Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 4n/a3.737164

Features seven narrators, each with a unique story, and each with a different perspective on what makes their teacher so special.It’s the start of fifth grade for seven kids at Snow Hill School. There’s . . . Jessica, the new girl, smart and perceptive, who’s having a hard time fitting in; Alexia, a bully, your friend one second, your enemy the next; Peter, class prankster and troublemaker; Luke, the brain; Danielle, who never stands up for herself; shy Anna, whose home situation makes her an outcast; and Jeffrey, who hates school.

Only Mr. Terupt, their new and energetic teacher, seems to know how to deal with them all. He makes the classroom a fun place, even if he doesn’t let them get away with much . . . until the snowy winter day when an accident changes everything—and everyone.

"The characters are authentic and the short chapters are skillfully arranged to keep readers moving headlong toward the satisfying conclusion."--School Library Journal, Starred

"This powerful and emotional story is likely to spur discussion."--Publishers Weekly

"No one is perfect in this feel-good story, but everyone benefits, including sentimentally inclined readers."--Kirkus Reviews

"Compelling. . . . Readers will find much to ponder on the power of forgiveness."--Booklist

Hardcover, 288 pages
Published on October 12, 2010 by Delacorte Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 038573882X
ISBN-13: 9780385738828
151 Book Reviews
  • rigeriwy-161720596044
    rigeriwy-161720596044Wednesday, March 31, 2021 at 9:06 am
    Because of Mr. Turupt by Buyea, Rob tells the story of these 8 people in the class of a bad tragedy. Mr. Terupt is a new teacher who teaches fifth grade. He helps these kids named Jessica, Alexia, Peter, Luke, Danielle, Anna, and Jeffery. Later in the story Mr. Turupt gets hit by a snowball thrown by Peter. But because of getting hit by the snowball he is in a coma. But during that time Anna has some trouble with Danielle’s family when Anna and Dannielle want to be friends. This book is amazing if you like sad books. So will Mr. Turupt come out of his Coma?!
    • jahrome0131
      jahrome0131Tuesday, March 2, 2021 at 11:57 am55 stars
      Awesome book!!!!!! 7 students, 7 point of views, one teacher. Awesome!!!!
      • frontdesk
        frontdeskFriday, January 22, 2021 at 7:45 am55 stars
        This is such a great book. I first read it as an assigned book from my teacher but then I read it like 10 more times on my own!
        • captainkenzie
          captainkenzieThursday, January 21, 2021 at 11:05 am55 stars
          I once read this book with my class and it was so good it has all mixed emotions sad, happy, embarrassed, and much more. It is one of the best books that I have read. The book shows each of the student's points of view. The book is about a teacher ( Mr.Terupt) who gets in a comma and his students do some amazing things some bad some weird some good and much more. Then they end up haveing the best school year ever!!!
          • brocolyyy
            brocolyyyWednesday, January 20, 2021 at 2:21 pm55 stars
            i love this book so much, i read it all the time!! i also read the other ones in that series. pls like and follow, and i will like and follow u back.
            • booklove01
              booklove01Tuesday, November 10, 2020 at 8:05 am55 starsFeatured
              are you into heartwarming,exiting pageturners that keep you wondering and at the tip of your chair couse as charlie lovett once said a good book is always a good freind and Beacuse of Mr. Terupt is defently and good freand that will stay with you forever and ever. In beacuse of mr turupt,mr turupt is a teacher to 7 kids at snow hill school peter,jessaca,luke,Alexia,jeffery,danielle and anna. they do not get along the best or have mutch in comen untell mr t comes and changes everything for the 5th greaders inb mr ts class beacuse of the new teacher mr tarupt This book is absolutely amazing and its from multiple perspectives, so you get a idea of how the all the students (Jessica, Alexia, Peter, Luke, Danielle, Anna, & Jeffrey) are feeling and thinking. This book is about seven kids that have the same teacher, Mr. Terupt. He is an inspiring teacher and helps everyone, no matter how different each of them are, grow and become the best versions of themselves. The seven kids all have their faults, but try to help each other along the way. Towards the end of the book, Jeffrey accidenly hits Mr. Terupt with a snowball and knocks him unconsious. Jessica, Alexia, Peter, Luke, Danielle, Anna, and Jeffrey may not be happy with each other, but eventually learn to stick together and hope for Mr. Terupt, who they all love, to get better. but willl things this year reallly go as pland read rob buyeas beacuse of Mr turupt to find out what really goes on iin the 6th greade classroom at snowhill school Ps sorry for the bad typing I did this supper fast Pps sorry this is a book reacomendashon I did it for school and thought to post it
              • alexander12
                alexander12Saturday, June 13, 2020 at 1:15 pm55 stars
                This book was amazing it has a mix of sad sorrow and happiness, It's very realistic and it is a page-turner. Jeffrey, Danielle, Lexie, Jessica, Luke, and Peter are pretty much the reason this book is great, oh yeah let's not forget about Mr. Terupt. Peter is your average troublemaker, Lexie is a sassy fashionista, Luke is the brainiac, Danielle is a big believer in God, and Jessica is a new girl from Florida. They all go to snow hill school and go through traumatic times and great times no matter what happens Robert Buyea always writes it beautifully and with great detail as well. This book is really good but I won't be the judge of that, you will.
                • itzme_bookworm
                  itzme_bookwormSunday, May 10, 2020 at 7:17 pm55 stars
                  Do you like stories with a mix of happy/funny and sad parts? You find both in Because of Mr. Terupt, a realistic fiction book by Rob Buyea. The book Because of Mr. Terupt is a unique story about an amazing teacher and seven kids in 5th grade. They go to Snow Hill school in Connecticut. The characters have different personalities, like nice, smart, understanding, and a little mean. In the story, they also do and say different things, like going crazy and crying. Here are reasons I loved the book. It’s sad when Mr. Terupt is in a coma and has brain surgery. It’s funny when the boys make trouble. Alexia, Danielle, Anna, and Jessica are in a girl war (Alexia vs Danielle, Anna, Jessica). The characters go crazy, and there is a lot of action. These are things I thought were NOT so great. Danielle prays too much in her sections of the story. It is a really short book. If there was more action, it would be more interesting. Nevertheless, I recommend you to read this book. The book is sad because something bad happens to one of the characters, but it is very hilarious because the actions that the characters in the story do are mostly funny. You’ll feel sad but you’ll also feel happy, and you’ll have fun reading this book!
                  • memergirl11
                    memergirl11Thursday, January 9, 2020 at 5:39 am55 stars
                    This book is amazing and hilarious! I read it in my ELA class and the whole class loved it i would totally recommend it. Most of the stuff in the book relates to everyday life and can be good for kids
                    • cats20090
                      cats20090Thursday, December 26, 2019 at 8:23 pm55 stars
                      This is an amazing book that really shows what a great teacher can do to you, even when he is in a coma. I love this book so much, it is emotionally moving, and makes me cry every time I read it.