Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades K - 8Grade 5n/an/an/a

From New York Times bestselling author Shel Silverstein, the creator of the beloved poetry collections Where the Sidewalk Ends, Falling Up, and Every Thing On It, comes an imaginative book of poems and drawings—a favorite of Shel Silverstein fans young and old.

A Light in the Attic delights with remarkable characters and hilariously profound poems in a collection readers will return to again and again.

Here in the attic you will find Backward Bill, Sour Face Ann, the Meehoo with an Exactlywatt, and the Polar Bear in the Frigidaire. You will talk with Broiled Face, and find out what happens when Somebody steals your knees, you get caught by the Quick-Digesting Gink, a Mountain snores, and They Put a Brassiere on the Camel.

Come on up to the attic of Shel Silverstein and let the light bring you home.

Hardcover, 192 pages
Published on June 1, 2011 by Particular Books
ISBN-10: 1846143853
ISBN-13: 9781846143854
54 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • buffygirl
    buffygirlFriday, June 19, 2020 at 5:19 am55 stars
    this is one of my most favorite books i always keep it next to my bed so i can read whenever i want.i like this book because it is poetry and when i grow up i want to be a poet.my favorite poem is actions.it tells you the words and when you use them.
    • wiccanbat666
      wiccanbat666Monday, July 2, 2018 at 3:56 pm55 stars
      This collection of children's poems from Shel Silverstein is a real treat. Each of the creatures and characters is fascinating and never overly moralistically drawn. There are lots of laughs here -
      • bookstory14
        bookstory14Tuesday, May 22, 2018 at 6:38 pm55 stars
        This is another HILARIOUS Shel Silverstein book! I have read a couple others, but this is definitely original. Shel Silverstein could be Dr. Suess if he wrote shorter books-and just as famous too! All his books are really funny, and a lot of them include things that could never happen so they are good for kids. (I feel like adults like books about reality) I think this deserves a 5/5 without a second thought.
        • unknownWednesday, April 26, 2017 at 6:31 am
          this book is very good and i know goodest is not a word but i will still use it this is the goodest book ever
          • President DoggoTuesday, February 28, 2017 at 8:29 am
            This book is awesome! I love how it has so many poems. Even tho I am not a big fan of poetry, it's still good.
            • callaway2005
              callaway2005Thursday, January 19, 2017 at 7:47 am
              i hope this is a freebee soon plzzzzzzz
              • callaway2005
                callaway2005Thursday, January 19, 2017 at 7:41 am
                i really love this book and i really want it
                • gamerboiThursday, January 19, 2017 at 7:38 am
                  im in schooll right now
                  • candy frost 123Sunday, July 10, 2016 at 2:19 pm
                    have you ever red the book the light in the attic. in it has funny story`s. and it has like a bit of rumes in it.
                    • sophiazhang123
                      sophiazhang123Tuesday, June 7, 2016 at 4:15 pm
                      I read a million books that are poems by Shel Silverstein.