Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 3 - 7n/an/an/an/a
The #1 New York Times bestselling creator of Amulet, Kazu Kibuishi, hails this first book in this groundbreaking sci-fi/fantasy adventure series as “a magical journey, as fun as it is beautiful!” Think Star Wars meets Avatar: The Last Airbender!

The Five Worlds are on the brink of extinction unless five ancient and mysterious beacons are lit. When war erupts, three unlikely heroes will discover there’s more to themselves—and more to their worlds—than meets the eye. . . .

• The clumsiest student at the Sand Dancer Academy, Oona Lee is a fighter with a destiny bigger than she could ever imagine.

• A boy from the poorest slums, An Tzu has a surprising gift and a knack for getting out of sticky situations.

• Star athlete Jax Amboy is beloved by an entire galaxy, but what good is that when he has no real friends?

When these three kids are forced to team up on an epic quest, it will take not one, not two, but 5 WORLDS to contain all the magic and adventure!

“This stellar team has created a gorgeous and entrancing world like no other!” Noelle Stevenson, New York Times bestselling author of Nimona

“Epic action, adventure, and mystery will draw you in, but the heartfelt characters and their seemingly impossible journey will keep you turning the pages.” —Lisa Yee, author of the DC Super Hero Girls™ series

Hardcover, 256 pages
Published on May 2, 2017 by Random House Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 1101935863
ISBN-13: 9781101935866
17 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • pixelthegreat
    pixelthegreatSaturday, June 8, 2019 at 11:14 am
    I wan't to see what happens to the captives in book two and see if they can get out.
    • auntieb
      auntiebWednesday, May 29, 2019 at 3:32 pm55 stars
      This book is about Oona, who can't seem to do anything right and is only known by the fact that her sister almost became the Sand Warrior until she ran away. Everyone know Oona will not be able to follow in that path. But fate has a way of twisting things around.
      • auntieb
        auntiebMonday, November 19, 2018 at 3:01 pm55 starsFeatured
        This book is absolutely amazing!!! I decided to read this book since it was featured in the Barnes and Noble Hangout in September, I am so glad I did! This book is about a girl named Oona Lee, who is the clumsiest Sand Dancer ever, Oona can't control her basic aniforms. Oona feels awful, since her older sister Jessa was the best Sand Dancer ever and she was supposed to light the sand beacon, until she ran away. Now Oona is compared to Jessa ALL the time. Oona has a destiny she doesn't think would EVER be possible. When Oona pairs up with Starball Champion Jax Amboy and Anh Tzu from the slums, who knows, maybe they can save all 5 Worlds!
        • swirlycool
          swirlycoolSaturday, October 14, 2017 at 1:47 pm55 starsFeatured
          "The five worlds are on the brink of extinction unless five ancient and mysterious beacons are lit." This book must have taken lots of work and creativity to publish! Oona Lee, the clumsiest student at Sand Dancer Accademy, did not know she would have a destiny like this. She did not know that her sister would become an evil Toki trying to stop the beacons from lighting. Especially if your sister was the best sand dancer at the academy. I felt this book a little hard to understand at first, but later I quickly caught onto the plot and idea, and I have to admit, this is a very original story! I rate this 5/5 because of originality and good illustrations. I recommend this book to action and maybe mystery readers.
          • deoxys920
            deoxys920Wednesday, May 17, 2017 at 1:59 pm
            great book
            • ghghWednesday, May 17, 2017 at 8:30 am
              a love this book it reminds me of anime
              • HUDATuesday, May 16, 2017 at 3:35 pm
                IT GOOD
                • helloTuesday, May 16, 2017 at 2:21 pm
                  gee i really want to get this book!
                  • oman83
                    oman83Monday, May 15, 2017 at 12:28 pm55 stars
                    just one of the best books ever
                    • nut3lla
                      nut3llaWednesday, May 10, 2017 at 11:24 am
                      I just want a badge