Foster McFee dreams of having her own cooking show like her idol, celebrity chef Sonny Kroll. Macon Dillard's goal is to be a documentary filmmaker. Foster's mother Rayka longs to be a headliner instead of a back-up singer. And Miss Charleena plans a triumphant return to Hollywood. Everyone has a dream, but nobody is even close to famous in the little town of Culpepper. Until some unexpected events shake the town and its inhabitants-and put their big ambitions to the test. Full of humor, unforgettable characters, surprises, and lots and lots of heart, this is Joan Bauer at her most engaging.
Paperback, 272 pages
Published on January 5, 2012 by Puffin Books
ISBN-10: 0142420174
ISBN-13: 9780142420171
19 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • randomMonday, September 26, 2016 at 10:44 am
    12-year-old Foster McFee and her mother leave Memphis in a rush with her mother’s Elvis impersonator friend, hot on their trail. Shoving whatever they can along with Foster’s baking supplies and her muffins in their Chevy, they drive for hours until they hit the small quiet town of Culpepper, West Virginia. Foster dreams of being Food Network’s first youth cook like her idol, Sonny Kroll. Foster soon realizes that she isn’t the only one in Culpepper to have a dream. She meets Macon, a short boy, who no one takes seriously. He wants to document a film in Culpepper but doesn’t have a camera. Foster’s passion for baking win the hearts of many people including Angry Wayne who agrees to partner up and sell her muffins along with his fine food; Perseverance Wilson a gardener who is selling her church to a taco fast food chain and Miss Charleena, a dramatic, retired Hollywood actress who can cook. Foster bakes to divert her thoughts from the loss of her father and the fact that she cannot read. Soon Miss Charleena discovers Foster’s secret and agrees to help Foster read only if Foster helps Miss Charleena learn how to cook. As the story progresses, Foster supports her mom to be a headliner singer instead of a backup singer and helps Miss Charleena to step out of her gloomy days and helps her get back to being an actor.
    • adaia1234
      adaia1234Thursday, January 21, 2016 at 7:52 am
      This book is so fastening I love how it says about the new prison and how she wants to get famous .This is a book I will never forget
      • mlk2
        mlk2Monday, March 2, 2015 at 12:56 pm
        loved it
        • KiairaThursday, January 15, 2015 at 5:54 pm
          This book was fabulous. It inspired me and also made me sad. After I read this I felt stronger and I also wanted to make my own cupcakes.
          • hamster1245
            hamster1245Thursday, April 10, 2014 at 11:18 am55 stars
            It is a book I would sit anywhere and read it forever!
            • sillycat183
              sillycat183Wednesday, February 5, 2014 at 5:34 pm55 stars
              Awesome Book. Love it, I love Foster because even though she has soooo many problems in life she handles them the right way. she's very smart and creative.
              • lala28
                lala28Tuesday, January 14, 2014 at 8:50 am
                this is a good good book
                • eschwertfeger14
                  eschwertfeger14Wednesday, December 18, 2013 at 2:23 pm55 stars
                  it was a very good book. It got sad at some parts, and was very good at others .Im recommend this book who is caring ,and loves to bake.
                  • eschwertfeger14
                    eschwertfeger14Wednesday, December 18, 2013 at 2:21 pm55 stars
                    it was a very good book.It got sad at some parts, and was very good at others
                    • winkyloo500
                      winkyloo500Monday, December 9, 2013 at 3:34 pm55 stars
                      i love this book. It tells me how Foster goes throug twists and alot of turns. Foster is lucky to work with someone famous !!!!!!!!!!

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      Parismilli wrote:

                      I have not read it but I think I...
                      Double Down

                      antwal1718
                      antwal1718 wrote:

                      i think the book was very good i...
                      Wormwood Mire

                      robin13
                      robin13 wrote:

                      me+like=agree
                      The Losers Club

                      robin13
                      robin13 wrote:

                      ok so my sister told me this was...
                      The Losers Club