From New York Times bestselling author Shel Silverstein, the creator of the beloved poetry collections Where the Sidewalk Ends, Falling Up, and Every Thing On It, comes an imaginative book of poems and drawings—a favorite of Shel Silverstein fans young and old.

A Light in the Attic delights with remarkable characters and hilariously profound poems in a collection readers will return to again and again.

Here in the attic you will find Backward Bill, Sour Face Ann, the Meehoo with an Exactlywatt, and the Polar Bear in the Frigidaire. You will talk with Broiled Face, and find out what happens when Somebody steals your knees, you get caught by the Quick-Digesting Gink, a Mountain snores, and They Put a Brassiere on the Camel.

Come on up to the attic of Shel Silverstein and let the light bring you home.

Hardcover, 192 pages
Published on September 22, 2009 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0061905852
ISBN-13: 9780061905858
51 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • unknownWednesday, April 26, 2017 at 6:31 am
    this book is very good and i know goodest is not a word but i will still use it this is the goodest book ever
    • President DoggoTuesday, February 28, 2017 at 8:29 am
      This book is awesome! I love how it has so many poems. Even tho I am not a big fan of poetry, it's still good.
      • callaway2005
        callaway2005Thursday, January 19, 2017 at 7:47 am
        i hope this is a freebee soon plzzzzzzz
        • callaway2005
          callaway2005Thursday, January 19, 2017 at 7:41 am
          i really love this book and i really want it
          • gamerboiThursday, January 19, 2017 at 7:38 am
            im in schooll right now
            • candy frost 123Sunday, July 10, 2016 at 2:19 pm
              have you ever red the book the light in the attic. in it has funny story`s. and it has like a bit of rumes in it.
              • sophiazhang123
                sophiazhang123Tuesday, June 7, 2016 at 4:15 pm
                I read a million books that are poems by Shel Silverstein.
                • memoiloveit
                  memoiloveitTuesday, May 31, 2016 at 6:59 am
                  this is my favorite poem book because the poems are about unrealistic, funny, and imaginative things that the author writes creatively about
                  • babygirl_zee
                    babygirl_zeeThursday, April 14, 2016 at 4:22 pm
                    I love poem books. Especially ones that rhyme : (
                    • laylvefam
                      laylvefamThursday, April 7, 2016 at 4:03 pm55 stars
                      i love the poem book

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      aracha
                      aracha wrote:

                      This is one of my favorite books...
                      The Truth About Stacey: Full-Col...

                      alestr1718
                      alestr1718 wrote:

                      I'd love to read this.
                      Surviving High School: A Novel

                      Jake Paul wrote:

                      Losers I already read it. Hahaha...
                      Wimpy Kid Movie Diary: The Next ...

                      Adhgjlggejj wrote:

                      I have that book already!!!?!
                      The Dragon of Fortune (Geronimo ...