Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.887661

The #1 New York Times Bestselling Series!

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth's fate hinges on one girl. . . .

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She's a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister's illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai's, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world's future.

Marissa Meyer on Cinder, writing, and leading men
Which of your characters is most like you?
I wish I could say that I'm clever and mechanically-minded like Cinder, but no―I can't fix anything. I'm much more like Cress, who makes a brief cameo in Cinder and then takes a more starring role in the third book. She's a romantic and a daydreamer and maybe a little on the naïve side―things that could be said about me too―although she does find courage when it's needed most. I think we'd all like to believe we'd have that same inner strength if we ever needed it.
Where do you write?
I have a home office that I've decorated with vintage fairy tale treasures that I've collected (my favorite is a Cinderella cookie jar from the forties) and NaNoWriMo posters, but sometimes writing there starts to feel too much like work. On those days I'll write in bed or take my laptop out for coffee or lunch.
If you were stranded on a desert island, which character from Cinder would you want with you?
Cinder, definitely! She has an internet connection in her brain, complete with the ability to send and receive comms (which are similar to e-mails). We'd just have enough time to enjoy some fresh coconut before we were rescued.
The next book in the Lunar Chronicles is called Scarlet, and is about Little Red Riding Hood. What is appealing to you most about this character as you work on the book?
Scarlet is awesome―she's very independent, a bit temperamental, and has an outspokenness that tends to get her in trouble sometimes. She was raised by her grandmother, an ex-military pilot who now owns a small farm in southern France, who not only taught Scarlet how to fly a spaceship and shoot a gun, but also to have a healthy respect and appreciation for nature. I guess that's a lot of things that appeal to me about her, but she's been a really fun character to write! (The two leading men in Scarlet, Wolf and Captain Thorne, aren't half bad either.)

