Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8X5.662677
A New York Times Bestseller. An AMAZON Best Book of the Year 2013. A Kids' Indie Next List Top Ten Book-- #4, Best Books of Autumn 2013. B.E.A. Buzz Book Award 2013. A Texas Bluebonnet Award Nominee 2014-2015 Master List. A School Library Journal Best Book of the Year. An E.B. White Read Aloud Honor Book. A Dorothy Canfield Fisher Children's Book Award Nominee. A National Public Radio Best Book of the Year.

In the tradition of Out of My Mind, Wonder, and Mockingbird, this is an intensely moving middle grade novel about being an outsider, coping with loss, and discovering the true meaning of family.


Willow Chance is a twelve-year-old genius, obsessed with nature and diagnosing medical conditions, who finds it comforting to count by 7s. It has never been easy for her to connect with anyone other than her adoptive parents, but that hasn't kept her from leading a quietly happy life . . . until now.

Suddenly Willow's world is tragically changed when her parents both die in a car crash, leaving her alone in a baffling world. The triumph of this book is that it is not a tragedy. This extraordinarily odd, but extraordinarily endearing, girl manages to push through her grief. Her journey to find a fascinatingly diverse and fully believable surrogate family is a joy and a revelation to read.


"In achingly beautiful prose, Holly Goldberg Sloan has written a delightful tale of transformation that's a celebration of life in all its wondrous, hilarious and confounding glory. Counting by 7s is a triumph."--Maria Semple, author of Where'd You Go, Bernadette

"Holly Goldberg Sloan writes about belonging in a way I've never quite seen in any other book. This is a gorgeous, funny, and heartwarming novel that I'll never forget."--John Corey Whaley, author of Where Things Come Back

"Willow Chance subtly drew me into her head and her life, so much so that I was holding my breath for her by the end. Holly Goldberg Sloan has created distinct characters who will stay with you long after you finish the book."--Sharon Creech, Newbery Award-winning author of Walk Two Moons



Paperback, 416 pages
Published on September 16, 2014 by Puffin Books
ISBN-10: 014242286X
ISBN-13: 9780142422861
128 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • watercolrwonder
    watercolrwonderThursday, May 23, 2019 at 7:54 am44 stars
    I read this book for my 5th grade Battle of the Books. It was a little sad but very good, I would definitely recommend it to a fan of realistic fiction!
    • chlooe
      chlooeFriday, March 8, 2019 at 3:30 pm55 stars
      Counting by 7s is by Holly Goldberg Sloan. If you are able to trust me, you have to believe me. Counting by 7s is actually a great story about overcoming grief and moving on. Counting by 7s has a great plot because as I stated before, the theme is hugely about overcoming grief and moving on. This story starts with a girl named Willow Chance, an only-adopted-orphan-child. When Willow arrives home from her counseling lesson, she comes home to see a lot of police cars arrive on/ near her driveway/house. She doesn't know what happened, thinking that a bunch of gang teens did something wrong, but why would the police cars be on her driveway? After Willow found out that her parents passed away from a car crash, she wasn't the same. Willow doesn't know where she'll go for her foster home, nor who'll adopt her. Come join Willow on this heartbreaking yet enjoyable story and enjoy this story!
      • hiMonday, March 4, 2019 at 3:41 pm
        How could you say that kara!!!! This book was amazing and very touching!!!!!
        • hiMonday, March 4, 2019 at 3:38 pm
          omg this book was one of the best books I have ever read!!!
          • karaWednesday, January 30, 2019 at 9:52 am
            it was so boring and was tooooooooooooooooooo long
            • kenziegirl2008
              kenziegirl2008Sunday, December 23, 2018 at 8:30 am55 stars
              Counting By Sevens is about a girl named Willow who was adopted by her beloved parents, Jimmy and Roberta Chance. Soon after Willow has been put in counseling classes with Dell Duke, a district counselor, for acing a state test when nobody else did (they thought she cheated). Willow suffers the loss of both of her parents passing away due to the result of a car crash. A girl named Mai who Willow knew because Mai was taking her brother Quang Ha to counseling classes at the same place as Willow, convinces the policeman that Willow and Mai`s family are family friends so Willow can stay with them in the garage behind the nail salon that Mai`s mom owns. Throughout the story Willow is put through many twists and turns along the way that form her into who she truly is.
              • dobby12
                dobby12Thursday, December 20, 2018 at 8:40 am44 stars
                I liked this book because of the message and the hardships Willow has in her life. The author does a great job explaining adoption and sadness all in a chapter book.
                • kenziegirl2008
                  kenziegirl2008Sunday, December 9, 2018 at 6:42 pm55 stars
                  I LOVE this book, my grandma told me about it and I just had to start reading. I actually decided to use this book for my school book report!!
                  • galaith
                    galaithThursday, December 6, 2018 at 10:01 am55 stars
                    Publish Date:2014 Author:Holly Goldberg Sloan Counting By 7s Counting by 7s is a book about a smart girl named Willow. Her parents die in a car crash,so Willow has to find someone new to live with. She has no other relatives so she has to live with her friend Mai and Mai’s brother Quang-Ha. Later in the story, Willow fixes up and paints an apartment, and she makes a garden. I recommend this book to 8 to 14 year olds boys and girls. The reading level is 3rd through 8th grade. I liked this book because it felt like I was in the book along the journey with Willow.
                    • freckleface04
                      freckleface04Tuesday, December 4, 2018 at 8:09 am44 stars
                      this book is good and sad i didnt finish it but it really is sad