars
        i haven't read it yet but all of my friends say it's good
        • rvfd345
          rvfd345Thursday, April 6, 2017 at 6:37 am
          This book is very interesting, because once you read one chapter you get so into it and you don't want to stop reading, also the chapters our so short they're easy to read. The setting of crash is mostly placed in middle school, where this dude name crash and penn webb who thinks he's his friend.It an awesome because it's short and sweet. Spinellis writing style is good, because i love the way that the chapters our short and the book keeps moving.
          • 448288
            448288Wednesday, April 5, 2017 at 9:10 am
            the book Crash by Jerry Spinelli was great. it was a amzing story behind it i loved it!!!
            • 432183Wednesday, April 5, 2017 at 9:07 am
              I really liked this book and how the author writes it and he just adds a lot of detail about the characters and settings and what the characters are doing
              • 448274
                448274Tuesday, April 4, 2017 at 9:13 amFeatured
                In the book “Crash”by Jerry Spinelli takes you into pennsylvania in the shoes of a bully. The main character are Crash Coogan a bully who plays sports,Penn Webb a boy who just moved in,Mike Deluca a friend of Crash who also bullies penn, Abby Crashes younger sister, and Jane Forbes who moved in after Penn. The plot is This book takes place in pennsylvania where bullies reside and where Penn is now living also,Crash notices that Penn has moved in the neighbourhood and he takes an instant disliking to Penn. What I like about the book is that it really explains of how the characters feel about other people. This is a quote to give you a taste of the story “You never know who’s going to come home first. Tonight it was mom. Before she even closed the front door,she kicked her shoes across the living room.”.This is great book that will make you want to read every page and the chapter are short so it’s not really a long time commitment. Each page will want you to keep reading more it has drama and sadness but also a good plot. Fun fact Jerry Spinelli is an award winning author and grew up in Pennsylvania.
                • shopkincrz
                  shopkincrzWednesday, July 20, 2016 at 6:29 am44 stars
                  Crash by Jerry Spinelli is about a boy named John Coogan who was nicknamed Crash, because he is a football star. A new neighbor moved in named Pen Webb. Crash thought he had a dweeby name and he thought other things were dweeby about him. Crash and his friend Mike, loved pulling pranks and picking on Webb. After Mike pulls a mean prank on Webb, Crash has to choose what side he is on. Overall I loved the beginning because it was really funny. The middle got a little sad but the end felt like the author gave up. It is a good book, and I recommend it, but beware you might be disappointed at the end.
                  • nelle656
                    nelle656Monday, March 14, 2016 at 4:16 am55 stars
                    Wonderful book
                    • gymnastaussican
                      gymnastaussicanSaturday, March 12, 2016 at 9:51 pm44 starsFeatured
                      It is a very short book but to me it's worth it. I love how it show that winners and losers are common it many ways and it shows that life always works quite like that. I always felt bad for Penn. He seemed to be destined to be bullied. I think it was amazing to watch friendship grow and drown.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      caitlynpv5
                      caitlynpv5 wrote:

                      It's an amazing book and I think...
                      Cake Pop Crush: A Wish Novel

                      Kobalt wrote:

                      This book was a blessing to have...
                      Wayside School Is Falling Down

                      raveb772
                      raveb772 wrote:

                      After Carter and Sadie Kane have...
                      The Throne of Fire (The Kane Chr...