Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 5Q5.039959
#1 New York Times bestselling author Meg Cabot's middle grade debut!

When nine-year-old Allie Finkle's parents announce that they are moving her and her brothers from their suburban split-level into an ancient Victorian in town, Allie's sure her life is over. She's not at all happy about having to give up her pretty pink wall-to-wall carpeting for creaky floorboards and creepy secret passageways-not to mention leaving her modern, state-of-the-art suburban school for a rundown, old-fashioned school just two blocks from her new house.
Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on March 1, 2008 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545039479
ISBN-13: 9780545039475
20 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • dyjadatyse
    dyjadatyseTuesday, November 14, 2017 at 11:19 am
    Allie is moving to a new town for her mom and dads work. Allies best friend Mary Kay is a cry baby and is not very respectful to Allie. Allie just meet a new girl named Erica. I don't know how close Erica and Allie are going to get, but I am excited to find out.
    • readwriter
      readwriterFriday, July 24, 2015 at 2:08 pm55 stars
      Allie learns her family is moving. The house they are going to move to is old and needs repairs. But then Allie learns there is a girl her age living next door and there's a really nice teacher that she might get. Does she want to move or not?
      • PolinaThursday, May 7, 2015 at 5:45 pm
        I love how simple the story was but was very well written.
        • edmodo-rmyguwk2kz
          edmodo-rmyguwk2kzWednesday, June 11, 2014 at 10:03 pm55 stars
          I read this because Meg Cabot is my most favorite author and all the books by her is awesome! And also I had to move to Arizona from my most favorite state int eh world; Pennsylvania! :(
          • headream100
            headream100Thursday, January 23, 2014 at 9:13 pm44 stars
            It's a good book. I liked it very much!
            • MeganThursday, January 10, 2013 at 3:45 pm
              OMG! This is the best book ever! It's about Allie finkle who moves and goes to a new school and she has a tough time but she makes friends with her neighbor and her friends. And every chapter is another rule for girls. They should so make a movie for this! If you are a girl you should read this book!
              • lillianna765
                lillianna765Friday, January 4, 2013 at 5:47 pm55 stars
                I read a book just like this, just called "Drama Queens and the Great Fake Out" or something. It was good so I decided to give this one a try.
                • 5hdechant
                  5hdechantTuesday, December 18, 2012 at 6:07 am55 stars
                  it is a good book so far. hope you will enjoy it to!
                  • pandaSaturday, December 15, 2012 at 9:16 am
                    cool
                    • 5hdechant
                      5hdechantFriday, December 14, 2012 at 12:58 pm55 stars
                      It looks like a good book! I got it at rif today!