Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 5 - 10n/a6.562514
Get inspired to be your best—in sports and in life—with this uplifting memoir from star soccer player and Olympic gold medalist Alex Morgan that includes eight pages of full-color photos as well as book jacket that doubles as a poster!

As a talented and successful female athlete, Alex Morgan is a role model to thousands of girls who want to be their best, not just in soccer, but in other sports and in life. The story of her path to success, from playing in the 2011 Women’s World Cup, to winning gold in the 2012 London Olympics, to ranking as one of the National Team’s top scorers, will inspire everyone who reads it.

From her beginnings with the American Youth Soccer Organization to her key role in the 2015 Women’s World Cup, Alex shares the details that made her who she is today: a fantastic role model and athlete who proudly rocks a pink headband.
Hardcover, 320 pages
Published on June 2, 2015 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 1481451073
ISBN-13: 9781481451079
12 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Midnightcraft😝Tuesday, November 12, 2019 at 10:11 am
    It was cool !I do like soccer!😊
    • PeterSaturday, November 9, 2019 at 4:52 pm
      This book is amazing! Buy it right now! I play soccer and so does Alex Morgan.
      • HadleyFriday, November 8, 2019 at 7:26 pm
        Alex Morgan is one of my biggest influnces, if you have never heard of her I highly recomend reading this book or reaserching Alex on the internet. I am still reading the book but I'm spending 3 hours a day reading this book, it is so intresting learning about Alex Morgan's past. I play soccer just like Alex Morgan.
        • skipperr
          skipperrThursday, November 7, 2019 at 3:43 pm
          i wanna read it so bad
          • 13iamgroot
            13iamgrootFriday, October 25, 2019 at 4:59 pm55 starsFeatured
            I am a really big fan of Alex Morgan, which is why I decided to read this book.......and I loved it so much! It starts out when Alex was playing AYSO soccer when she was five, but when she was eight she decided that soccer was her passion and her big time goal was to play professional soccer. Alex eventually started playing club soccer, then high school, then college. When she was in high school she got recruited for her college team, and after that in college she got invited to a training camp with the national team! Alex played in the world cup for 2012, but sadly the US Women's Team lost in the finals, but Alex was determined to reach her goal of winning the world cup and also getting an olympic gold medal. She achieved both of these goals in the years after, and she is such an inspiration to me (I was riveted to my TV when I was watching the 2019 world cup and was so excited when the US team won!) but Alex had to work really hard for these goals, it wasn't like they were just handed to her. She had to battle through injuries, other commitments, traveling, and very hectic schedules! I would definitely recommend this to any middle schooler who loves soccer, or not! My reason being that the book isn't all about soccer, it is about working hard to reach your goals. This was a very inspiring book to me, just like Alex Morgan, and I really liked it a lot. I especially liked how I connected to it because I love to play soccer also (I play under the number 13 too, just like Alex Morgan) but you don't have to love soccer to read this book because that is not what it is all about, it also has very good messages and lessons that will stay with you long after you put the book down. I hope you will give this very inspiring book a try, even if it might not look interesting at first.
            • basketball12
              basketball12Friday, October 25, 2019 at 1:08 pm
              This book is awsome ! If you haven't read it read it. Unless you are not intreted in soccer. But, Alex's carrier is amazing. I wish I was like her!
              • Private infoThursday, June 20, 2019 at 12:47 pm
                This book is amazing if you are interested in soccer and Alex Morgan it is really inspiring
                • eidiener22
                  eidiener22Thursday, June 8, 2017 at 3:29 pm
                  This book is great love it.
                  • eidiener22
                    eidiener22Thursday, June 8, 2017 at 3:29 pm
                    This book is great you will love it is what I meant.
                  • nicolesdddfff
                    nicolesdddfffMonday, March 13, 2017 at 3:54 pm
                    She likes soccer.awesome.
                    • jkjmb
                      jkjmbThursday, January 14, 2016 at 4:57 pm55 stars
                      It is interesting book if you like soccer and Alex Morgan