Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 12R5.931140
From three-time Newbery Honor-winning author Gary Paulsen comes a beloved follow-up to his award-winning classic Hatchet that asks: What if Brian hadn't been rescued and had to face his deadliest enemy yet--winter?

In the Newbery Honor-winning Hatchet, thirteen-year-old Brian Robeson learned to survive alone in the Canadian wilderness, armed only with his hatchet. As millions of readers know, he was rescued at the end of the summer. But what if that hadn't happened? What if Brian had been left to face his deadliest enemy--winter?

Brian Paulsen raises the stakes for survival in this riveting and inspiring story as one boy confronts the ultimate adventure.

“Paulsen picks Hatchet’s story up in midstream; read together, the two books make his finest tale of survival yet.” —Kirkus Reviews, Starred

“Breathtaking descriptions of nature . . . Paulsen fans will not be disappointed.” —School Library Journal

Read all the Hatchet Adventures!
Brian's Winter
The River
Brian's Return
Brian's Hunt
Paperback, 144 pages
Published on March 13, 2012 by Ember
ISBN-10: 0307929582
ISBN-13: 9780307929587
12 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • claptrap
    claptrapTuesday, January 22, 2019 at 7:46 pm55 stars
    Brian's Winter is full of excitement and wonder, and I never wanted to put it down.
    • booklover108
      booklover108Friday, December 8, 2017 at 5:44 am55 stars
      It was very exciting. I reccomend this book to everyone who likes hunting, or excitement
      • TonyFriday, November 3, 2017 at 9:38 am
        I've read hatchet nod now I want to read his
        • kandy
          kandyMonday, June 6, 2016 at 11:55 am44 stars
          This book is very interesting after reading "Hatchet" and "The River" because all you think about is Brian going to die? Or is Brian going to be rescued. I recommend this book if you like reading about survival.
          • icebarnowl
            icebarnowlSaturday, March 28, 2015 at 1:10 pm
            I've read all the other books!
            • shycupcake
              shycupcakeSaturday, March 28, 2015 at 11:40 am22 stars
              It is sort of boring. The first book, Hatchet, is WAYYY better.
              • lucarallis
                lucarallisMonday, November 10, 2014 at 6:50 pm55 stars
                I really like this book so far. I am still not done with it. My teacher does raffles to see who gets to read a book first if a lot people want this book.
                • hack158
                  hack158Friday, May 30, 2014 at 11:48 am
                  it leaves you on cliff hanger so when you read it feeds my imagination.
                  • jamesbondcrow
                    jamesbondcrowFriday, May 9, 2014 at 8:12 am44 stars
                    it pretty cool so far but it will get better
                    • trme
                      trmeFriday, April 11, 2014 at 11:43 am44 stars
                      awesome,but boring begining :-(