Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 4n/a3.737164
Features seven narrators, each with a unique story, and each with a different perspective on what makes their teacher so special.

It’s the start of fifth grade for seven kids at Snow Hill School. There’s . . . Jessica, the new girl, smart and perceptive, who’s having a hard time fitting in; Alexia, a bully, your friend one second, your enemy the next; Peter, class prankster and troublemaker; Luke, the brain; Danielle, who never stands up for herself; shy Anna, whose home situation makes her an outcast; and Jeffrey, who hates school.

Only Mr. Terupt, their new and energetic teacher, seems to know how to deal with them all. He makes the classroom a fun place, even if he doesn’t let them get away with much . . . until the snowy winter day when an accident changes everything—and everyone.

"The characters are authentic and the short chapters are skillfully arranged to keep readers moving headlong toward the satisfying conclusion."--School Library Journal, Starred

"This powerful and emotional story is likely to spur discussion."--Publishers Weekly

"No one is perfect in this feel-good story, but everyone benefits, including sentimentally inclined readers."--Kirkus Reviews

"Compelling. . . . Readers will find much to ponder on the power of forgiveness."--Booklist
Hardcover, 288 pages
Published on October 12, 2010 by Delacorte Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 038573882X
ISBN-13: 9780385738828
143 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • memergirl11
    memergirl11Thursday, January 9, 2020 at 5:39 am55 stars
    This book is amazing and hilarious! I read it in my ELA class and the whole class loved it i would totally recommend it. Most of the stuff in the book relates to everyday life and can be good for kids
    • cats20090
      cats20090Thursday, December 26, 2019 at 8:23 pm55 stars
      This is an amazing book that really shows what a great teacher can do to you, even when he is in a coma. I love this book so much, it is emotionally moving, and makes me cry every time I read it.
      • MayaWednesday, October 2, 2019 at 3:05 pm
        This book is so great! it is very appropriate for all ages and explanins the consequence of taking something too far. definitely a must read.
        • avacadosmoothie
          avacadosmoothieSunday, September 22, 2019 at 2:42 pm55 starsFeatured
          This book is absolutely amazing and its from multiple perspectives, so you get a idea of how the all the students (Jessica, Alexia, Peter, Luke, Danielle, Anna, & Jeffrey) are feeling and thinking. This book is about seven kids that have the same teacher, Mr. Terupt. He is an inspiring teacher and helps everyone, no matter how different each of them are, grow and become the best versions of themselves. The seven kids all have their faults, but try to help each other along the way. Towards the end of the book, Jeffrey accidenly hits Mr. Terupt with a snowball and knocks him unconsious. Jessica, Alexia, Peter, Luke, Danielle, Anna, and Jeffrey may not be happy with each other, but eventually learn to stick together and hope for Mr. Terupt, who they all love, to get better.
          • reader2009
            reader2009Sunday, July 21, 2019 at 8:38 pm55 stars
            This is one of my favorite books! I love it so much!!!!! It was very heart-touching and it made me cry (in a good way!). I hope you read this book, I think you will like it as well.
            • moo Thursday, June 6, 2019 at 1:55 pm
              the book was great!!!!!!!!!! I will read it over and over again.
              • kenziegirl2008
                kenziegirl2008Tuesday, January 1, 2019 at 8:41 am55 stars
                LOVE this book.
                • jasimine209
                  jasimine209Monday, December 10, 2018 at 10:48 am55 stars
                  the whole class loved it
                  • birdwatcher888Thursday, December 6, 2018 at 9:36 am
                    we are reading this in our class right now. there is someone in our school that is EXACTLY l like alexia!ugg so annoying!!!!:(
                    • garret kitchensWednesday, December 5, 2018 at 8:34 am
                      this book was amazing it is very appropriate for kids my teacher read this to me and everybody loved it including me I think that every other kid/adult would love to read the book I can almost guarantee it.