Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 4 - 6Z+5.832404
Dave Pelzer's story is the story of a child brutally beaten and starved by his emotionally unstable, alcoholic mother: a mother who played tortuous, unpredictable games - games that left one of her three sons nearly dead. Dave had to learn how to play his mother's games in order to survive because she no longer considered him a son, but a slave; and no longer a boy but an 'it'. His bed was an old army cot in the basement, his clothes were torn and smelly and when he was allowed the luxury of food it was scraps from the dogs' bowl. The outside world knew nothing of the nightmare played out behind closed doors. But throughout Dave kept alive dreams of finding a family to love him, care for him, call him their son. It took many years of struggle, deprivation and despair to find his dream and then to make something of himself in the world. This book covers the early years of his life and is an affecting and inspirational look at the horrors of child abuse and the steadfast determination of one child to survive despite the odds.
Hardcover, 160 pages
Published on February 10, 2000 by Orion
ISBN-10: 0752832220
ISBN-13: 9780752832227
19 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • readmorebooksMonday, October 23, 2017 at 10:19 am
    This is a good book. A must read.
    • AdriennaThursday, August 10, 2017 at 12:42 pm
      I have read this book it is really sad I cried the first time I read that book.
      • aisan_life
        aisan_lifeTuesday, November 29, 2016 at 11:46 pm
        this was a really emotional book. this poor boy being abused like that, being treated like that b his own mother made me fell sick and made me realise how grateful i am to have a family like mine
        • bryannaTuesday, February 16, 2016 at 1:59 pm
          it made me cry
          • KINGKTuesday, June 10, 2014 at 2:29 am
            read this book 6GH it is my favourite book i know you guys are reading this so i recommend this book. KINGK OUT
            • KINGKTuesday, June 10, 2014 at 2:24 am
              This book was great my favourite out of all the books i have ever read and to all the book fan i recommend this book.from KingK bye to all 6GH
              • ikyra_marie
                ikyra_marieSaturday, March 8, 2014 at 1:15 pm
                Recommended for ages 12 and up because it might disturb younger readers...
                • ikyra_marie
                  ikyra_marieSaturday, March 8, 2014 at 12:42 pm
                  This book was so sad I had to stop reading.I can't imagine what he had to go through every day hoping to survive.I am glad he I a great author today and is alive to tell his amazing and heartbraking story.
                  • Lizet ArteagaWednesday, January 29, 2014 at 10:11 am
                    I honestly cried reading this . Saddest book I've ever read . I still read the book over &' over again . I loved the book so much I own a book myself . Its a must read book . You well all enjoy it .
                    • wardvero
                      Mrs. WardTuesday, November 12, 2013 at 7:33 am55 stars
                      I have never read a book that just came to life in me. I have read this book many times over the years and just bawl like a baby everything. Its a hreatbreaking story, with a powerful ending, and after all that he had gone through he suceeded to be better, to break the cycle and even help others.