Kids Weird But True: 300 Outrageous Facts

Book 1 of 13 in the Weird But True Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 3 - 7Grades 3 - 5n/an/an/a
At last, all those weird but true facts that readers of National Geographic Kids love so much are collected into a fun-filled book that you’ll come back to again and again!

Weird But True is based on the hugely popular magazine page of quirky, fun facts that many readers of National Geographic Kids magazine turn to first. Why? Well did you know that... Peanut butter can be converted into a diamond? The world’s oldest pet goldfish lived to be 43 years old? The world’s longest soap bubble was as long as four school buses? On Neptune, the wind blows up to 1,243 miles an hour? An elephant’s tooth can weigh as much as a bowling ball?

All of the facts in this handy book will amaze friends and family: Animals Superpowers...Chills and Thrills...Eat or Be Eaten...Mini and Mega...Wild and Crazy, and much, much more. Adjacent pages for such facts present a one-paragraph explanation of how that fact is possible or why it is so.

Wacky facts, fascinating information, and lively art combine in this easy-to-browse, casual reference book that is sure to give young readers hours of fun.
Paperback, 208 pages
Published on December 22, 2009 by National Geographic Children's Books
ISBN-10: 142630594X
ISBN-13: 9781426305948
40 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • goodvibesonly09
    goodvibesonly09Wednesday, July 29, 2020 at 7:12 am55 stars
    I LOVE weird but true books they are so interesting! All these facts were so cool! But I was a little disapointed when the sneak peek was only this long :(
    • bsc
      bscFriday, May 8, 2020 at 9:44 am55 stars
      I LOVE these books!!
      • coolweirddork
        coolweirddorkFriday, May 8, 2020 at 9:43 am55 stars
        This book is radical. So many strange and cool facts i wouldnt have known unless i read this!!!
        • coolweirddork
          coolweirddorkFriday, May 8, 2020 at 9:42 am55 stars
          OMG! Gators eat SHARKS?!
          • bookycat
            bookycatMonday, March 23, 2020 at 11:45 am
            Lots of weird facts even I cant believe
            • coolweirddork
              coolweirddorkFriday, May 8, 2020 at 9:44 am55 stars
              do u know what other books about facts there are from Nat Geo Kids?
            • Avril Friday, March 20, 2020 at 6:22 pm
              I didn't know that Iowa and Missouri almost had war!!!!!🤯
              • summergirl1
                summergirl1Sunday, February 9, 2020 at 5:21 am
                I like this book because it is a very very very very very very very very very very interesting and factual
                • chetoes
                  chetoesSaturday, February 1, 2020 at 6:28 am
                  Do you know that alligator eat shark in Florida
                  • She she 24Sunday, September 15, 2019 at 11:49 am
                    Looooooooove it
                    • agocowgirl
                      agocowgirlTuesday, August 27, 2019 at 7:47 pm55 stars
                      I didn’t know Montana had more cows 🐄 than people..that’s crazy 😜 but super cool... and believable!

                      Why Join:

                      National Geographic Kids Book Club Badge Every month is an adventure with new books, fun activities, and cool prizes.  So claim your official badge and start exploring!

                      FREE Book Club Giveaway:

                      Recent Members
                      CLICK to PLAY