Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.664152
12 year old Theodore "Teddy" Roosevelt Fitzroy has got a murder on his hands and trouble on his tail. Henry, the hippopatamus at the brand-new nationally known FunJungle, has gone belly up. Even though it's claimed he died of natural causes, Teddy smells something fishy and it sure ain't the polar bear's lunch. Dealing with the zoo's top brass proves to be nothing but a waste of time. They want to see any trace of Henry's death disappear like yesterday's paper. So Teddy sets out to find the truth. With the help of Summer McCraken, a fiesty girl with secrets of her own, the two narrow down their prime suspects. Is it Martin Del Gato, FunJungle's head of operations who hates kids and hates animals even more? Or J.J McCraken, the owner of FunJungle and and hates animals even more? Or J.J McCraken, the owner of FunJungle and Summer's father, who has more concern for the dough he's raking in than the animals in the zoo? As their investigation goes on, Teddy gets squeezed on all sides to quit asking questions or Henry won't be the only animal in the zoo to turn up dead. The deeper Teddy and Summer get, they had better make sure they want to know what they want to know because when it comes to hippo homicide, the truth can't be kept in a cage!
Paperback, 320 pages
Published on July 5, 2011 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 1416987320
ISBN-13: 9781416987321
27 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • blossomreader
    blossomreaderSunday, August 16, 2020 at 3:29 pm55 stars
    Teddy lives in Funjungle with his parents, who work there. They love Funjungle, which is a fun place fulll of animals and fun! But when something goes very wrong in the hippo exhibit, it's up to Teddy to catch the killer or Henry the hippo and save the reputation of Funjungle before his parents lose their jobs. Can he do it, or will he need help with someone SPECIAL? This is an amazing book!
    • sylvie55555
      sylvie55555Monday, June 1, 2020 at 7:06 pm55 stars
      This is the first book in the Fun Jungle series written by the author Stuart Gibbs. Teddy Fitzroy lives in one of the greatest places a kid could live - Fun Jungle, the best zoo on earth- at least that's what it seems like. Considering that Teddy is the only kid that lives there, it can get pretty boring. Teddy is always looking for a little excitement, but when Fun Jungle's mascot mysteriously dies, it might be a little too much excitement for Teddy. Teddy is sure that Henry the hippo, the mascot, was murdered, but no one believes him! Except for Summer Mcracken, the daughter of the owner of Fun Jungle. Will Teddy and Summer be able to crack the case? Read the book to find out! Happy Reading!
      • sjsj
        sjsjSaturday, May 23, 2020 at 7:14 am55 stars
        Teddy Fitzroy has just learned that Henry the Hippo, the zoo that his family works for's mascot, was murdered. Teddy strives to solve the case, but he is putting himself in more danger than he can possibly imagine. He knows he is taking a risk, but he did not think that he would encounter a black mamba, and get chased by security. But one of the security members just might be the culprit...
        • lilybug47
          lilybug47Friday, December 20, 2019 at 12:36 pm55 stars
          I LOVED this book, we recently listened to poached on audio in our car, but I hadn’t read Belly Up. This book is all about Teddy Fitzroy, and his adventures at FunJungle zoo. When Henry the Hippo is found belly up at the bottom of the river in the hippo exhibit. As the son of parents who work at FunJungle, he thought it was his job to investigate. What could go wrong? I think this book, and the whole series is awesome! So excited for new books to come!!
          • 13iamgroot
            13iamgrootThursday, August 22, 2019 at 3:26 pm33 stars
            I read this book because I really loved Stuart Gibbs other series spy school and moon base alpha. It is a pretty good book about a kid who lives on a zoo that his mom and dad work for. He knows all the in and outs and has settled on playing pranks because he gets pretty bored sometimes. So when the zoo's mascot henry the hippo mysteriously dies one day and he sneaks into the autopsy and finds out the death might not be of natural causes, he decides to investigate. It was a pretty good book however I found that the plot was the exact same as Stuart Gibbs' other book, Space Case. There were so many things that were the same! I was shocked! If you have read both books please comment if you noticed this too, and if you can find all the things that are the same!
            • reader2009
              reader2009Tuesday, July 23, 2019 at 9:21 pm44 stars
              This was an okay book but it definitely was not as good as the Spy School series.
              • sylvie55555
                sylvie55555Friday, July 19, 2019 at 3:31 pm55 stars
                This is the first book in the fun jungle series written by Stuart Gibbs. In this book 12 year old Teddy ´s parents work int he worlds biggest zoo. So when one of their most important animals die Teddy starts to think something fishy is going on. Teddy starts to work on the case with Summer, the daughter of the owner of the zoo! Will Teddy crack the case? Read the book to find out. Stuart Gibbs is an amazing other and this is a wonderful series, as well as the Spy School and Space Case series! Hope you like this book!
                • iccream1498😍Saturday, June 15, 2019 at 5:49 pm
                  great book but only thing i dont like is hippos shotting pop out of there rear end 4 stars
                  • watercolrwonder
                    watercolrwonderWednesday, June 5, 2019 at 5:08 am55 stars
                    I love these books! They leave you hanging on to every word; you won't want to put it down. If you love mystery and adventure, you will really like these books!
                    • natureboy
                      natureboyWednesday, May 29, 2019 at 7:40 am55 stars
                      This is such a good book. It is full of surprises and mysteries. If you are looking for an amazing book this is the one. If you've already read this there is a second book that I read too. I loved this book so I bet you will too!