Bud, Not Buddy

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 5 - 10U5.052179
Ten-year-old Bud, a motherless boy living in Flint, Michigan during the Great Depression, escapes a bad foster home and sets out in search of the man he believes to be his father--the renowned bandleader, H.E. Calloway of Grand Rapids.
Hardcover, 288 pages
Published on January 1, 2002 by Holt Rinehart & Winston
ISBN-10: 0030654831
ISBN-13: 9780030654831
93 Book Reviews
  • bsc
    bscThursday, December 17, 2020 at 9:16 am55 stars
    I loved this book! Bud, not Buddy lives in Flint, Michigan during the great depression. His mother died four years ago and he has bounced from foster homes to more foster homes. But Bud decides to find his dad. He has a special suitcase where he keeps all of his important things from his Momma. Bud knows that Herman E. Calloway must be his father- and will find him no matter what. Along his way, he meets a nice band, finds food at the mission, gets some revenge, and meets some people that help him. I had to read this book for a school assignment and I loved it. Happy reading!
    • blackking
      blackkingTuesday, December 15, 2020 at 8:00 am55 stars
      This is a fun story about a boy named Bud doing a mission to find his father. This is the perfect book for everyone in 3rd or more.
      • gold3nglare
        gold3nglareWednesday, December 9, 2020 at 7:06 am33 stars
        I had to read this as an assignment for school, but it was actually pretty good!
        • blossomreader
          blossomreaderTuesday, May 19, 2020 at 10:53 am22 stars
          I found this book okay. It was sad, and it relied to much on the past. So in this book, Bud wants to find his father, but his mom is dead, which means he;ll have to do it on his own. His only clue is a band flyer that says "The Great Depression". Nonetheless, Bud goes on his journey through adoptive families, pranks, and other places. He meets different people along the way, and his father is not who he thinks he is, or is he?
          • brawlstarschamp
            brawlstarschampWednesday, February 26, 2020 at 8:12 am55 stars
            This book really changed how I think about things. I had read one of the authors other books, "Elijah of Buxton" when my book club decided to read it. So then we decided to read "Bud, Not Buddy."
            • royalqueen16th
              royalqueen16thSaturday, February 8, 2020 at 3:41 pm55 stars
              This is a very funny book. I liked the part when.... Oh wait, I won't spoil it for you. Just read it and find out my favorite part!
              • bud not buddyMonday, February 3, 2020 at 7:46 am
                it is a amazing book
                • LisaanneMonday, August 5, 2019 at 5:29 pm
                  It's been almost 5 years since I've read Bud, Not Buddy and its impact is still with me.
                  • lavoiem
                    lavoiemMonday, May 6, 2019 at 7:55 pm22 stars
                    Personally I did not enjoy this book because it was a force read from my teacher and that usually ruins a book for me:(
                    • zombiewar
                      zombiewarFriday, May 3, 2019 at 9:16 am55 stars
                      Awesome I read this book in my class