Are You There God? It's Me, Margaret

Email
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5T3.630340
If anyone tried to determine the most common rite of passage for preteen girls in North America, a girl's first reading of Are You There God? It's Me, Margaret would rank near the top of the list. Adolescents are often so relieved to discover that someone understands their body-angst that they miss one of the book's deeper explorations: a young person's relationship with God. Margaret has a very private relationship with God, and it's only after she moves to New Jersey and hangs out with a new friend that she discovers that it might be weird to talk to God without a priest or a rabbi to mediate. Margaret just wants to fit in! Who is God, and where is He when she needs Him?
Hardcover
Published on December 1, 1982 by Atheneum/Richard Jackson Books
ISBN-10: 0027109909
ISBN-13: 9780027109900
53 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • ladyirene
    ladyireneMonday, March 13, 2017 at 4:34 pm55 stars
    this book has inspired me in many ways<3
    • ladyirene
      ladyireneMonday, March 13, 2017 at 2:18 pm55 stars
      This book is good because it is about a girl who is trying so hard to get her period but just can't read to find out what happens. <3
      • BBEdit Thursday, March 9, 2017 at 3:07 pm
        This is the best book 📚 I've read in my whole life
        • BBEdit Thursday, March 9, 2017 at 3:07 pm
          I love this book 📚 so much.
          • BBEdit Thursday, March 9, 2017 at 3:06 pm
            This is a awesome book 📚.
            • BBEdit Thursday, March 9, 2017 at 3:05 pm
              It's a really boring book 📚.
              • silvermoon33
                silvermoon33Friday, March 3, 2017 at 2:02 pm55 starsFeatured
                This book represents the awkwardness of growing up. Margaret is experiences this difficulties that all of us girls can relate to. Judy Blume's heartwarming and interesting touch kept me from putting this book down. And the religious aspect, absolutely outstanding! Margaret's parents are Atheist, or don't believe in God. Margaret secretly prays to the God she felt is there in her heart, rather than what she learned from her parents. This book teaches us that growing up is difficult and that we aren't alone.
                • lrohne2005
                  lrohne2005Sunday, October 23, 2016 at 5:33 am33 stars
                  This is an ok book about a girl growing up. It has the problems she faces, friends, and much more.
                  • nonstopreader
                    nonstopreaderMonday, May 9, 2016 at 12:17 pm
                    This is a book about growing up. It is dated but you can relate to the characters.
                    • bluehorse3
                      bluehorse3Wednesday, March 23, 2016 at 3:31 pm44 stars
                      This was a great book about a girl's life and she may have been real! With all of the struggles of growing up, like friends and crushes and of course, lies.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      twong
                      twong wrote:

                      Rodrick really did staying home
                      Rodrick Rules (Diary of a Wimpy ...

                      twong
                      twong wrote:

                      the party looked so fun and the ...
                      Double Down

                      twong
                      twong wrote:

                      when they were making the about ...
                      Double Down

                      foxtastic
                      foxtastic wrote:

                      I LOVE NARWHAL AND JELLY!!
                      Super Narwhal and Jelly Jolt: A ...