Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 3 - 7Grades 1 - 3n/a2.511730

Big Nate, a.k.a. middle schooler Nate Wright, is eleven years old, four-and-a-half feet tall, and the wunderkind creation of cartoonist Lincoln Peirce. Nate is also the star of six novelized books to be published by HarperCollins, the first of which debuted on the New York Times children's best-seller list. Big Nate Out Loud collects Peirce's Big Nate strips, originally published only in newspapers and online at comics.com.

For those not familiar with Big Nate, think Diary of a Wimpy Kid meets Calvin and Hobbes. Nate is a self-described genius and a sixth-grade Renaissance man equipped with only a #2 pencil and the unshakable belief that he is destined for greatness (a fortune cookie told him so). He fights a daily battle against overzealous teachers, undercooked cafeteria food, and all-around conventionality. He's the original rebel without a clue, alternately abrasive and endearing to classmates and teachers alike. Throughout Peirce's Big Nate Out Loud, Nate blazes an unforgettable trail through the sixth grade at P.S. 38, earning straight As in laughs (and numerous detentions) along the way.

Paperback, 224 pages
Published on April 26, 2011 by Andrews McMeel Publishing
ISBN-10: 1449407188
ISBN-13: 9781449407186
44 Book Reviews
  • gaurdain
    gaurdainThursday, May 6, 2021 at 7:47 am
    So funny I have all the books
    • live1357
      live1357Monday, January 25, 2021 at 7:11 am55 stars
      I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!
      • thescarecrow6
        thescarecrow6Thursday, May 7, 2020 at 10:02 am55 stars
        I like this book because it's funny, and big nate gets in to a lot of trouble but he has two friends that usually help out I give it a 5/5 and recommend it for everyone!
        • hawkeyehayden
          hawkeyehaydenTuesday, November 20, 2018 at 10:27 am55 stars
          best book ever
          • catslovewaffles
            catslovewafflesWednesday, November 29, 2017 at 6:56 am44 stars
            My cousin REALLY likes this series!!! I might try it out. I might.
            • mastercash101
              mastercash101Friday, October 7, 2016 at 12:11 pm
              LOVED IT!!!!
              • mastercash101
                mastercash101Sunday, August 7, 2016 at 3:59 pm
                lincoln has done it again with this astonishing funny entertaining book awesome story
                • cimmie
                  cimmieFriday, May 20, 2016 at 12:09 am55 stars
                  Another one of my favorites! in this one Big Nate is rock'n out! of course he gets detention along the way, (and a very messy locker) but Big Nate out loud is something I recommend for those who love comedy.
                  • RYUSaturday, April 23, 2016 at 8:15 pm
                    I like this book Nate knows how to rock and roll
                    • 14af
                      14afThursday, September 17, 2015 at 9:56 am
                      i like this book beascuse he plays in aband