Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 5R4.242895

The book that inspired the Disney Channel movie Zapped, starring Zendaya!

When Annabelle returns from summer camp, her life is totally different. She's moving to a new house with her mom's new boyfriend, and that means starting sixth grade at a brand-new school. Birchwood Middle School is very different from her old all-girls elementary-the boys practically run wild in the hallways. And at home, Annabelle's new puppy is taking over the house and chewing on her clothes. But the puppy came with a training manual, so Annabelle might be able to get one thing under control. Unless . . . can you train a boy the way you train a dog?

Hardcover, 208 pages
Published on September 2, 2008 by Bloomsbury USA Children's Books
19 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • happy1929
    happy1929Monday, December 15, 2014 at 12:26 pm
    i love puppies and dogs :p
    • jenny1214
      jenny1214Monday, December 15, 2014 at 12:23 pm55 stars
      LOVED IT IT WAS SO TRUE
      • schultzmk
        schultzmkTuesday, October 29, 2013 at 9:48 am55 stars
        This is definitely an all girl book, but it is AWESOME! Pretty much every girl would love this book and its sequels, Girls are Cats, and One Tough Chick
        • Puppy's r cuteThursday, March 7, 2013 at 3:46 pm
          I love dogs
          • abercrombiegurl
            abercrombiegurlThursday, March 7, 2013 at 3:23 pm55 stars
            i love this book! it's about how Annabelle deals with boys at her new school. She acts like they're her dog, pepper and it's really funny...i'll never look at boys the same way again! :)
            • imdabomb
              imdabombFriday, February 8, 2013 at 5:15 pm55 starsFeatured
              I loved this book!! So Annabelle, the main character has just moved schools and moved in with her mom's boyfriend. When her mom and her mom's boyfriend "Dweeble" surprise her with a puppy and a puppy training manual she get's started training her dog right away. But when she attends her new school the boys there are rude and mean, and she realizes there has to be a way to have them be nice to her. So one day when she's training her puppy she realizes training a dog is as easy as training a boy.
              • spark
                sparkSunday, August 26, 2012 at 7:45 am
                This is a really great book. It is really funny. I recommend this book to every one. So read it!
                • ilikepie
                  ilikepieWednesday, April 25, 2012 at 9:33 am
                  This ook is about a new girl, Anneabell, who is moving in to a new house with her mom and might be dad and gets a dog! SHe reads the manual on hhow to teach dogs but figures out that it works on boys too! Now boys follow her every command! GOOD BOY!
                  • jane7899
                    jane7899Monday, April 23, 2012 at 1:57 pm55 stars
                    That is so true. this book looks so interesting to read because boys are really dogs!!!! When I get Im going to read it right away quickly as posible.
                    • supersonic
                      supersonicSaturday, April 21, 2012 at 10:47 am55 stars
                      i love the book boys are dogs because i did it for a book report and got a good grade