Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grade 6n/a5.4117295

The Before I Fall movie—based on Lauren Oliver’s beloved first novel and starring Zoey Deutch, Halston Sage, and Kian Lawley—is opening in theaters in spring 2017.

With this stunning debut novel, New York Times bestselling author Lauren Oliver emerged as one of today's foremost authors of young adult fiction. Like Jay Asher's Thirteen Reasons Why and Gayle Forman's If I Stay, Before I Fall raises thought-provoking questions about love, death, and how one person's life can affect so many others.

For popular high school senior Samantha Kingston, February 12—"Cupid Day"—should be one big party, a day of valentines and roses and the privileges that come with being at the top of the social pyramid. And it is…until she dies in a terrible accident that night.

However, she still wakes up the next morning. In fact, Sam lives the last day of her life seven times, until she realizes that by making even the slightest changes, she may hold more power than she ever imagined.

Named to numerous state reading lists, this novel was also recognized as a Best Book of the Year by Amazon.com, Barnes & Noble, The Daily Beast, NPR, and Publishers Weekly.

Supports the Common Core State Standards.

Hardcover, 480 pages
Published on March 2, 2010 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 006172680X
ISBN-13: 9780061726804
11 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • SavvyThursday, May 17, 2018 at 9:33 am
    It was a nice read i have read it at least 6 times in the past 2 months. I get more into it every time i read it you just have to be careful with the assumptions. I encourage high schoolers to read this to see what could be happening with in their schools right under their noses. This book has a great message if you are just willing to listen and not talk over it.
    • grapefruit
      grapefruitThursday, August 24, 2017 at 2:34 am
      it was a good book,but the ending is really sad(main character actually dies!)so do not expect a happy ending!another word to children of ages around 9 to 12 ,this book MAY be a bit mature, but i did not say you can't read it!
      • teaandbooksSunday, May 7, 2017 at 4:06 pm
        I really did like this book, but it has a few flaws. The first thing is that the characters aren't likable. Kent is the only remotely likable character in it. Samantha and her friends are rude- it felt like none of them were worth liking. Overall, I liked it and I wish it had more story, things went pretty fast.
        • vickyh
          vickyhWednesday, January 6, 2016 at 12:31 am44 stars
          Reading the last day of Samantha's life has been a heartbreaking and sad journey for me. This story makes me laugh and teary at the same time. I really love how the author shaped the character Samantha, she has everything a high school girl ever wanted, she looks beautiful, she is popular, and she has a perfect boyfriend that every girl admired. However, on a Friday of February 12th, everything changed, this day turned out to be the last day of her life. I think Samantha is the best character created, at the beginning of the story, she was a self-centered girl and the only thing she ever cared about was herself. However, as she relived the Friday for exactly 7 times, she started to realize that not everything revolves around her. She was given the second chance to right the wrong that she had done. By fixing her mistakes, she became a better person. Eventually, she cared not only about herself, but also the people around her. The author put a lot of thoughts and efforts into the novel, readers could easily relate to the story, and follow the character's emotion. The readers would laugh when Samantha was laughing, and cry when she was crying. I highly recommend this book to teenage boys and girls, high school students who love reading romance.
          • vickyh
            vickyhTuesday, January 5, 2016 at 11:14 pm44 starsFeatured
            Reading through Samantha's last day over and over again, it's heartbreaking how Samantha was struggling through the last day of her life. I really love how the author shaped the character, Samantha has everything any high school girl wanted, she looks beautiful, she's popular, she has a perfect boyfriend that everyone admired. However, on a Friday, February 12th, the last day of her life. Samantha is my favorite character, throughout the story, she had relived for seven times, she started to realize what she had done wrong, and she was given the chance to right the wrong and to improve herself and be a better person, thinking not only herself also the people around her. The author put a lot of thought into this novel, while reader were reading, they can easily relate the story, and follow the character's emotion, laugh when Samantha is laughing, cry and Samantha is crying. I highly recommended this book to teenage girls or boys, people who studying in high school, and who love romance.
            • tris46500
              tris46500Tuesday, June 16, 2015 at 8:15 am
              Sounds soooooo good!!!!
              • brelovesbooks
                brelovesbooksThursday, August 21, 2014 at 7:03 pm
                This seems like a really good book!
                • Leah LynnSaturday, July 26, 2014 at 11:57 am
                  I have to say, I did like this book but only to some small extent. To begin with, I think I expected this book to be more of a Delirium type book. I got this book as a gift from my aunt, and I am glad that I did. I don't think I would've picked this book at a bookstore or at my local library at all. Anyways back to the point. As soon as I started this book, I knew it was nothing like the Delirium series at all. It isn't really a sci-fi in the future book at all. It's quite honestly more of a modern day book. It's pretty sad, so if you would enjoy this type of book, you should definitely read it!
                  • hvk3301
                    hvk3301Wednesday, December 12, 2012 at 3:46 pm55 stars
                    omg like best book ever
                    • imdabomb
                      imdabombSaturday, December 1, 2012 at 6:32 am55 stars
                      I LOVED THIS BOOK!!!