Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5T3.630340
3 hours, 9 minutes
2 cassettes
Performed by Laura Hamilton

Being eleven-going-on-twelve is hard enough, but when Margaret Simon's family moves to New Jersey she knows she needs to talk to someone. Is God listening?
Hardcover
Published on December 1, 1982 by Atheneum/Richard Jackson Books
ISBN-10: 0027109909
ISBN-13: 9780027109900
63 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • lady_ofthe_jury
    lady_ofthe_jurySunday, September 1, 2019 at 6:04 pm55 stars
    this book is really cool,but probably ask permistion from parent before reading, as this book is a HUGE controversy
    • 13iamgroot
      13iamgrootThursday, August 15, 2019 at 2:57 pm55 stars
      This is a great book for girls ages 10-13. I loved it so much. Margaret just wants to fit in with her new friends, but she doesn't feel as grown up as them. She joins a secret club with three girls and they are called the PTS's (Pre-Teen Sensations). She can't wait to grow up, but it isn't happening as quickly as she would have hoped. A great read, I would recommend it for any tween girl.
      • Kamilica Tuesday, July 23, 2019 at 7:51 am
        It's very funny to read this book
        • sylvie55555
          sylvie55555Monday, July 15, 2019 at 4:52 am44 starsFeatured
          Are you there god, It's me Margaret is a book about growing up and the importance of friendship and trust. In this book you learn about Margaret and her friends, who she meets after moving to New Jersey after living in New York her whole life. Margaret and her friends decide to open a "secret" club that meets every Monday to discuss "important" things. Another element to this book is the love between family, which is shown through Margaret and her grandmother and their bond. Overall I would recommend this book to tweens.
          • applemango
            applemangoSaturday, May 25, 2019 at 11:48 am44 stars
            This is a girl named Margaret and when she moves to countryside from new york she meets new friends like Nancy. Then they form a group which they have to write down which boy they like and such. Margaret is struggling to also find what religion shes is in also. This is a very fun book.
            • oofFriday, March 22, 2019 at 10:29 am
              This book is soooo good. IT is by far one of the best books i have ever read. Im a straight up bookworm, so ive read alot of books.
              • lolThursday, October 11, 2018 at 4:05 pm
                Omg i just love these books i have all the book!!!
                • catslovewaffles
                  catslovewafflesThursday, February 8, 2018 at 11:24 am55 stars
                  This book is really good so far. I just started yesderday and I'm on chapter 10! That's how good it is. Seriously, read it.
                  • lovepuppy12
                    lovepuppy12Friday, December 1, 2017 at 3:31 pm55 stars
                    This book is amaizig I love Judy Blume
                    • blue511
                      blue511Friday, December 1, 2017 at 7:50 am44 stars
                      I thought this book was really good and liked the theme. This book was about a girl named Margaret, she was not born into a religion, but sometimes, she wishes she was. This book is about Margaret finding out who she is and following the trail of identity, along the way she makes a few new friends: Nancy, Gretchen, and Janie, they become good friends quickly and sware they'll tell each other everything. I liked this book very much, I enjoyed the concept and theme of the story, I would recommend it to anyone over the age of 10 who wants a light read.