Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 5n/a4.141839
Apolonia "Lina" Flores is a sock enthusiast, a volleyball player, a science lover, and a girl who's just looking for answers. Even though her house is crammed full of books (her dad's a bibliophile), she's having trouble figuring out some very big questions, like why her dad seems to care about books more than her, why her best friend's divorced mom is obsessed with making cascarones (hollowed eggshells filled with colorful confetti), and, most of all, why her mom died last year. Like colors in cascarones, Lina's life is a rainbow of people, interests, and unexpected changes.

In her first novel for young readers, Diana López creates a clever and honest story about a young Latina girl navigating growing pains in her South Texan city.
Paperback, 208 pages
Published on May 1, 2010 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316029564
ISBN-13: 9780316029568
9 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • GANDALFSAYSHIFriday, June 2, 2017 at 6:47 pm
    I hate this book with a passion. The main character is weak and poorly written, and all of her friends are complete jerks. I could not finish it. I did not like the plot nor the character, very predictable, and just frustrating and boring to get through! One of the worst books I read tbh, sorry but I could just not get into it!
    • kenz0880
      kenz0880Friday, May 30, 2014 at 7:21 am33 stars
      It wasn't so bad and I think it was somewhat interesting but it really is not my thing. I like books like the Hunger Games and Harry Potter books(fantasy and some science fiction) I also like modt realistic fiction but not always the super girly books
      • cori
        coriFriday, May 23, 2014 at 4:03 pm
        LOVELOVELOVE!
        • schultzmk
          schultzmkSaturday, February 8, 2014 at 2:39 pm
          so far so good
          • 22hreed
            22hreedFriday, February 22, 2013 at 11:02 am55 stars
            Love this book! So fun I am having a blast reading it ! I am thinking about doing a report on it! I would recommend it to many kids and Many adults!
            • cupcake1555
              cupcake1555Monday, December 31, 2012 at 9:30 am
              This book is amazing. My teacher reccomended it and I couldn't put it down
              • mogan
                moganWednesday, December 19, 2012 at 7:28 am55 stars
                i love this book it is so fun
                • 20eserrecc
                  20eserreccTuesday, December 4, 2012 at 1:50 pm
                  I think the book Confetti Girl was very good. It's all about a girl named Lina and her best friend named Vanessa, it's just about their lives. (School, at home, every where.) As it says on the back of the book, "A book unread is a life unlived."
                  • barbiegirl17
                    barbiegirl17Sunday, November 4, 2012 at 3:21 pm44 stars
                    i havent read the whole thing yet but i own it :)