Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 6n/a5.364955
A New York Times Bestseller

In this heartwarming, funny middle-grade novel by the bestselling author of Counting by 7s, Julia grows into herself while playing a Munchkin in a production of The Wizard of Oz


Julia is very short for her age, but by the end of the summer run of The Wizard of Oz, she'll realize how big she is inside, where it counts. She hasn't ever thought of herself as a performer, but when the wonderful director of Oz casts her as a Munchkin, she begins to see herself in a new way. Julia becomes friendly with the poised and wise Olive--one of the adults with dwarfism who've joined the production's motley crew of Munchkins. With her deeply artistic neighbor, Mrs. Chang, Julia's own sense of self as an artist grows. Soon, she doesn't want to fade into the background--and it's a good thing, because her director has more big plans for Julia!

Bubbling over with humor and tenderness, while emphasizing the importance of role models, this is an irresistible story of self-discovery.

Hardcover, 304 pages
Published on January 31, 2017 by Dial Books
ISBN-10: 0399186212
ISBN-13: 9780399186219
25 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • NOOB123Tuesday, May 22, 2018 at 2:32 pm
    I LOVE IT SUCH A GREAT BOOK I SHORT TOO LIKE IF YOU AGREE
    • julia123Wednesday, May 9, 2018 at 7:40 pm
      This book is the best book ever
      • elisa45
        elisa45Monday, May 7, 2018 at 3:28 pm55 stars
        Such a great story, it's just that I'm totally the opposite of short
        • bookworm09
          bookworm09Wednesday, April 4, 2018 at 11:22 am55 stars
          This book relates to me a lot! I love how Julia is friends with Olive. She is very relatable. I am 4’4vin 3rd grade, and some of my friends are 4’6!
          • bookworm09
            bookworm09Wednesday, April 4, 2018 at 9:46 am55 stars
            I loved this book because of Julia’s relationships with the characters, like Mrs.Chang and Olive. Julia wasn’t afraid of what other people thought. This book really relates to me because I am in third grade and only 4’4!
            • amelialover24
              amelialover24Wednesday, January 31, 2018 at 8:42 am55 stars
              I love this book so good!!!!!!!!!!
              • gamingqueen103
                gamingqueen103Wednesday, May 24, 2017 at 4:25 pm
                I LUV THIS BOOK! Although, it doesn't relate to me actually...
                • piccadillypie
                  piccadillypieWednesday, August 2, 2017 at 11:52 pm55 stars
                  i love this book too but it does relate to me. a bit. i'm short.
                • Goodgirl758536Tuesday, May 23, 2017 at 11:37 pm
                  I really love this book ;D
                  • Goodgirl758536Tuesday, May 23, 2017 at 11:27 pm
                    A really nice book to read ;D
                    • destinyFriday, May 12, 2017 at 9:13 am
                      this book is so long to read?
                      Recent Members
                      READ IT - LOVE IT - REVIEW IT
                       
                      Join Penguin Rookie Reviewers and get the best books and authors before anyone else. 
                      Read, review and share with your friends.

                      GET IN THE GAME!
                       
                       
                      This Month’s Pick