Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier, Awkward, and All's Faire in Middle School, this graphic novel follows a neighborhood of kids who transform ordinary cardboard into fantastical homemade costumes as they explore conflicts with friends, family, and their own identity.

"A breath of fresh air, this tender and dynamic collection is a must-have." --Kirkus, Starred

Welcome to a neighborhood of kids who transform ordinary boxes into colorful costumes, and their ordinary block into cardboard kingdom. This is the summer when sixteen kids encounter knights and rogues, robots and monsters--and their own inner demons--on one last quest before school starts again.

In the Cardboard Kingdom, you can be anything you want to be--imagine that!

The Cardboard Kingdom was created, organized, and drawn by Chad Sell with writing from ten other authors: Jay Fuller, David DeMeo, Katie Schenkel, Kris Moore, Molly Muldoon, Vid Alliger, Manuel Betancourt, Michael Cole, Cloud Jacobs, and Barbara Perez Marquez. The Cardboard Kingdom affirms the power of imagination and play during the most important years of adolescent identity-searching and emotional growth.

"There's room for everyone inside The Cardboard Kingdom, where friendship and imagination reign supreme." --Ingrid Law, New York Times bestselling author of Savvy

"A timely and colorful graphic novel debut that, like its many offbeat but on-point characters, marches to the beat of its own cardboard drum." --Tim Federle, award-winning author of Better Nate Than Ever
Paperback, 288 pages
Published on June 5, 2018 by Knopf Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 1524719382
ISBN-13: 9781524719388
12 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • revalichamp
    revalichampWednesday, February 12, 2020 at 1:11 pm44 stars
    This book is exciting and inspiring. It made me want to create my own costumes and play in my own world of cardboard. After reading this, me and my siblings made characters and ran (or rode, flew, swam, etc.) off to the Cardboard Kingdom!
    • ajlewis10234
      ajlewis10234Saturday, December 14, 2019 at 8:11 pm55 stars
      I really recommend this book it's super kiddie type super fun and you never want to put it down because it's so good πŸ‘ so me personally I think it's a great book for kids ! And it only cost 10 bucks! So read it if you can.
      • ajlewis1021st
        ajlewis1021stFriday, August 2, 2019 at 6:00 pm55 stars
        I love this book! It's so good and just keeps your mind off of everything else that is on your mind. I recommend this .😍😍😍
        • zzayumi
          zzayumiMonday, May 20, 2019 at 1:49 pm55 stars
          This book is a comic book. It is a really good book. If you have a imagination, you will love this book! (recommended for grades 2-4)
          • booklover20
            booklover20Sunday, May 19, 2019 at 6:44 am44 stars
            This is the perfect book for kids who have an extensive imagination. The neighborhood kids make an entire fantasy kingdom out of cardboard. ThereΕ› the mad scientist, the evil sorceress, and many other fantasy characters. There's even the Dragon Inn, which has potions and armor. However, when the new kid comes, will the neighborhood kids be able to persuade him to use his imagination?
            • Heath SnyderTuesday, April 30, 2019 at 10:21 am
              This week I read Cardboard Kingdom, it is by Chad Sell, and was released in 2018. I read it again because it was a really good book in 4th grade and I want to read it again and it was better the second time! The book was fascinating and way cooler because I like how the book can give you imagination for you to create more stuff! The book is about some people who are making cardboard characters and made a cardboard kingdom. They are in the middle of summer and they are using their imagination before they go back to school! I would rate this book 9/10 because it has the potential of create things for kids in their mind and might even win March Madness Book Tournament! I would recommend this book to people who like graphic novels, like to think of what they want in a picture, and like books with imagination! Overall, this is a really good book and good to take a look at this book at all ages and is for boys and girls!
              • Katelyn C Tuesday, April 30, 2019 at 10:19 am
                cardboard kingdom By: Chad Sell Made in 2018 Age 7-10 year old It was during the summer, these group of kids around the neighborhood had a lot of cardboard boxes they didn't need. They didn't know what to do with the boxes. It took these kids a couple of days for them to decide a brilliant idea. Couple weeks later, they decided they should make a kingdom out of cardboard boxes!!! The group of kids made that happen these kids put a lot of creativity and imagination into their idea! They had turned ordinary boring boxes into something Amazing!!! I would recommend this book to kids that enjoy using creativity and imagination!
                • HeathFriday, March 29, 2019 at 9:50 am
                  Welcome to The Cardboard Kingdom! Where no matter who you are you're welcome.Whether you're loud, a bully, or a hard-core business woman, all can have fun! This is a lovely book that is so enjoyable to read! Iloved meeting the different characters and learning their stories! I would recommend this book!
                  • LS MarinderFriday, March 29, 2019 at 9:40 am
                    I like this book and it is great
                    • tjboomer08Friday, March 22, 2019 at 8:57 am
                      I want to read this so bad.
                      READ IT + REVIEW IT
                       
                      Join Penguin Rookie Reviewers and get the best books and authors before anyone else. 
                      Read, review and share with your friends.