Jason Blake is an autistic 12-year-old living in a neurotypical world. Most days it's just a matter of time before something goes wrong. But Jason finds a glimmer of understanding when he comes across PhoenixBird, who posts stories to the same online site as he does.

Jason can be himself when he writes and he thinks that PhoneixBird-her name is Rebecca-could be his first real friend. But as desperate as Jason is to met her, he's terrified that if they do meet, Rebecca wil only see his autism and not who Jason really is.
By acclaimed writer Nora Raleigh Baskin, this is the breathtaking depiction of an autistic boy's struggles-and a story for anyone who has ever worried about fitting in.
Paperback, 208 pages
Published on March 9, 2010 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 1416995005
ISBN-13: 9781416995005
55 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • classifiedThursday, April 6, 2017 at 9:53 am
    In the book ,Nothing but Typical, made by Nora Raleigh Baskin, a kid named jason suffers from autism and needs to deal with real life situations. But his life is different than most. He hardly talks and is very good at writing. In this story we go into the mind of a kid with autism. The setting of the book anything but typical is mostly in his school and at his house but later in the story jason goes to a stary board club that he always wanted to go to. Jason is a vary troubled kid and needs help. Even though he has autism he is a very nice kid. His parents are very nice to jason and his nice younger brother jeremy is also very good to jason. I like how the author describes how jason thinks and how he lives life with more going on in his head than in real life. It really shows you his innerself other than the kid with autism. In the book anything but typical jason said,“The best part about jeremy is i don’t ever have to answer him, not with words anyway. And i don’t ever have to look him in the face. He doesn’t even want me too.” This book really made me think about how the kid with autism feels and how bad the kids life must be with autism. It shows his mind from his perspective and his conflicts are a lot more interesting from his view point.
    • Meme masterThursday, April 6, 2017 at 9:48 am
      this book smells good so I like it
      • AltayebThursday, April 6, 2017 at 9:48 am
        Anything but typical is the best book i ever read. Hands down.
        • ElizabethWednesday, April 5, 2017 at 11:07 am
          Nora Raleigh Baskin, the author of Anything but Typical takes the reader on a journey all about Jason Blake’s life. The main characters in Anything but Typical are Jason Blake the autistic 12 year old and his friend Seth who is always by Jason’s side. The setting in Anything but Typical is in 2 places in Connecticut. One of the places is the Middle School that Jason goes to along with his house. Readers are introduced to Jason who had ASD which is a type of autism. The author shares the struggles Jason encounters by putting him in your shoes. She explains how people think of him differently and act like just because of his disorder he is some sort of alien from another planet. Nora’s writing style is very slow and boring but still gives you a good laugh about the weird things that Jason does. Nora writes the story in first person. She uses a lot of I me and my and also makes you feel like you are there with him. Nora also engages you and takes you on the journey through Jason’s life. The setting is in Jason’s school along with his house. One quote that Nora says in her book that is really inspiring is, “ When I write, I can be heard. And known. But nobody has to look at me. Nobody has to see me at all.” Anything but Typical made me take a journey through Jason’s life and made me feel what it's like to have a disability such as ASD (Autistic spectrum disorder.)I feel like I am there with Jason encountering all of his struggles with him. It was a great experience through the eyes of a autistic 12 year old. Anything but Typical won the Schneider Family Book Award in 2010. Her books are based off of real life and about the time of when her mother committed suicide.
          • Victoria Wednesday, April 5, 2017 at 11:07 am
            Nora Raleigh Baskin, the author of Anything but Typical-2010, takes her reader to a life of a boy. Jason Blake he is the main character as the author takes you through a journey of his weird/hard life. Jason is at school as he gets into fights and learns. He is at home as trouble comes. Finally when he is at Seth’s house in connecticut the trouble starts to boil. Jason is a normal kid except he has a disease!!! You follow his life adventure and troubles and you explore his life. This book is in first person and it makes it very affective because you feel like you are there and first you get the story of what happened and then Jason explained/talks about what he thinks about this and states his opinion. “After I kicked Seth, and he fell, and then somebody stepped on a lot of his CDs. Aunt Carol came running up the stairs. My mother was right behind her. Seth was yelling so much, so loud. The cracking of the CD covers. The thumping of the footsteps on the stairs. Heels clicking on the wooden floor coming closer. Harsh snapping of hard plastic.” Anything but typical made me cry, laugh, feel mad, feel sad, and feel mad. It is full of emotions! I think that if you look books that are very understanding and in one place then this is not a good book for you. But if you like books that are complicated, confusing, and are always in different places then you should definitely read this wonderful book. Personally I love every part of the book. Anything but Typical won a Schneider family book award. Nora is kind and worked together with many people to make and publish this amazing book.
            • tiffatree
              tiffatreeWednesday, April 5, 2017 at 11:06 am
              Anything But Typical by Nora Raleigh Baskin shows readers the life of a boy who has autism who goes through his extraordinary life. The main characters in Anything But Typical is Jason Blake the 12 year old boy with autism and but has his love of writing , Mom Blake who is always looking out for Jason, Dad Blake, who is always looking out for him to accept more relaxed that mom, Jeremy Blake jason little brother who is kind of his handy man. In Anything But Typical it takes place in school and at home where he thinks about himself and where at school he struggles with some problems.The readers are introduced to a boy named Jason Blake and he is an autistic boy which sometimes being autistic gets in the way of his life but he can learn sometimes to deal with it, and he has the passion with writing especially on story board where he meets a girl named ¨ PhoenixBird¨ . Nora Raleigh Baskin writing style is like someone telling you about their life it makes me feel like connected because sometimes i can relate to his situation, and they way he goes around with his life and the process he goes through inside his mind, how he overcomes some of his problems and greatest fears. ¨When i look down, I see them. It looks like snow, besides my desk. I know we learned that no two snowflakes are exactly the same. Of the billions and hundreds of billions, no two are exactly the same.¨ ¨ They both have short red hair, I can't tell them apart. So i don try.¨ Anything but Typical is a book that you can relate to with all of Jason twists and turns is situations while still living life. Anything But Typical won the Scheneider Family Book Award.
