This collection of heartwarming and surprising true tales celebrate heroic animals who saved the day, impart important lessons, and can inspire us to help change the world.

Heroes come in all shapes and sizes -- and many hail from the animal kingdom! Get ready to meet animals that made significant contributions to mankind and accomplished great things in their lifetimes. From top dog Sergeant Stubby, who earned a medal for his brave actions in World War I, to Winter, the courageous dolphin who received a prosthetic tail, this collection of short stories is inspirational, hilarious, and action-packed. Each tale is paired with amazing National Geographic photos and loads of animal facts to offer tons of fuzzy, furry, feathery fun on every page.

Paperback, 112 pages
Published on May 28, 2019 by National Geographic Children's Books
ISBN-10: 1426332777
ISBN-13: 9781426332777
15 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • lawalex
    lawalexThursday, March 19, 2020 at 9:33 am55 starsFeatured
    I actually won this book from DOGO, and I read it over and over! There are so many cool stories! My favorite is when someone left a cat in a library drop-box and the librarian took it in as the library’s mascot. (It is on the last page you can turn to, bottom left) I TOTALLY recommend this book!
    • me book fanWednesday, December 4, 2019 at 11:47 am
      its so intresting and fun
      • ryanzgamingzyt2
        ryanzgamingzyt2Tuesday, November 12, 2019 at 3:37 pm44 stars
        penguins need respect STOP OIL SPILLS!!! who is with me?
        • Super dogSunday, August 4, 2019 at 1:49 pm
          Why did there hamsters turn super hamster? These animal books are so crazy! What happens at the end and the start is your flying dolphin power!
          • wolfdog
            wolfdogSunday, August 4, 2019 at 12:03 pm55 stars
            I think this is really great, I mean try it. It should have 5 stars not 4! WHO IS WITH ME
            • AnnemijnMonday, July 29, 2019 at 9:00 am
              This is good
              • wolfdog
                wolfdogWednesday, July 17, 2019 at 7:21 am55 stars
                This book is incredible, it really does teach us that animals can make an amazing impact in our society, I applaud all of you critters out there, especially the ones who have gone to war with us and who have saved many lives. I just wanted to say, thank you.
                • RikoLeeetThursday, July 11, 2019 at 10:27 am
                  Belive me it's going to make me cry
                  • HellySunday, July 7, 2019 at 4:49 am
                    I like it♥️
                    • ymajr17
                      ymajr17Friday, June 21, 2019 at 6:00 am33 stars
                      belive me it's going to make me cry