Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 5 - 12Z7.536243
NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author James Swanson delivers a riveting account of the chase for Abraham Lincoln's assassin.

Based on rare archival material, obscure trial manuscripts, and interviews with relatives of the conspirators and the manhunters, CHASING LINCOLN'S KILLER is a fast-paced thriller about the pursuit and capture of John Wilkes Booth: a wild twelve-day chase through the streets of Washington, D.C., across the swamps of Maryland, and into the forests of Virginia.
Hardcover, 208 pages
Published on February 1, 2009 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545204704
ISBN-13: 9780439903547
15 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • ajg16
    ajg16Friday, May 31, 2019 at 1:35 pm44 stars
    John Wilkes Booth assasinated The 16th President of the United States Abraham Lincoln. This book details all that happen that terrible day. This was a sad book, but it was also interesting how Booth didn't get caught days later and how he was confused of why people were upset with him (he thought the South would think he was a hero something) President Lincoln wasn't killed straight away - he survived until the next morning. If your interested in American history then you should definitely read this. Recommended for 12+ Thanks for reading - Ajg16's reviews
    • jaden07
      jaden07Sunday, May 26, 2019 at 6:20 am55 stars
      We just read this book in my ELA class. This is a super cool book! It explains everything about Lincoln’s assassination and all about John Wilkes Booth. Great book for anybody who’s interested in our American history!
      • ajg16
        ajg16Sunday, May 26, 2019 at 2:08 pm44 stars
        hey I just got this at the library but I having read it yet
      • gdogwhitmanFriday, January 4, 2019 at 11:12 am
        it was a good book with lots of detail
        • cutiepie300
          cutiepie300Monday, May 21, 2018 at 5:07 am55 stars
          this book gives history and some extra details are added to how the assasin escaped.
          • sanper1617
            sanper1617Friday, May 12, 2017 at 6:34 am55 stars
            The book “Chasing Lincoln’s killer” is a very good book because it tells you about not just the Assassination of Abraham Lincoln but more past that. And what had happened like, John Wilkes Booth being killed 12 days after the assassination that shocked me. I’d recommend this book to people that like non-fiction and crazy adventures and history.
            • awsepicavi
              awsepicaviFriday, February 3, 2017 at 8:06 am55 stars
              this is the best book ever in my opinion. It has a lot of suspense because at the end of each chapter it makes you want to read more. I am reading this book with my class in school! I am only on the third chapter, but is so interesting already! I recommend this book to readers that like suspense! Enjoy it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
              • zzzxxx
                zzzxxxSunday, April 3, 2016 at 9:55 am55 stars
                I recommend this book for 5-6 graders. You go through the capturing of booth and other fun adventures. And guess what? What? The author does a great job of not leaving out a single detail (major and minor) and makes you feel like you are from that time period.
                • izzyb05
                  izzyb05Sunday, December 6, 2015 at 6:22 am44 stars
                  I am loving this book because I am able to read a thrilling and mysterious book and still get some knowledge of the past. I do admit, I wish that it was a little more thrilling but I am only in the beginning of this amazing read. I already came across a killer running away (trust me not a spoiler) and many other amazing and interesting adventures about Honest Abe and J.W.B.
                  • nonstopreader
                    nonstopreaderFriday, December 4, 2015 at 11:55 am55 stars
                    My mom read the adult version of this book (Man Hunt) and if this one was to easy for you,you should check it out. I loved Chasing Lincolns Killer,because I like learning about history and Lincoln. There are so many cool facts in this book. Booth really thought people were going to accept him and praise him. Crazy guy....he thought he would be a HERO.
                    • knightowls
                      Ms. KnightThursday, October 1, 2015 at 4:03 pm55 stars
                      If you love history, this is the book for you! This is a page turner, that will keep you reading way past your bedtime!