The Witches
Click to Rate

The Witches

By Roald Dahl
Buy Borrow
Share by EmailShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on TwitterShare on tumblrShare on StumbleUponShare on PinterestShare on RedditShare on Edmodo
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5R4.735987
A young boy and his Norwegian grandmother, who is an expert on witches, together foil a witches' plot to destroy the world's children by turning them into mice.
Paperback, 208 pages
Published on August 16, 2007 by Puffin
ISBN-10: 014241011X
ISBN-13: 9780142410110
83 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • redcrafter26Sunday, January 18, 2015 at 9:39 am
    I love this book its so good it made me feel like i was in the book and any good author can do that so ravermccare23 shut up this is the best book in the world and i bet you couldnt write a book like that
    • ravermccare23
      ravermccare23Sunday, January 4, 2015 at 8:11 am
      compared to the others, I don't love this one
      • nick483
        nick483Saturday, January 3, 2015 at 10:07 pm4 stars
        This book is the best cause it is written by Roald Dahl it is about a boy that lost his parents and has to stay with his grandma to take care the grandma was nice and sweet but she never let the boy go aloe since there were witches the boy's grandma told the boy all about witches and even told the boy what the witches done to children and one thing that the grandma told the boy the cleaner you are the more the witches smell you, and the more you smell the witches will never find u and than the boy turned to a mouse by a witch by the postion the mouse maker 300 but than they save the day.
        • 284747
          284747Wednesday, December 24, 2014 at 1:29 pm
          My teacher read this book to the class and we watched the movie
          • maddyp18
            maddyp18Wednesday, August 20, 2014 at 11:54 am5 stars
            I loved this book so so much!!!!!! It is a fun fantasy story. It is about a boy who has a grandmother who knows a lot about witches. In this story, the boy tries to figure out, where the boss witch lives. I think the message for the story is ''always believe your family''. My favorite character is the boy because in the story he saves a lot of children from being killed by witches. My favorite part is when he hears the witches plans on how to ''exterminate'' children. I hope you like it!!!!!!!!
            • penguin313
              penguin313Saturday, June 28, 2014 at 1:17 pm5 stars
              This is a book about a boy who learns about witches and then tries to overthrow them, with the help of his grandma.
              • mgoing
                mgoingThursday, May 15, 2014 at 8:47 pm5 stars
                I love it
                • mgoing
                  mgoingThursday, May 15, 2014 at 8:46 pm5 stars
                  I love it
                  • codeone
                    codeoneSunday, January 26, 2014 at 7:50 pm3 stars
                    The witches was a very good book. I read it in school once and like that you couldn't trust anyone and that anyone could of been a Witch.
                    • aescamilla
                      Ms. EscamillaThursday, November 21, 2013 at 9:23 am5 stars
                      This is one of my favorite books! It's a little creepy, but very funny! The movie is also quite funny.

                      Most Popular Books This Week

                      Wonder
                      Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Long Haul
                      Smile
                      The Hunger Games
                      Wonder
                      Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Long Haul
                      The Hunger Games
                      Smile
                      Minecraft: The Official Annual 2014

                      Latest Kids Books Reviews

                      Leroy wrote:

                      I LOVE this comic series! Not on...
                      Scribblenauts Unmasked: A DC Com...

                      unknown wrote:

                      I really love this book. It is a...
                      Harry Potter & the Sorcerer's St...

                      hockeylover102 wrote:

                      HOCKEY IS AWESOME.
                      Sports Illustrated The Hockey Book