Bud, Not Buddy

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 5 - 10U5.052179
Ten-year-old Bud, a motherless boy living in Flint, Michigan during the Great Depression, escapes a bad foster home and sets out in search of the man he believes to be his father--the renowned bandleader, H.E. Calloway of Grand Rapids.
Hardcover, 288 pages
Published on January 1, 2002 by Holt Rinehart & Winston
ISBN-10: 0030654831
ISBN-13: 9780030654831
90 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • blossomreader
    blossomreaderTuesday, May 19, 2020 at 10:53 am22 stars
    I found this book okay. It was sad, and it relied to much on the past. So in this book, Bud wants to find his father, but his mom is dead, which means he;ll have to do it on his own. His only clue is a band flyer that says "The Great Depression". Nonetheless, Bud goes on his journey through adoptive families, pranks, and other places. He meets different people along the way, and his father is not who he thinks he is, or is he?
    • brawlstarschamp
      brawlstarschampWednesday, February 26, 2020 at 8:12 am55 stars
      This book really changed how I think about things. I had read one of the authors other books, "Elijah of Buxton" when my book club decided to read it. So then we decided to read "Bud, Not Buddy."
      • royalqueen16th
        royalqueen16thSaturday, February 8, 2020 at 3:41 pm55 stars
        This is a very funny book. I liked the part when.... Oh wait, I won't spoil it for you. Just read it and find out my favorite part!
        • bud not buddyMonday, February 3, 2020 at 7:46 am
          it is a amazing book
          • LisaanneMonday, August 5, 2019 at 5:29 pm
            It's been almost 5 years since I've read Bud, Not Buddy and its impact is still with me.
            • lavoiem
              lavoiemMonday, May 6, 2019 at 7:55 pm22 stars
              Personally I did not enjoy this book because it was a force read from my teacher and that usually ruins a book for me:(
              • zombiewar
                zombiewarFriday, May 3, 2019 at 9:16 am55 stars
                Awesome I read this book in my class
                • bacon_bitzz
                  bacon_bitzzTuesday, April 9, 2019 at 3:57 am55 stars
                  LOVED IT!
                  • lmhewlett
                    lmhewlettThursday, February 14, 2019 at 10:52 am55 stars
                    This book is about Bud...he’s a very smart 10 year old and has a big imagination. He’s an orphan and a foster kid. Bud runs away and meets Lefty Lewis and Herman E. Calloway...who turns about to be a part of his family. He thinks Lefty Lewis is a vampire. Bud keeps his emotions and possessions all in his suitcase, and keeps everything to himself. This is a really good but sometimes long book. It does have one bit of strong language. We would recommend this book.
                    • school2354
                      school2354Thursday, January 24, 2019 at 6:36 pm55 stars
                      This is a really, really good book.