The Coolest Stuff on Earth: A Closer Look at the Weird, Wild, and Wonderful

Uncover the secrets behind our planet's most magnificent marvels, epic extremes, and astonishing animals in this fact-packed series sequel!

Did you know that dogs can shake off a pound of water in less than a second? That some sand dunes whistle and sing? That the U.S. dollar bill is full of hidden symbols related to the number 13? Our world is filled with strange, bizarre, and weird happenings. But what do they mean? WHY are they important? And what secrets are behind them?

These secrets and MORE are revealed through cool stories, action-packed photos, fantastic infographics, and exciting Q&As with in-the-field experts. Discover the secrets of sharkskin, the mysteries behind incredible island animals, the power behind lightning, how a rare gemstone changes color, and more. Kids will be captivated by this fresh way of looking at our amazing planet.

Hardcover, 192 pages
Published on November 3, 2020 by National Geographic Children's Books
ISBN-10: 1426338589
ISBN-13: 9781426338588
19 Book Reviews
  • ami18
    ami18Wednesday, April 14, 2021 at 3:36 am55 stars
    The fact about dolphins : totally cool. Has lots of interesting facts
    • ami18
      ami18Wednesday, April 14, 2021 at 3:37 am55 stars
      I mean they even call each other by name! Almost human.
    • lovetoread26
      lovetoread26Tuesday, March 16, 2021 at 2:37 pm55 stars
      This book really is the coolest! From fantastical foods to crazy cliff climbing, The Coolest Stuff On Earth: A Closer Look At the Weird, Wild, and Wonderful has it all! Did you know that giant sequoia trees in California are some of the oldest living trees on the planet? Or that rabbit jumping is a sport played in Sweden? Find out more weird, wild, and most certainly wonderful facts in this book!
      • lucky_jean
        lucky_jeanThursday, February 4, 2021 at 7:20 am
        so thrilled to get this book!!
        • Crazy dogSunday, January 24, 2021 at 9:43 am
          Intresting book
          • zuzu_kitty
            zuzu_kittyTuesday, December 8, 2020 at 12:16 pm55 stars
            i love it is so nice
            • Marika Tuesday, December 8, 2020 at 5:44 am
              I know that dolphin has a language when I read this book I know that it is true when people tell me I thought that it was lie i took a lot of knowledge
              • sweet-readlover
                sweet-readloverFriday, December 4, 2020 at 11:04 pm
                Interesting! I didn't knew such-a cool thing on Earth!!
                • Ahmed Tuesday, December 1, 2020 at 6:13 am
                  It's very nice 👌
                  • aininakifaaidan
                    aininakifaaidanSunday, November 29, 2020 at 8:13 pm55 stars
                    I dont read this yet.But I am sure it is fun.I have a competition to attend and this type of book will definitely give a lot of scores to my school.
                    • MasonFriday, November 27, 2020 at 8:11 pm
                      I read this book

                      Why Join:

                      National Geographic Kids Book Club Badge Every month is an adventure with new books, fun activities, and cool prizes.  So claim your official badge and start exploring!

                      FREE Book Club Giveaway:

                      Recent Members
                      CLICK to PLAY