Dive into the wild world of sharks! Get up close to learn the truth behind these fantastic, ferocious fish with famed National Geographic photographer and explorer Brian Skerry.

Join this amazing underwater adventure to track the sharks of the world, from the teeniest dogfish to the everfeared great white. This ultimate book features every species of shark on the planet, with awesome photos, fascinating facts, the latest science, and firsthand stories of real-life encounters with these incredible creatures. Learn how sharks live, how they eat, the challenges they face, and whether or not you are actually on the menu!
Hardcover, 192 pages
Published on May 15, 2018 by National Geographic Children's Books
ISBN-10: 1426330715
ISBN-13: 9781426330711
32 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • hanpink800
    hanpink800Friday, July 20, 2018 at 9:13 am44 stars
    I spent many awesome day underwater with this book! Its thrilling and exciting and also has many legit facts. My teacher was amazed when it came to learning about the sea and said I was a natural. I loved this book and I think other kids should read it.
    • bunny_ball
      bunny_ballThursday, July 19, 2018 at 12:01 pm22 stars
      This book is good for people who like sharks. I am not so interested in sharks. The book has lots of facts about sharks and there are many pictures. If you want to learn more about sharks then I recommend this book but I found it kind of boring.
      • sirjohnthegreat
        sirjohnthegreatTuesday, July 17, 2018 at 7:04 pm
        I read The Ultimate Book of Sharks. It has close up encounters with sharks; cool facts I never knew before, and the top ten most fantastic sharks. The best part of the book was reading the encounters. My dad and I looked up some of the events after I read about them.
        • spykitten
          spykittenMonday, July 16, 2018 at 4:47 pm33 stars
          This book is about the amazing, you guessed it, SHARKS!!! This book teaches you about the secret life of sharks, facts about sharks, and lots more stuff about sharks! This is a good book to read when you are bored. I would recommend this book.
          • paintlover13
            paintlover13Sunday, July 15, 2018 at 5:21 am55 starsFeatured
            The Ultimate Book of Sharks is another great book from National Geographic. It is filled, from cover to cover, with interesting shark facts and information. I especially enjoyed how the author portrayed sharks as living creatures and not just deadly beasts. There are beautiful pictures of sharks on almost every page. The book is beautiful and detailed, informative and fun. I would recommend this to anyone who wants to learn a lot more about the misunderstood sea creatures.
            • coolgirlintown
              coolgirlintownSaturday, July 14, 2018 at 9:47 am33 stars
              I liked this book because it was really well written. I'm not a big lover of sharks but if you are i would definitely recommend this book to you.
              • hanpink800
                hanpink800Friday, July 13, 2018 at 9:01 pm44 stars
                I spent many awesome day underwater with this book! Its thrilling and exciting and also has many legit facts. My teacher was amazed when it came to learning about the sea and said I was a natural. I loved this book and I think other kids should read it.
                • midnightluna
                  midnightlunaWednesday, July 11, 2018 at 4:41 pm44 stars
                  This is the ULTIMATE BOOK OF SHARKS! If you love sharks, you will absolutely love this book in very way, share, and form! This is Shark Week in one awesome book!
                  • mkid122
                    mkid122Monday, July 9, 2018 at 12:58 am55 stars
                    The Ultimate Book of Sharks is truly the ULTIMATE book of sharks. Every turn gives you a new interesting and unforgettable fact about sharks. And every turn has an wonderful photograph of this amazing sea creature. This book is the for sure guide to sharks and once you start reading and taking it all in its hard to stop. Once again National geographic does a wonderful job of jam packing a book with a vibrancy of facts and pictures. I recommend this book to any reader especially shark lovers.
                    • rrwwnn
                      rrwwnnSaturday, June 23, 2018 at 9:22 am55 stars
                      This book is about fun facts about sharks. This book might even surprise the most experienced shark reader by teaching them too. This book teaches about where sharks live, what they eat, and more.
                      Why Join:
                      Every month is an adventure with new books, fun activities, and cool prizes.  So claim your official badge and start exploring!
                      Recent Members
                      FREE Book Club giveaway:
                      CLICK to PLAY