Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5T3.641793
Foster McFee dreams of having her own cooking show like her idol, celebrity chef Sonny Kroll. Macon Dillard's goal is to be a documentary filmmaker. Foster's mother Rayka longs to be a headliner instead of a back-up singer. And Miss Charleena plans a triumphant return to Hollywood. Everyone has a dream, but nobody is even close to famous in the little town of Culpepper. Until some unexpected events shake the town and its inhabitants-and put their big ambitions to the test. Full of humor, unforgettable characters, surprises, and lots and lots of heart, this is Joan Bauer at her most engaging.
Paperback, 272 pages
Published on January 5, 2012 by Puffin Books
ISBN-10: 0142420174
ISBN-13: 9780142420171
22 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • butterfly223
    butterfly223Friday, July 19, 2019 at 7:34 am
    When twelve-year-old Foster and her mother land in the tiny town of Culpepper, they don't know what to expect. But folks quickly warm to the woman with the great voice and the girl who can bake like nobody's business. Soon Foster - who dreams of having her own cooking show one day - lands herself a gig baking for the local coffee shop, and gets herself some much-needed help in overcoming her biggest challenge - learning to read. . . just as Foster and Mama start to feel at ease, their past catches up to them. Thanks to the folks in Culpepper, though Foster and her mama find the strength to put their troubles behind them for good. Joan Bauer is just one of my favorite authors the way she writes is heartwarming, inspiring, and gratifying
    • sylvie55555
      sylvie55555Monday, July 15, 2019 at 6:16 am55 stars
      12 year old Foster Mcfee one day wakes up to find Huck an Elvis impression breaking through her window. Foster's mother sang back up for Huck but decided to stop when Huck called Foster a loser. Foster and her mom quickly leave town without even knowing where they are going to go. Will Foster and her mom have a place to call home. Soon into they're journey, after they stop at a town they are finally starting to adjust into, Foster realizes that she has forgotten her most prized possession, a pillowcase with all of her fathers things, who died in the military. Foster starts to bake, but still she has bigger problems. She can't read.Foster goes to her town's local celebrity, a late Hollywood star to help her. Will Foster get her pillow case back? Will she learn to read? Read the book to find out.
      • watercolrwonder
        watercolrwonderThursday, May 23, 2019 at 7:32 am55 stars
        I love to bake, so this book was, of course, amazing. It is all about a girl named Foster who wants to have her own cooking show, but lives in a small town with a bunch of others who want to be famous but just aren't there yet. You won't want to put it down.
        • randomMonday, September 26, 2016 at 10:44 am
          12-year-old Foster McFee and her mother leave Memphis in a rush with her mother’s Elvis impersonator friend, hot on their trail. Shoving whatever they can along with Foster’s baking supplies and her muffins in their Chevy, they drive for hours until they hit the small quiet town of Culpepper, West Virginia. Foster dreams of being Food Network’s first youth cook like her idol, Sonny Kroll. Foster soon realizes that she isn’t the only one in Culpepper to have a dream. She meets Macon, a short boy, who no one takes seriously. He wants to document a film in Culpepper but doesn’t have a camera. Foster’s passion for baking win the hearts of many people including Angry Wayne who agrees to partner up and sell her muffins along with his fine food; Perseverance Wilson a gardener who is selling her church to a taco fast food chain and Miss Charleena, a dramatic, retired Hollywood actress who can cook. Foster bakes to divert her thoughts from the loss of her father and the fact that she cannot read. Soon Miss Charleena discovers Foster’s secret and agrees to help Foster read only if Foster helps Miss Charleena learn how to cook. As the story progresses, Foster supports her mom to be a headliner singer instead of a backup singer and helps Miss Charleena to step out of her gloomy days and helps her get back to being an actor.
          • adaia1234
            adaia1234Thursday, January 21, 2016 at 7:52 am
            This book is so fastening I love how it says about the new prison and how she wants to get famous .This is a book I will never forget
            • mlk2
              mlk2Monday, March 2, 2015 at 12:56 pm
              loved it
              • KiairaThursday, January 15, 2015 at 5:54 pm
                This book was fabulous. It inspired me and also made me sad. After I read this I felt stronger and I also wanted to make my own cupcakes.
                • hamster1245
                  hamster1245Thursday, April 10, 2014 at 11:18 am55 stars
                  It is a book I would sit anywhere and read it forever!
                  • sillycat183
                    sillycat183Wednesday, February 5, 2014 at 5:34 pm55 stars
                    Awesome Book. Love it, I love Foster because even though she has soooo many problems in life she handles them the right way. she's very smart and creative.
                    • lala28
                      lala28Tuesday, January 14, 2014 at 8:50 am
                      this is a good good book