Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades K - 8Grade 5n/an/an/a

From New York Times bestselling author Shel Silverstein, the creator of the beloved poetry collections Where the Sidewalk Ends, Falling Up, and Every Thing On It, comes an imaginative book of poems and drawings—a favorite of Shel Silverstein fans young and old.

A Light in the Attic delights with remarkable characters and hilariously profound poems in a collection readers will return to again and again.

Here in the attic you will find Backward Bill, Sour Face Ann, the Meehoo with an Exactlywatt, and the Polar Bear in the Frigidaire. You will talk with Broiled Face, and find out what happens when Somebody steals your knees, you get caught by the Quick-Digesting Gink, a Mountain snores, and They Put a Brassiere on the Camel.

Come on up to the attic of Shel Silverstein and let the light bring you home.

Hardcover, 192 pages
Published on September 22, 2009 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0061905852
ISBN-13: 9780061905858
52 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • bookstory13
    bookstory13Tuesday, May 22, 2018 at 6:38 pm55 stars
    This is another HILARIOUS Shel Silverstein book! I have read a couple others, but this is definitely original. Shel Silverstein could be Dr. Suess if he wrote shorter books-and just as famous too! All his books are really funny, and a lot of them include things that could never happen so they are good for kids. (I feel like adults like books about reality) I think this deserves a 5/5 without a second thought.
    • unknownWednesday, April 26, 2017 at 6:31 am
      this book is very good and i know goodest is not a word but i will still use it this is the goodest book ever
      • President DoggoTuesday, February 28, 2017 at 8:29 am
        This book is awesome! I love how it has so many poems. Even tho I am not a big fan of poetry, it's still good.
        • callaway2005
          callaway2005Thursday, January 19, 2017 at 7:47 am
          i hope this is a freebee soon plzzzzzzz
          • callaway2005
            callaway2005Thursday, January 19, 2017 at 7:41 am
            i really love this book and i really want it
            • gamerboiThursday, January 19, 2017 at 7:38 am
              im in schooll right now
              • candy frost 123Sunday, July 10, 2016 at 2:19 pm
                have you ever red the book the light in the attic. in it has funny story`s. and it has like a bit of rumes in it.
                • sophiazhang123
                  sophiazhang123Tuesday, June 7, 2016 at 4:15 pm
                  I read a million books that are poems by Shel Silverstein.
                  • memoiloveit
                    memoiloveitTuesday, May 31, 2016 at 6:59 am
                    this is my favorite poem book because the poems are about unrealistic, funny, and imaginative things that the author writes creatively about
                    • mixed_girl
                      mixed_girlThursday, April 14, 2016 at 4:22 pm
                      I love poem books. Especially ones that rhyme : (

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      e06
                      e06 wrote:

                      This is perfect for summer! I l...
                      The Penderwicks: A Summer Tale o...

                      applemango
                      applemango wrote:

                      To me this book just seemed unin...
                      Rump: The True Story of Rumpelst...

                      applemango
                      applemango wrote:

                      The reason why, in the first pla...
                      Samantha Spinner and the Super-S...

                      MYSTERYGAL7 wrote:

                      So good and it was really relata...
                      Ghosts