Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6R4.830644

Celebrate fifty years of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory

First published in 1964 with whimsical illustrations by Joseph Schindelman, Roald Dahl’s Charlie and the Chocolate Factory became an instant classic. Now this special commemorative edition brings back Schindelman’s beloved original illustrations. Perfect for old fans and new fans alike, it’s sure to become a treasured family favorite.

Hardcover, 160 pages
Published on October 7, 2004 by Viking Children's Books
ISBN-10: 0670914533
ISBN-13: 9780670914531
184 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • belle252
    belle252Saturday, May 23, 2020 at 11:39 pm55 stars
    This is such a classic book filled with excitement and basically everything you could imagine it is funny and sad at some parts. A boy names Charlie finds the golden ticket and he is very excited this means he can get a tour of the willy winks chocolate factory. Little does he know how this chocolate is made. The other kids that fins the chocolate are stuck up and find themselves in a sticky situation once inside the factory (literally). Now in the end Charlie is the only kid that makes it out of the chocolate factory in one piece.
    • fishstick362
      fishstick362Wednesday, May 13, 2020 at 8:44 am55 stars
      I like this book and also there is a theme at the end
      • sjsj
        sjsjWednesday, May 13, 2020 at 8:14 am55 stars
        I absolutely love this novel! It definitely ranks in one of my top five! In this book, Willy Wonka, owner of an enormous chocolate factory, sends out five golden tickets to the world. Charlie ends up getting one, and he, with his Grandpa Joe, goes into the factory! Charlie sees a bunch of amazing things, such that square candies that go round, television candy, and gum that tastes like meals! When Charlie becomes the only child left in the tour, he gets the chocolate factory!
        • GingerjokesWednesday, April 8, 2020 at 6:45 pm
          This book is so great, it make my mouth water! This is about Charlie Bucket, a poor boy who finds a golden ticket and was able to see all the sweets! 900 million stars!
          • blackcatspidzy
            blackcatspidzyMonday, April 6, 2020 at 2:46 pm55 stars
            This book is amazing Im just finishing it now it's really cool the way he gets to run the factory and all so all I can say is brilliant excellent I would write more but I don't want it to be too long
            • royalqueen16th
              royalqueen16thTuesday, February 18, 2020 at 5:51 pm55 stars
              Such a very funny book. I have read the book and the movie 🎥. The rooms are vivid with imagination, and the characters have great 👍 personalities. Everyone reading 📚 this review should read this book.
              • mstockwell
                mstockwellTuesday, October 22, 2019 at 12:55 pm44 stars
                I finished this book a few days ago. I really liked it. It has clever narratives and also very funny. I think the author, Roald Dahl is very good at writing children's stories. Very good 9/10 (sorry i just don't like giving 10s) Reccomended.
                • luna9
                  luna9Sunday, September 22, 2019 at 7:42 am44 stars
                  I liked this book because it was funny and very entertaining. If you like comedy, or have read any other Roald Dahl books, and liked them, I think you would really like this book.
                  • JasMonday, July 8, 2019 at 12:12 am
                    It's a amazing story
                    • lawalex
                      lawalexWednesday, June 26, 2019 at 11:08 am55 stars
                      This book is really good, and if you havn’t read it yet, read it! Willy Wonka, a chocolate maker, hides 5 golden tickets inside chocolate bars. If you find one, you get a tour! Can Charlie, a poor boy, make it through Wonka’s factory?