Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 6n/a5.364955
A New York Times Bestseller

In this heartwarming, funny middle-grade novel by the bestselling author of Counting by 7s, Julia grows into herself while playing a Munchkin in a production of The Wizard of Oz


Julia is very short for her age, but by the end of the summer run of The Wizard of Oz, she'll realize how big she is inside, where it counts. She hasn't ever thought of herself as a performer, but when the wonderful director of Oz casts her as a Munchkin, she begins to see herself in a new way. Julia becomes friendly with the poised and wise Olive--one of the adults with dwarfism who've joined the production's motley crew of Munchkins. With her deeply artistic neighbor, Mrs. Chang, Julia's own sense of self as an artist grows. Soon, she doesn't want to fade into the background--and it's a good thing, because her director has more big plans for Julia!

Bubbling over with humor and tenderness, while emphasizing the importance of role models, this is an irresistible story of self-discovery.

Hardcover, 304 pages
Published on January 31, 2017 by Dial Books
ISBN-10: 0399186212
ISBN-13: 9780399186219
21 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • bookworm09
    bookworm09Wednesday, April 4, 2018 at 11:22 am55 stars
    This book relates to me a lot! I love how Julia is friends with Olive. She is very relatable. I am 4’4vin 3rd grade, and some of my friends are 4’6!
    • bookworm09
      bookworm09Wednesday, April 4, 2018 at 9:46 am55 stars
      I loved this book because of Julia’s relationships with the characters, like Mrs.Chang and Olive. Julia wasn’t afraid of what other people thought. This book really relates to me because I am in third grade and only 4’4!
      • amelialover24
        amelialover24Wednesday, January 31, 2018 at 8:42 am55 stars
        I love this book so good!!!!!!!!!!
        • gamingqueen103
          gamingqueen103Wednesday, May 24, 2017 at 4:25 pm
          I LUV THIS BOOK! Although, it doesn't relate to me actually...
          • piccadillypie
            piccadillypieWednesday, August 2, 2017 at 11:52 pm55 stars
            i love this book too but it does relate to me. a bit. i'm short.
          • Goodgirl758536Tuesday, May 23, 2017 at 11:37 pm
            I really love this book ;D
            • Goodgirl758536Tuesday, May 23, 2017 at 11:27 pm
              A really nice book to read ;D
              • destinyFriday, May 12, 2017 at 9:13 am
                this book is so long to read?
                • LoloHappyFriday, May 12, 2017 at 9:06 am
                  Julia is short. But she is boycotting the word. When her mother forces her to do a summer camp she really doesn't want to do, Julia ends up meeting an adult with dwarfism, named Olive. She also meets a next door neighbor, Mrs. Chang, who is very artistic. As for the summer camp she doesn't want to do, it is a theatre camp, and the play is The Wizard of Oz. Julia gets casted as a munchkin, and she starts to realize who she truly is with love, friendship, and becoming an actress.
                  • bookqueen1o13
                    bookqueen1o13Thursday, May 4, 2017 at 6:09 pmFeatured
                    Short is a funny heart filled novel that i will never forget. in this book julia marks is well a short person put she likes to avoid the word short . in this book her town is putting on a play ....THE WIZARD OF OZ!!!! and she meets her first adult friend named olive.( A adult with dwarfism) At her first rehearsal her brother randy all so tried out for the play.the question is will she have fun doing this play that her mom forced her into or will this be the summer she'll never forget. full of fun stuff . read this book it will make you cry
                    • generalchris101
                      generalchris101Thursday, March 30, 2017 at 4:52 pm
                      A VERY interesting book. Im gonna give it a 6 outta 10
                      • piccadillypie
                        piccadillypieWednesday, August 2, 2017 at 11:52 pm55 stars
                        i give it 8 out of 10
                      Recent Members
                      READ IT - LOVE IT - REVIEW IT
                       
                      Join Penguin Rookie Reviewers and get the best books and authors before anyone else. 
                      Read, review and share with your friends.

                      GET IN THE GAME!
                       
                       
                      This Month’s Pick