Bud, Not Buddy

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 5 - 10U5.052179
Ten-year-old Bud, a motherless boy living in Flint, Michigan during the Great Depression, escapes a bad foster home and sets out in search of the man he believes to be his father--the renowned bandleader, H.E. Calloway of Grand Rapids.
Hardcover, 278 pages
Published on March 8, 2017 by Thorndike Press Large Print
ISBN-10: 1432838466
ISBN-13: 9781432838461
88 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • LisaanneMonday, August 5, 2019 at 5:29 pm
    It's been almost 5 years since I've read Bud, Not Buddy and its impact is still with me.
    • lavoiem
      lavoiemMonday, May 6, 2019 at 7:55 pm22 stars
      Personally I did not enjoy this book because it was a force read from my teacher and that usually ruins a book for me:(
      • zombiewar
        zombiewarFriday, May 3, 2019 at 9:16 am55 stars
        Awesome I read this book in my class
        • sweetcheese
          sweetcheeseMonday, April 29, 2019 at 3:53 pm55 stars
          awesome!!!!!!!
          • zombiewar
            zombiewarFriday, May 3, 2019 at 9:17 am55 stars
            Hey this amazing
          • bacon_bitzz
            bacon_bitzzTuesday, April 9, 2019 at 3:57 am55 stars
            LOVED IT!
            • lmhewlett
              lmhewlettThursday, February 14, 2019 at 10:52 am55 stars
              This book is about Bud...he’s a very smart 10 year old and has a big imagination. He’s an orphan and a foster kid. Bud runs away and meets Lefty Lewis and Herman E. Calloway...who turns about to be a part of his family. He thinks Lefty Lewis is a vampire. Bud keeps his emotions and possessions all in his suitcase, and keeps everything to himself. This is a really good but sometimes long book. It does have one bit of strong language. We would recommend this book.
              • school2354
                school2354Thursday, January 24, 2019 at 6:36 pm55 stars
                This is a really, really good book.
                • pinehill
                  pinehillWednesday, May 30, 2018 at 7:55 am33 stars
                  this is my book club book and its pretty good, it takes place in the great depresion! About a kid who dousen't have parents.
                  • pretzel101
                    pretzel101Thursday, May 3, 2018 at 7:04 pm55 stars
                    Comment : Doggone I gonna say this book is doggone good to be such a doggone book. To much doggones? Sorry its part of the authors style. He wore about an orphan named Bud. But since everyone would properly call him Buddy he say "Bud not Buddy". Summary : Bud is and orphan at the home. He has been an orphan since age 6, and now at age 11. He has been to many foster homes and all turn out horrible. His mission is to see his dad in Grand Rapids. Recommendation : For anyone who loves action, adventure and maybe comedy. Key words that will be found A LOT : Doggone Mr. Curtis this is an amazing book thanks for writing it. :) :D
                    • allyisawesome
                      allyisawesomeSaturday, January 20, 2018 at 9:54 am55 stars
                      This book is so funny and humerous! Would definatly recomand it!