Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 4n/a3.737164
Features seven narrators, each with a unique story, and each with a different perspective on what makes their teacher so special.

It’s the start of fifth grade for seven kids at Snow Hill School. There’s . . . Jessica, the new girl, smart and perceptive, who’s having a hard time fitting in; Alexia, a bully, your friend one second, your enemy the next; Peter, class prankster and troublemaker; Luke, the brain; Danielle, who never stands up for herself; shy Anna, whose home situation makes her an outcast; and Jeffrey, who hates school.

Only Mr. Terupt, their new and energetic teacher, seems to know how to deal with them all. He makes the classroom a fun place, even if he doesn’t let them get away with much . . . until the snowy winter day when an accident changes everything—and everyone.

"The characters are authentic and the short chapters are skillfully arranged to keep readers moving headlong toward the satisfying conclusion."--School Library Journal, Starred

"This powerful and emotional story is likely to spur discussion."--Publishers Weekly

"No one is perfect in this feel-good story, but everyone benefits, including sentimentally inclined readers."--Kirkus Reviews

"Compelling. . . . Readers will find much to ponder on the power of forgiveness."--Booklist
Hardcover, 288 pages
Published on October 12, 2010 by Delacorte Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 038573882X
ISBN-13: 9780385738828
146 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • hockey_dude77
    hockey_dude77Tuesday, July 21, 2020 at 9:20 am55 stars
    (SPOILER, if you don't like spoilers, don't read this review.) This is my favorite book. It's about seven classmates Jeffrey, the slacker, Anna, the shy one, Alexia, the queen bee, Luke, the brains, Jessica, the new girl, Peter the Class Clown, and Danielle, the pushover. And of course, their teacher Mr. Terupt. It's about how he's such a special teacher. But, during the year, many problems unfold. First, the fire alarm goes off because Luke is doing a plant project in school. Peter says that he put a little too much brain power in it. Than, Alexia bullies Anna, Danielle, and Jessica. But the biggest problem is, Mr. Terupt gets a coma when the class is playing outside and Peter throws an ice ball randomly because everyone was pushing him into the snow and kicking snow into his face. The ending of the story is soooooooooooooo smart. In the beginning of the school year, there was a project for finding dollar words. Assuming the letter A is 1, B is 2 and so on. During the book, there were the dollar words in different fonts, all except one. The end is, Terupt= Dollar word...
    • mmohi01
      mmohi01Saturday, June 13, 2020 at 1:15 pm55 stars
      This book was amazing it has a mix of sad sorrow and happiness, It's very realistic and it is a page-turner. Jeffrey, Danielle, Lexie, Jessica, Luke, and Peter are pretty much the reason this book is great, oh yeah let's not forget about Mr. Terupt. Peter is your average troublemaker, Lexie is a sassy fashionista, Luke is the brainiac, Danielle is a big believer in God, and Jessica is a new girl from Florida. They all go to snow hill school and go through traumatic times and great times no matter what happens Robert Buyea always writes it beautifully and with great detail as well. This book is really good but I won't be the judge of that, you will.
      • itzme_bookworm
        itzme_bookwormSunday, May 10, 2020 at 7:17 pm55 stars
        Do you like stories with a mix of happy/funny and sad parts? You find both in Because of Mr. Terupt, a realistic fiction book by Rob Buyea. The book Because of Mr. Terupt is a unique story about an amazing teacher and seven kids in 5th grade. They go to Snow Hill school in Connecticut. The characters have different personalities, like nice, smart, understanding, and a little mean. In the story, they also do and say different things, like going crazy and crying. Here are reasons I loved the book. It’s sad when Mr. Terupt is in a coma and has brain surgery. It’s funny when the boys make trouble. Alexia, Danielle, Anna, and Jessica are in a girl war (Alexia vs Danielle, Anna, Jessica). The characters go crazy, and there is a lot of action. These are things I thought were NOT so great. Danielle prays too much in her sections of the story. It is a really short book. If there was more action, it would be more interesting. Nevertheless, I recommend you to read this book. The book is sad because something bad happens to one of the characters, but it is very hilarious because the actions that the characters in the story do are mostly funny. You’ll feel sad but you’ll also feel happy, and you’ll have fun reading this book!
        • memergirl11
          memergirl11Thursday, January 9, 2020 at 5:39 am55 stars
          This book is amazing and hilarious! I read it in my ELA class and the whole class loved it i would totally recommend it. Most of the stuff in the book relates to everyday life and can be good for kids
          • cats20090
            cats20090Thursday, December 26, 2019 at 8:23 pm55 stars
            This is an amazing book that really shows what a great teacher can do to you, even when he is in a coma. I love this book so much, it is emotionally moving, and makes me cry every time I read it.
            • MayaWednesday, October 2, 2019 at 3:05 pm
              This book is so great! it is very appropriate for all ages and explanins the consequence of taking something too far. definitely a must read.
              • avacadosmoothie
                avacadosmoothieSunday, September 22, 2019 at 2:42 pm55 starsFeatured
                This book is absolutely amazing and its from multiple perspectives, so you get a idea of how the all the students (Jessica, Alexia, Peter, Luke, Danielle, Anna, & Jeffrey) are feeling and thinking. This book is about seven kids that have the same teacher, Mr. Terupt. He is an inspiring teacher and helps everyone, no matter how different each of them are, grow and become the best versions of themselves. The seven kids all have their faults, but try to help each other along the way. Towards the end of the book, Jeffrey accidenly hits Mr. Terupt with a snowball and knocks him unconsious. Jessica, Alexia, Peter, Luke, Danielle, Anna, and Jeffrey may not be happy with each other, but eventually learn to stick together and hope for Mr. Terupt, who they all love, to get better.
                • reader2009
                  reader2009Sunday, July 21, 2019 at 8:38 pm55 stars
                  This is one of my favorite books! I love it so much!!!!! It was very heart-touching and it made me cry (in a good way!). I hope you read this book, I think you will like it as well.
                  • moo Thursday, June 6, 2019 at 1:55 pm
                    the book was great!!!!!!!!!! I will read it over and over again.
                    • kenziegirl2008
                      kenziegirl2008Tuesday, January 1, 2019 at 8:41 am55 stars
                      LOVE this book.