Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 12Z5.244247

From New York Times bestselling author Lauren DeStefano comes a delightful tale of a girl who can talk to ghosts that’s perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and Holly Black.

Pram Bellamy is special--she can talk to ghosts. She doesn't have too many friends amongst the living, but that's all right. She has her books, she has her aunts, and she has her best friend, the ghostly Felix.

Then Pram meets Clarence, a boy from school who has also lost a parent and is looking for answers. Together they arrive at the door of the mysterious Lady Savant, who promises to help. But this spiritualist knows the true nature of Pram's power, and what she has planned is more terrifying than any ghost.

New York Times bestselling author Lauren DeStefano is beloved by critics and readers alike, and her middle grade debut is lyrical, evocative and not to be missed.

Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on September 1, 2015 by Bloomsbury USA Childrens
ISBN-10: 161963600X
ISBN-13: 9781619636002
22 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • rainbowbrite32
    rainbowbrite32Tuesday, May 23, 2017 at 1:57 pm44 stars
    is really good!!
    • rainbowbrite32
      rainbowbrite32Tuesday, May 23, 2017 at 1:53 pm44 stars
      So mysterious! Adventurous! Cliff hanging! AWESOME!!
      • rainbowbrite32
        rainbowbrite32Tuesday, May 23, 2017 at 1:42 pm44 stars
        This book gave me nightmares, but it was soooo worth it!!
        • livandlena
          livandlenaSaturday, April 30, 2016 at 9:47 am55 stars
          I LOVE THIS BOOK. ITS MYSTERIOUS
          • olliebob
            olliebobWednesday, December 30, 2015 at 8:33 am55 starsFeatured
            This book is a tale of life's biggest trial; death. Pram Bellamy sees ghosts, can hear ghosts, and can talk to them. It started when she was very young, she would see the ghosts of insects. Then she met a ghost boy named Felix. Felix was her friend almost her whole life. Her aunts just thought he was an imaginary friend. She lived with her aunts because her mother died during labor. Pram never met her father or her mother. Pram died the day of her birth, but the doctors brought her back to life. Being in between life and death gave her the ability to see ghosts. One day, after being homeschooled all her life, she must go to school. At school, she meets Clarence Blue, and quickly befriends him. His mother died when he was young too. He is trying to find the ghost of his mother, which leads them to the spiritualist, Lady Savant. After that, thing start becoming strange. What will happen next? You'll have to read the book to find out.
            • rainbowbrite32
              rainbowbrite32Tuesday, May 23, 2017 at 1:54 pm44 stars
              Wow, that is very detailed. You are right.
              • olliebob
                olliebobFriday, May 18, 2018 at 8:40 am55 stars
                Thanks!
            • vanesahenderson
              vanesahendersonWednesday, October 14, 2015 at 12:54 pm55 stars
              LOOKS SO GOOD
              • the_queen
                the_queenTuesday, October 6, 2015 at 6:06 am
                omg I want to read this I wish this is a movie
                • rainbowbrite32
                  rainbowbrite32Tuesday, May 23, 2017 at 1:55 pm44 stars
                  Um, u could read it instead of watch it. dont be lazy.
                  • neonbook
                    neonbookWednesday, October 14, 2015 at 10:05 am55 stars
                    Yeah same here!!
                  • the_queen
                    the_queenMonday, October 5, 2015 at 2:06 am
                    looks good
                    • antcas
                      antcasThursday, September 24, 2015 at 7:34 am
                      This looks like a good book.
                      • brinew
                        brinewTuesday, September 22, 2015 at 1:16 pm
                        I haven't read this yet but it sounds super good