Cinder: Chapters 1-5 (The Lunar Chronicles)

This excerpt from Marissa Meyer’s Cinder contains for the first five chapters.

Cinder will be available January 3, 2012.

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl…. Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

Kindle Edition, 48 pages
Published on December 6, 2011 by Feiwel & Friends
ISBN-10: 1466805889
ISBN-13: 9781466805880
6 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • thesmessywriter
    thesmessywriterMonday, February 8, 2021 at 5:34 pm55 stars
    i read all the books AND I LOVE THEMMMM!!!! wolf or thorne cant decide!!!
    • Book bird Monday, December 21, 2020 at 10:19 am
      I don't know
      • starsabove
        starsaboveSunday, July 19, 2020 at 6:58 pm55 stars
        It's a great book! The main character is a cyborg girl that is a great mechanic. She dosen't seem like one to wear dresses, though at the end it us revealed that she is a princess! I cant wait to read the next book!
        • little_angel727
          little_angel727Tuesday, January 21, 2020 at 9:47 pm55 stars
          This is a great book that happens 126 years after the world war IV!! That's when flying gasoline cars are AMCIENT!! Any way, this is about a cyborg Cinder, who is the best mechanic in town. Although Her big stepsister and Her stepmot- legal gardian is being terrible to her, Her little stepsister and her android, Iko, is very friendly. But being friendly to her leads them into the harms way. Meanwhile, Cinder gets tangled up by prince Kai, whom she unintentionally stumbled upon. Queen levana, Queen of the Lunars, come to visit Prince Kai, With her fake looks, fake leadership, fake kindness, and fake mercy. She actually is an ugly, power-hungry, merciless woman. Best to not give anything away! but warning, it's a bit disgusting with how cyborgs can tear itself... or herself?
          • wisegirl32
            wisegirl32Monday, November 27, 2017 at 8:13 pm55 stars
            I love this series! The first book really is exciting, new, and full of adventure! Sometimes my friends and I take quizzes on who we are in the Lunar Chronicles. I am Iko! I absolutely recommend this series for you! To describe it I would say it is a mixture of Star Wars, Star Trek, and fairy tales.
            • awesome cyborg Thursday, March 20, 2014 at 4:35 pm
              this was a great book! I totally recommend it. From the cyborgs and the evil lunars to the princesses and the princes, this modern twist on classical fairy tale will leave you wanting more!