Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.48056
This riveting novel in verse, perfect for fans of Jacqueline Woodson and Toni Morrison, explores American history and race through the eyes of a teenage boy embracing his newfound identity

Connor’s grandmother leaves his dad a letter when she dies, and the letter’s confession shakes their tight-knit Italian-American family: The man who raised Dad is not his birth father.

But the only clues to this birth father’s identity are a class ring and a pair of pilot’s wings. And so Connor takes it upon himself to investigate—a pursuit that becomes even more pressing when Dad is hospitalized after a stroke. What Connor discovers will lead him and his father to a new, richer understanding of race, identity, and each other.
Hardcover, 128 pages
Published on January 12, 2016 by Dial Books
ISBN-10: 0803733054
ISBN-13: 9780803733053
1 Book Review
  • marvan1617
    marvan1617almost 5 years
    I read the book American Ace written by Marilyn Nelson. It takes place at Connor’s school and home. This book is unique because it is not written like other books. It’s written like a bunch of poems. Connor’s dad taught him how to drive when he was in Middle School. When Connor’s grandmother died, his dad found a letter from her that said his dad was not his real father. When Conner found out about this he tried to find information about his real grandfather. He did this because he wanted to make his dad happy again. Connor found out that his real grandfather was a pilot during World War II. I think that if you like to read about history then you will like this book. There was some adventure. I think Middle School kids would like this book because Connor was in Middle School.