Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 5 - 10n/a6.054493
An Amazon Best Book of the Month: July 2014
An Amazon Editors’ Pick for Middle Grade Summer Reading

“A scrumptious gem of a story!”—Jennifer A. Nielsen, New York Times bestselling author of The False Prince

Meet Gladys Gatsby: New York’s toughest restaurant critic. (Just don’t tell anyone that she’s in sixth grade.)

Gladys Gatsby has been cooking gourmet dishes since the age of seven, only her fast-food-loving parents have no idea! Now she’s eleven, and after a crème brûlée accident (just a small fire), Gladys is cut off from the kitchen (and her allowance). She’s devastated but soon finds just the right opportunity to pay her parents back when she’s mistakenly contacted to write a restaurant review for one of the largest newspapers in the world.

But in order to meet her deadline and keep her dream job, Gladys must cook her way into the heart of her sixth-grade archenemy and sneak into New York City—all while keeping her identity a secret! Easy as pie, right?
Hardcover, 288 pages
Published on July 10, 2014 by G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0399162526
ISBN-13: 9780399162527
9 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • CreativeCarlaSunday, October 28, 2018 at 1:49 am
    I enjoyed this book! I think it is for kids above 9
    • basketballneve
      basketballneveWednesday, April 11, 2018 at 9:38 am55 stars
      This book is awesome!
      • basketballneve
        basketballneveWednesday, April 11, 2018 at 9:37 am55 stars
        This book is AWESOME. For those who love baking this book is for you.The first chapter I fell in love with it.This book is for 4-10.
        • celekovymu
          celekovymuThursday, October 26, 2017 at 11:15 am55 stars
          Gladys really has a passion for cooking and she really persevers
          • foodie11
            foodie11Monday, January 9, 2017 at 1:36 pm55 stars
            Gladys Gatsby is an AMAZING cook. Problem is, nobody in her family cares. Also, she nearly burned her house down making creme brulee when her parents weren't home. So, when she learns a space has opened up for food reviewer at her local newspaper, she gets an idea. She sends a application, not mentioning she is only 12 years old. The hijinks that ensue after she gets the job are purely hilarious! I read the Stars of Summer and am currently reading Stars So Sweet. I LOVE this series and HIGHLY recommend it if you enjoy humor and food, like me.
            • Soccer4lifeTuesday, August 23, 2016 at 9:56 am
              First of all this I would die for this book! Not literally but I LOVED it! I think it is amazing that someone my age can be a food critic. Some things about this book are it is adventurous and hilarious. There are many more things I could say but I don't want to tell you the whole story. P.S there are more books in the series, i've read the next one and it is amazing too!
              • carorocks05
                carorocks05Tuesday, May 31, 2016 at 5:42 pm55 stars
                2 words LOVED IT!!!!!
                • pickypanda
                  pickypandaThursday, March 19, 2015 at 9:15 am55 stars
                  I absolutely love this book because a 11 year old cook? Cool. New York press? that's exciting. Five finger rule? yep I passed I'm going to check out this book. By the time I finish I'm wishing the sequel was out but 'alas' I'm going to have to wait. Good job Tara Dairman I love your books!
                  • carorocks05
                    carorocks05Tuesday, May 31, 2016 at 5:42 pm55 stars
                    i totally agree