This Book is Cute: The Soft and Squishy Science and Culture of Aww

Ever wonder why some creatures just make you want to cuddle them? Join us in the science lab to ooh and aah over adorable animals and discover why CUTE is just so darn irresistible!

Those adorable big eyes. Those floppy ears! And that soft velvety fur. Welcome to the soft and squishy science of cute! In this book, we'll take a look at what actually makes something "cute," what happens inside our brains when we see something cute, and why we're biologically hardwired that way. We'll also explore why some brands, products, and characters have been such sensational hits through the ages.

Get ready for cute overload as we look at lots of awww-dorable images to explore why babies, puppies, and other small fluffy animals with round faces and big eyes are universally adored (and why others are less so). Flynn explains the psychology and physiology behind our responses and answers questions, such as What influence does our culture or environment have on our conceptions of cute? We'll also take an up-close look at crazes today, from the indisputably cutest animals ever to Internet sensations. Let the squealing commence!
Paperback, 112 pages
Published on March 19, 2019 by National Geographic Children's Books
ISBN-10: 1426332947
ISBN-13: 9781426332944
37 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • agocowgirl
    agocowgirlTuesday, August 27, 2019 at 7:52 pm55 stars
    Sorry I meant to give it 5 ⭐️
    • agocowgirl
      agocowgirlTuesday, August 27, 2019 at 7:51 pm55 stars
      Aw! So cute! Did you know that seeing something cute releases bad chemicals from your brain 🧠? Ps. PLEASE FOLLOW ME!! 😁 ❤️🐴
      • xeta
        xetaMonday, August 12, 2019 at 8:43 am44 stars
        Haven't read this yet but it looks totally adorable, like a treat for anyone who loves indulging on sweet, adorable, and scrumptiously fluffy facts. ~Xeta <3
        • Donut423Monday, August 12, 2019 at 8:23 am
          Awww..... so cute!
          • Parrot sharkMonday, August 5, 2019 at 12:06 am
            Im am sooooooo hungry!
            • Explorer sharkeMonday, August 5, 2019 at 12:00 am
              The ultimate book of sharks is a book that learn of many sharks! Hammerhead shark is a shark that lives in the sea!
              • Bluewolf9 Monday, June 3, 2019 at 1:41 pm
                Adorable
                • lividogs123
                  lividogs123Saturday, June 1, 2019 at 8:27 am55 stars
                  OMG SO CUTE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
                  • lanebolden123
                    lanebolden123Thursday, May 30, 2019 at 3:09 pm
                    so cute
                    • maireTuesday, May 7, 2019 at 9:56 am
                      I love this book! I have 3 words that are cute as this book: Cute,Funny,and RELLY CUTE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

                      Why Join:

                      National Geographic Kids Book Club Badge Every month is an adventure with new books, fun activities, and cool prizes.  So claim your official badge and start exploring!

                      FREE Book Club Giveaway:

                      Recent Members
                      CLICK to PLAY
                      CLICK to PLAY