Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.1124250
Jason tumbles into a quest to save a magical in this #1 New York Times bestselling start to Brandon Mull’s Beyonders fantasy series.

Jason Walker has often wished his life could be a bit less predictable—until a routine day at the zoo ends with Jason suddenly transporting from the hippo tank to a place unlike anything he's ever seen. In the past, the people of Lyrian welcomed visitors from the Beyond, but attitudes have changed since the wizard emperor Maldor rose to power. The brave resistors who opposed the emperor have been bought off or broken, leaving a realm where fear and suspicion prevail.

In his search for a way home, Jason meets Rachel, who was also mysteriously drawn to Lyrian from our world. With the help of a few scattered rebels, Jason and Rachel become entangled in a quest to piece together the word of power that can destroy the emperor, and learn that their best hope to find a way home will be to save this world without heroes.
Hardcover, 464 pages
Published on March 15, 2011 by Aladdin
ISBN-10: 141699792X
ISBN-13: 9781416997924
12 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Colton Thursday, June 13, 2019 at 8:35 am
    I really enjoyed the book it was amazing
    • xxjoemamaxx
      xxjoemamaxxFriday, April 10, 2015 at 9:46 am55 stars
      I got this book from Des Moines at the book store, so I had something to read so I am not bored. The main character gets sent to another deminsion from a hippo! Yes, he was swallowed by a HIPPO! He meets a musical group from a raft on a waterfall, he meets a blind king, he goes on many other adventures to solve the puzzle so he can return home.
      • smellyporkchop5000jr
        smellyporkchop5000jrMonday, March 2, 2015 at 12:57 pm
        best book ever!
        • smellyporkchop5000jr
          smellyporkchop5000jrMonday, March 2, 2015 at 12:56 pm
          i just finished this #socool!
          • braydencreekside
            braydencreeksideTuesday, April 29, 2014 at 8:30 pm
            This book was really good
            • gymnastluv2253
              gymnastluv2253Monday, April 14, 2014 at 4:10 pm55 stars
              This is totally awesome! If you are especially adventurous and is looking for a good book, you must try this action packed adventure. Brandon Mull is an awesome author, and just reading this makes me want to jump in a hippo tank and get transported to another world!
              • 3ac
                3acMonday, March 31, 2014 at 7:44 am55 stars
                Jason travels into another world. The people in that world call our world the Beyond. Maldor is the evil ruler. Find out if Jason defeats him!
                • arc33
                  arc33Sunday, March 30, 2014 at 6:27 pm55 stars
                  The book was really good! My mom said I should read it but I wasn't sure if I wanted to. Then when I went to the library I got it.
                  • madyThursday, February 6, 2014 at 7:56 am
                    this is one of the best books ever if you like adventure read it cant wait to read the rest of the series!!!!!!!!!!!
                    • elsa123
                      elsa123Thursday, February 6, 2014 at 7:47 am55 stars
                      This book is perfect of those of you out there that like fantasy, adventure, and lots of humour. This is the first book in the "Beyonders" and by the great author who also wrote the series "Fablehaven". If you have read that series, you will totally love this one! It is about a boy who travels to another dimension, and faces many dangers and challenges while trying to get home. Will he find a way home? Find out for yourself! Read "Beyonders"!!!!!!!