Hardcover, 400 pages
Published on January 3, 2012 by Feiwel & Friends
ISBN-10: 0312641893
ISBN-13: 9780312641894
159 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • chocolate168
    chocolate168Tuesday, January 21, 2020 at 11:42 pm44 starsFeatured
    I love this book! I love how it's a cy-fi, futuristic, & more modernized retelling of Cinderella, a classic fairytale. I really liked the book, and how it really brings you along. I liked how I was never confused at all, and how the author did a really good job typing everything in. The only thing I didn't like and why I didn't make my rating a five-star is because I feel like many things were really predictable. Still, I really enjoyed this book and can't wait to read them all! Thanks, 13iamgroot and everyone else for recommending this series. I would like to thank the author, Marissa Meyer, and everybody else who contributed this book for making this amazing book reality. I would recommend this book to those who like fantasy, science fiction, adventure, books, and like always, those who don't like books too (basically everybody)! I hope this review was helpful. Thanks!
    • 13iamgroot
      13iamgrootTuesday, November 5, 2019 at 1:32 pm55 starsFeatured
      This book is wonderfully written and the story was absolutely amazing. I loved how the book was sort of a sci-fi and futuristic retelling of the fairy tale, "Cinderella." I am glad that I chose to read this book, because at first it didn't really look like a book that I would enjoy, but it completely surprised me and changed my view of the novel. The main character is named Cinder, that much you can gather from the title, and she is a cyborg, the result of a surgery when she was 11. Cinder has no memories from before the surgery and is currently living with her stepmother and stepsisters on Earth, in New Beijing of the Commonwealth, 125 years after World War IV. Cinder uses her talents as a mechanic to earn money, which she then has to give to her stepmother, Adri, because Cinder is required to "contribute" to the family's payments, when really she is earning all the money herself. Cinder and Adri's relationship was already rather strained, since Adri never wanted Cinder in the first place, so when an excuse comes for Cinder to be to sent away, to participate in something that no one ever survives, she doesn't hesitate. Cinder gets sent in for plague research, as a test subject for the disease, letumosis, and she proves more valuable than anyone thought, and Cinder isn't even given the full truth of her identity. To make things even more complicated, Cinder gets all tied up with the prince of New Beijing, who insists Cinder call him Kai, when he came to her booth in search of someone to fix his android. This provides a little twist of romance, with both Cinder and Kai keeping secrets and with both of them unsure of their feelings. This book is a mash up of so many genres; fantasy, sci-fi, romance, and the classic fairy tale, which causes you to never want to stop reading it and leaves you reaching for the next book of the series. This is a great read for teens with a preference of any genre or writing style, since this book has something in it for everyone.
      • lmise7931
        lmise7931Wednesday, October 23, 2019 at 6:54 am55 stars
        i want to read this book so badly and it looks like a good book!!!
        • & Emma Thursday, July 11, 2019 at 1:08 pm
          I L❤️VED this book. I couldn’t stop reading it! The ending was great I predicted that it was going to happen. I would recommend this to middle school kids and up.
          • kgautam
            kgautamThursday, May 30, 2019 at 9:56 am55 stars
            amazing start to an extraordinary series. i love this retelling of Cinderella, especially since its science fictions, and it has a cute book prince ;)
            • kgautam
              kgautamWednesday, May 29, 2019 at 10:40 am55 stars
              amazing retelling and retake on the classic tale of cinderella. cinder is strong and influential character, and i love her confidence and the things she can do.
              • armcginn
                armcginnSunday, May 26, 2019 at 7:20 am55 starsFeatured
                Based upon the classic fairy tale Cinderella, Marisa Meyers weaves the captivating and futuristic tale of a young cyborg, Cinder, living in New Beijing after the fourth world war. She lives with her stepmother and two stepsisters, Adri, Pearl, and Peony. She works as a mechanic, fixing androids and other common household machinery and to "help" her stepmother Adri pay her bills, and all goes according to plan, that is until a particularly charming client (and his android Nansi) sweep her off her feet, on an adventure she never could have never imagined! Prepare yourself for adventure, excitement, betrayal, and even some romance! This is truly one of the greatest books I have read and found I had a hard time putting it down! If you are looking for an amazing book series, this is it. I think that this book is one amazing read!
                • applemango
                  applemangoTuesday, May 21, 2019 at 9:53 pm33 stars
                  Cinder is a cyborg and when she is running her shop the royal emperor's son Kai asks her to fix his robot. Adri her "legal guardian" sends her in for cyborg testing and they discover something very special about Cinder. She is lunar!!!! Leading to a series of events that land her in prison....
                  • celia_berry
                    celia_berryTuesday, May 14, 2019 at 4:43 pm55 starsFeatured
                    This book is quite the page-turner! It's set in the future after world war 4. Cinder is an ordinary (or so she thinks) cyborg that lives in New Beijing. She works as a mechanic to help pay the bills for her horrendous stepmother, Adri. This book is very similar to Cinderella. However, instead of having to horrid stepdaughters, there is only one, Pearl, and the other is kind, Peony. This book is very exciting and I just adored reading it! Marissa Meyer put her own touch on a classic fairy tale in order to create this magnificent book! I suggest this book to 4th grade and up. Ages 10 and up. This book is good for people who like adventure, fantasy, and romance.
                    • beachbreeze14
                      beachbreeze14Wednesday, May 15, 2019 at 7:08 am55 stars
                      Great job!!!!
                    • chlooe
                      chlooeMonday, April 8, 2019 at 2:10 pm44 stars
                      Cinder is basically a girl who lives in New Beijing. But, she isn't your average girl who shops a lot and hangs out with her friends. Cinder is a cyborg. In this story, you will encounter characters that are based in the fairytale, Cinderella. While reading this book, I noticed that Cinder doesn't really care about what others think about her. Cinder is like this independent girl that motivates me that I don't always need others to help me in problem-situations. I give this 4/5 stars because this inspires me to do what I can and to never give up.