Allegiant (Divergent)

Book 3 of 3 in the Divergent Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 4 - 6n/a5.7110354

The explosive conclusion to Veronica Roth's #1 New York Times bestselling Divergent trilogy reveals the secrets of the dystopian world that captivated millions of readers and film fans in Divergent and Insurgent.

One choice will define you. What if your whole world was a lie? What if a single revelation—like a single choice—changed everything? What if love and loyalty made you do things you never expected?

Told from a riveting dual perspective, this third installment in the series follows Tris and Tobias as they battle to comprehend the complexities of human nature—and their selves—while facing impossible choices of courage, allegiance, sacrifice, and love.

And don't miss Veronica Roth’s thrilling novel Carve the Mark .

Paperback, 592 pages
Published on January 19, 2016 by Katherine Tegen Books
ISBN-10: 0062024078
ISBN-13: 9780062024077
118 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • bluehorse3
    bluehorse3Thursday, May 25, 2017 at 3:16 pm55 stars
    **Spoiler Alert--many spoilers included** After helping to release and watching the video of Edith Prior, Tris is convinced that she must see what is outside of the fence. This is provided with some challenges because Tris is technically under arrest for committing treason by trying to release the video. Also, with Evelyn leading the whole city with strict laws and very little freedom, Tris can't leave very easily. She and Tobias create a plan to escape with Cara, co leader of the new formered group the Allegiant, Christina, Tori, Uriah, and Peter. With some help from the other leader of the Allegiant, Johanna, former representative of Amity, Tris, Tobias, Cara, Christina, Uriah, and Peter make it outside of the fence. When they are outside of the city, the group soon discovers that their lives in the city were constantly being monitored because they were a living experiment lead by the Bureau of Genetic Welfare. How does the group act? Why were Tris and Tobias an experiment? And how does David, the director of the Bureau, know Tris's mother? Read Allegiant to find out!! but first, read Divergent and Insurgent!!
    • vegantarian
      vegantarianFriday, April 21, 2017 at 6:54 am55 stars
      this book was so good, but sad at the same time i cried on the end lmao. The Divergent series is amazing, now i just have to watch the movie!
      • rider016
        rider016Monday, March 6, 2017 at 1:22 pm44 stars
        It is a great book containing slight humour, romance and of course thriller action. The book itself is amazing and structure carefully. There is nothing better than the divergent series in my eyes , even compared to the Hunger games. The city of Chicago is mesmerising and Veronica gives us a clear view of the life within. Her use of adjectives and metaphors also emphasises Tris's personality and the same with Four. His past is awful and the bonds he forms with the people here are great. You can see everything described and also feel it for youself for the choices you make are also seen within the book. I would recommend this to most people if you love mystery and futuristic technology. Thank you.
        • adeleMonday, December 12, 2016 at 10:11 am
          last book is still good but a bit confusing,but the movie is horibel it dosen't follow the plot at all
          • boonie
            boonieMonday, November 28, 2016 at 1:30 pm55 stars
            I saw the first movie and I fell in love with it on the spot. I knew that books were better than movies or at least in my opinion so I looked for it in my local library at school. I loved it more so after I finished it in three days I read the next book and Allegiant and Four. I would recommend these(if you have not already read them) especially if you love romance, action, drama, and a good laugh.
            • divergent83
              divergent83Saturday, July 9, 2016 at 3:28 am55 stars
              i saw the movie that was awesome totally recommend it for year 4 and over any other books please comment the book
              • kaate
                kaateThursday, June 9, 2016 at 10:39 am55 stars
                I love it. But something I wasn't expecting happened. I cried at the end, its sad but I still think its a great book. This series is one of the best ones I have ever read. Thanks author for writing this book!
                • inventor60
                  inventor60Thursday, November 17, 2016 at 7:07 pm
                  I did too!
                • beanblob
                  beanblobMonday, May 30, 2016 at 9:47 am55 stars
                  This is one of my FAVORITE series ever!!!!!!!!!!! If you get the special edition, you can take a test to see what faction you are in. I'm in DAUNTLESS!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This is the BEST BOOK IN THE WORLD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
                  • OliviaMonday, May 23, 2016 at 5:30 pm
                    I haven't read the whole book but so far Tris Prior just went out of the gate/wall and when she gets out of the wall she finds out a bunch of new things and she learns about her mom on this tablet thing and learns she was sent in Chicago to fix things.
                    • algebraqueen
                      algebraqueenFriday, May 20, 2016 at 5:12 am55 stars
                      It goes with the series!

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      S wrote:

                      Kronos is powerful because he is...
                      The Last Olympian (Percy Jackson...

                      kiwicuts24 wrote:

                      exciting, funny, you really glue...
                      Diary of a Wimpy Kid, Book 1

                      kiwicuts24 wrote:

                      Amazing book, amazing author, am...
                      Smile

                      Jeff wrote:

                      It is so good 😋😋😋😋😋🍫😍😂👍
                      Smile