Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 8W5.657572
The three Cheeseman children, their father, and their psychic dog are all on the run. From whom? Well the CIA, naturally. But also corporate agents #5, #29, and # 207, plus two international superspies -- one of whom happens to be a chimpanzee. They all want Dr. Cheeseman and his late wife's greatest invention–a machine with unspeakable powers–OK, I'll say it. It's a time machine. But it's not working right yet, so put all ideas of time travel out of your head.

Instead, please enjoy this high stakes, high action, hijinx-filled chase, and the bizarre characters our Cheeseman friends will meet as they protect not just their parents' invention, but their mother's sacred memory. It's an adventure novel like no other.

Oh yeah, and did we mention the entertaining, plot-exposition filled, unsolicited advice you'll receive along the way? So you didn't ask for it? Yeah, that's why it's unsolicited.

Unsolicited Advice #1: Read this book.
Hardcover, 272 pages
Published on January 1, 2010 by Bloomsbury USA Childrens
ISBN-10: 1599904357
ISBN-13: 9781599904351
9 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • muffin55
    muffin55Wednesday, April 8, 2015 at 2:54 pm55 stars
    It is a funny story with interesting and funny characters each with different personalities. I really am liking this book. In the story a family on the run from patent stealing criminals try to go back in time to save their mother from getting killed by a sickness .Good luck to the Cheeseman family !
    • seanx2000
      seanx2000Tuesday, October 28, 2014 at 3:11 pm55 stars
      AMAZINGLY BRILLIANTLY AWESOME
      • happypug12
        happypug12Friday, October 10, 2014 at 4:26 am
        In the end, I never got to read this!
        • happypug12
          happypug12Friday, October 10, 2014 at 4:25 am
          I was going to read this book because I accidentilly got the 3rd book!
          • happypug12
            happypug12Friday, October 10, 2014 at 4:26 am
            In the end, I never got to read this!
          • nikukyu
            nikukyuFriday, October 10, 2014 at 2:23 am55 stars
            This is one of my most favorite books because it is funny and has a amazing plot!!! It was just simply... GREAT!!!!!!!!!!! You guys should read it!
            • swagalicious
              swagaliciousTuesday, March 4, 2014 at 12:02 pm
              This book was really good and I went through it pretty quickly. It's all about a family that has three kids and a father named Mr. Cheeseman. When Mr. Cheeseman"s wife, Olivia, passes away,he has a brilliant idea to make a time machine (AKA the LVR)to bring back his beautiful wife and mother for the three. But, of course since it is a time machine, bad guys try to take it away. It's a really fun and quick book. I highly recommend it for all!
              • bookish5
                bookish5Friday, August 2, 2013 at 2:05 pm
                This was a quick read that I found very different from any other book I've read. It features a psychic dog, a time machine, and a man on the run from the CIA with his three kids. It was full of adventure and suspense and I also really enjoyed the sequel!
                • mrsmccarthy
                  mrsmccarthySaturday, January 7, 2012 at 1:38 pm
                  Very funny and well written story...I cannot wait to read the next one!