The Bad Beginning (A Series of Unfortunate Events, Book 1)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 5 - 10V6.424130

SOON TO BE A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIES

Are you made fainthearted by death? Does fire unnerve you? Is a villain something that might crop up in future nightmares of yours? Are you thrilled by nefarious plots? Is cold porridge upsetting to you? Vicious threats? Hooks? Uncomfortable clothing?

It is likely that your answers will reveal A Series of Unfortunate Events to be ill-suited for your personal use. A librarian, bookseller, or acquaintance should be able to suggest books more appropriate for your fragile temperament. But to the rarest of readers we say, "Proceed, but cautiously."

Kindle Edition, 324 pages
Published on November 1, 2011 by HarperCollins
186 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • 1234Sunday, September 22, 2019 at 3:56 pm
    I love this book
    • hedgeguin2
      hedgeguin2Sunday, June 9, 2019 at 8:14 am55 stars
      Series of Unfortunate Events-Book the First is a great book, filled with details. It’s not your happy and cheerful book. No it’s not. Instead, this book has very unfortunate events that the main characters, the Baudelaire children encounter. For example, their parents died in a horrible fire, and then they are sent to Count Olaf, who is a nasty man. You might think the ending is happy. You’re wrong. The book ends unhappily. But, this book has emotion and feeling to make you not stop reading. I reccommend it to anyone who doesn’t like happy and cheerful books!
      • spottedleaf_fan
        spottedleaf_fanSaturday, June 8, 2019 at 2:05 pm55 stars
        i luv this book!
        • sg123
          sg123Tuesday, May 21, 2019 at 5:57 pm55 stars
          Our teacher is read this book to us to read aloud at school and at every end of the chapter there was a cliff hanger and our teacher stopped and everyone screamed"noooooooooooooooooooooo"! This book is very very interesting to trust me.
          • mysteryturtle24
            mysteryturtle24Monday, May 13, 2019 at 2:13 pm55 stars
            This is a quite depressing book to read, as the back cover and introduction may warn you. And why wouldn't it be? It's a sad tale of three children who are orphaned and taken to live with their uncle that they've never heard of before: Count Olaf. He looks evil, with his tattoo of an eye on his ankle and his unibrow, and he is definitely up to something evil. I loved this book, though, as it's one of those that you have to read in one sitting. You just can't get up until it's done. I would recommend it, and the whole rest of the series, for all middle-schoolers, as I would rate it PG if it were a movie. You have been warned of the melancholy, though, so don't say I didn't.
            • gymzonia
              gymzoniaMonday, March 18, 2019 at 7:56 pm44 stars
              I read it for my second time because the first time i did not like it. It is a really good book though.
              • I love unicornsThursday, January 31, 2019 at 3:42 pm
                I wached the hole seris im wating for seson 4 and i like the book😍😍😍
                • GcookieWednesday, October 17, 2018 at 1:28 pm
                  The story was very interesting because many unexpected things happened. Its a really good book for children. The movie is amazing also.
                  • art3mis
                    art3misSaturday, June 23, 2018 at 11:06 am55 starsFeatured
                    Dear Reader, Although the lives of the Baudelaire orphans may be very unfortunate you reader are the exact opposite. If you hold this book in your hand let me tell you that you are very fortunate to have the ability to read this mysterious and jaw dropping tale. There are so many clues and hidden puzzles to decipher reader. That you may find questions unanswered pulling you towards the next book, and the next, and the next untill you find yourself at The End. But be warned this tale is one of misery and woe. So how could it be a good one? Well you should began your journey in the depths of this book to find out so. With all due respect, Art3mis Snicket
                    • bobluvr08
                      bobluvr08Monday, June 4, 2018 at 12:09 pm55 stars
                      It's very unique, and it's an amazing story. The only thing is, it's unfortunate