              • mjarrubes24
                mjarrubes24Wednesday, April 5, 2017 at 11:06 am
                Nora Raleigh Baskin the author of Anything but Typical, creates a story that will change your mind,about how you think of everything.-The book’s main character is Jason. He has autism. He has no friends because people think he is weird. The book happened in Connecticut the places where he went was ( his house, seth’s house, school). There is lots of conflicts in the story,and Jason always gives you a piece of his mind. I like how the book is written in first person.It makes you feel like you're talking to the character, and not just someone telling you a story.A quote from the book is “I will try to tell my story in their language, in your language”.What he is saying is that because he has autism it’s hard for him to communicate with people, so he was going to try, so that he can understand.The book Anything But Typical makes you feel what the character is feeling and makes you want to keep reading to find out what happens next.Somethings about the author is Nora Raleigh Baskin is a award winning writer for schneider family book award.She has been writing since she was in 6th grade.
                • vikcyWednesday, April 5, 2017 at 11:05 am
                  Nora Raleigh Baskin, the author of Anything but Typical-2010, takes her reader to a life of a boy. Jason Blake he is the main character as the author takes you through a journey of his weird/hard life. Jason is at school as he gets into fights and learns. He is at home as trouble comes. Finally when he is at Seth’s house in connecticut the trouble starts to boil. Jason is a normal kid except he has a disease!!! You follow his life adventure and troubles and you explore his life. This book is in first person and it makes it very affective because you feel like you are there and first you get the story of what happened and then Jason explained/talks about what he thinks about this and states his opinion. “After I kicked Seth, and he fell, and then somebody stepped on a lot of his CDs. Aunt Carol came running up the stairs. My mother was right behind her. Seth was yelling so much, so loud. The cracking of the CD covers. The thumping of the footsteps on the stairs. Heels clicking on the wooden floor coming closer. Harsh snapping of hard plastic.” Anything but typical made me cry, laugh, feel mad, feel sad, and feel mad. It is full of emotions! I think that if you look books that are very understanding and in one place then this is not a good book for you. But if you like books that are complicated, confusing, and are always in different places then you should definitely read this wonderful book. Personally I love every part of the book. Anything but Typical won a Schneider family book award. Nora is kind and worked together with many people to make and publish this amazing book.
                  • girlpower13
                    girlpower13Wednesday, April 5, 2017 at 11:05 am
                    “Anything But Typical” was written by Nora Raleigh Baskin which shows the experience of a kid with ASD. It takes place at typical middle school in Connecticut on the present day. The main character, Jason, is a writer, so his parents are going to invite him to a writing convention. Jason writes on a website called StoryBird, so he is going to a StoryBird convention. But, once he finds out his friend on the website is going, he changes his mind! He is too scared to make a fool out of himself at the convention in Texas, but when his dad already bought the tickets, things got tricker. Will Jason be able to shove his way out of this sticky situation? Though, Jason Blake isn’t your typical middle school kid, he actually has a disorder called ASD, a type of autism. Though that doesn’t stop him from getting creative! He has a neotropical family, his little brother Jeremy(who understands his issue and is always looking up to him), and his loving mother and father who support him all the way as Jason goes through his mindblowing experience of having a life with ASD. The author, Nora writes in the third person. She makes you feel like you are in the shoes of Jason, it’s like you are experiencing the things he is, which only make the book more effective and anything but typical. Nora made the book different, she gave some quotes that were pretty straight out there, like so, “Even the fan whirring on the ceiling of the room is yelling at me in a mechanical voice that has no words.” and “And then one day while he was taking a walk, one of the air hoses in his suit had a malfunction and the man died right on the street. He suffocated in his own invention that was designed to protect him.”. Wondering why things like these were written, read the book to find out! I personally thought the book was confusing in the beginning, but interesting. It goes through the life of an interesting kid and in the end was happy I had a chance to read it afterwards! Anything but typical made me feel for the character. It brought the book to life and almost made me cry. The situations are relatable so it is really effective and is an adventure for anyone who reads. Nora had won an award for her book, the SCHNEIDER FAMILY BOOK AWARD for anything but typical. She also wrote the book The Truth About My Bat Mitzvah and other books made for young adults and some children.
                    • king_khan_ye
                      king_khan_yeWednesday, April 5, 2017 at 11:02 am
                      Anything But Typical by Nora Raleigh Baskin takes the readers to the like of an autistic child named Jason Blake. She really makes you feel like you are Jason in the book in his autistic world.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      parkorcheeta

                      i love this book it is vary hear...
                      Counting by 7s

                      parkorcheeta

                      this book is the best book i hav...
                      Wonder

                      readingtwinsies

                      This book is about a girl whose ...
                      Wish

                      barisaxisbeast

                      I think the is very sad but some...
                      Among the Hidden (Shadow Childre...