Welcome to Wonderland #2: Beach Party Surf Monkey

Book 2 of 4 in the Welcome to Wonderland Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 3 - 7Grade 5n/a4.540403
“Outrageous hijinks and nonstop hilarity—five-stars!" —Lincoln Peirce, author of the Big Nate series

From the bestselling author of Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library and coauthor with James Patterson of I Funny, House of Robots, and Treasure Hunters, comes the second hilarious, fun-in-the-sun adventure in his illustrated series about all the wacky things that happen when you live in a motel!

There’s always something wacky happening when you live in a motel, and P.T. (named after P. T. Barnum, of course) has grown up at the world’s wackiest! When word gets out that the hottest teen idols in Hollywood (plus current YouTube sensation Kevin the Monkey!) will be filming their next movie—Beach Party Surf Monkey—right in St. Pete’s Beach, Florida, P.T. and his friend Gloria know that the Wonderland would be the perfect location. Now they just have to convince the producers!

But when things start to go wrong (crazed fans? missing stars?), it will take all of Gloria’s business genius and P.T.’s wild stories to save the movie before both it and the Wonderland are all washed up!

BONUS: Includes fun extras like P.T. and Gloria’s Famous Fact-or-Fiction Quiz: Movie Edition

Here's What People are saying about Welcome to Wonderland!

“Outrageous hijinks and nonstop hilarity—five-stars! Kids who check into this madcap motel will want to stay forever!” —Lincoln Peirce, author of the Big Nate series

"So funny I fell off my bed!"--Izzy B., age 10

"Classic Grabenstein. The mystery should satisfy Grabenstein’s “Mr. Lemoncello” followers, and the humor and visuals will appeal to fans of his collaborations with James Patterson. This new series should be a hit."—School Library Journal

“A delight. P.T. is a hoot and a half. A funny, madcap dash."—Kirkus Reviews

“Charm galore. Easy and breezy, this well-paced novel . . . belongs in the hands of any readers wanting their bad guys bad, their good guys great, and a little of Wonderland’s promised fun in the sun.”The Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books
Paperback, 320 pages
Published on April 3, 2018 by Yearling
ISBN-10: 0553536133
ISBN-13: 9780553536133
8 Book Reviews
  • pinklilcow
    pinklilcowSunday, March 7, 2021 at 7:43 am55 stars
    Looks good!
    • hamstergirl11
      hamstergirl11Wednesday, December 23, 2020 at 7:27 am55 stars
      This book is the most funny book in the entire Welcome to Wonderland series. I enjoyed dit very much and can't wait to read the rest of the books. you most definitely need to read this. I totally think this is worth two hours. This is a good light read and the characters stay the same and are better than ever!!
      • pinklilcow
        pinklilcowWednesday, November 25, 2020 at 2:08 pm55 stars
        I love to surf so i loved the is book!
        • blossomreader
          blossomreaderWednesday, November 25, 2020 at 12:48 pm44 stars
          This is the second book in the Wonderland series by Chris Grabenstein, and you don't want to miss it! P.T has found out that a new movie is going to need a place to shoot, and he knows just the place: His home, or motel! All he needs to do is convince the producers to shoot it there! Only problem is, the business next door wants the publicity, and they are trying to steal the movie production away from P.T into their own hotel! Well, P.T also needs the publicity for more customers, and he knows the right person to help him, his own friend Gloria! Gloria is a financial whiz and together, they make the perfect team! With both kids collaborating plans to get the producers to shoot the movie at his mom's motel, what could go wrong. You know, except people trying to steal the spotlight and become better than P.T. And the monkey disappearing from set a few hours later after the manager next door arrives at the shoot. This book is amazing, and I'm sure you guys will like the ending much as I did! Be sure to read the rest of the books in the series because it is a great read for those who need a good book, and like me, you'll be sure to enjoy them!
          • sylvie55555
            sylvie55555Saturday, July 18, 2020 at 9:18 am44 stars
            In this book, PT and Gloria are super excited. The Wonderland Motel is going to be famous! The three famous stars, Aldan Tyler, Cassie McGee, and Kevin the monkey are filming a movie. And the Wonderland could be it's star! Will they be able to pitch the motel? And will Veronica Conch, the owner's daughter from the fancy hotel next door ruin they're chance? Read the book to find out! Happy Reading!
            • niru
              niruThursday, June 14, 2018 at 8:14 am
              good book
              • blossomreader
                blossomreaderWednesday, November 25, 2020 at 12:48 pm44 stars
                I agree!
              • Anajas1Friday, November 17, 2017 at 12:25 pm
                Great Authuor