The Witches
Click to Rate

The Witches

By Roald Dahl
64 ratings79 reviews104 followers
Share by EmailShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on TwitterShare on tumblrShare on StumbleUponShare on PinterestShare on RedditShare on Edmodo
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5R4.735987
A young boy and his Norwegian grandmother, who is an expert on witches, together foil a witches' plot to destroy the world's children by turning them into mice.
Paperback, 208 pages
Published on August 16, 2007 by Puffin
ISBN-10: 014241011X
ISBN-13: 9780142410110
79 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • maddyp18
    maddyp188/20/20145 stars
    I loved this book so so much!!!!!! It is a fun fantasy story. It is about a boy who has a grandmother who knows a lot about witches. In this story, the boy tries to figure out, where the boss witch lives. I think the message for the story is ''always believe your family''. My favorite character is the boy because in the story he saves a lot of children from being killed by witches. My favorite part is when he hears the witches plans on how to ''exterminate'' children. I hope you like it!!!!!!!!
    • penguin313
      penguin3136/28/20145 stars
      This is a book about a boy who learns about witches and then tries to overthrow them, with the help of his grandma.
      • mgoing
        mgoing5/15/20145 stars
        I love it
        • mgoing
          mgoing5/15/20145 stars
          I love it
          • codeone
            codeone1/26/20143 stars
            The witches was a very good book. I read it in school once and like that you couldn't trust anyone and that anyone could of been a Witch.
            • aescamilla
              Ms. Escamilla11/21/20135 stars
              This is one of my favorite books! It's a little creepy, but very funny! The movie is also quite funny.
              • asht
                asht10/14/20135 stars
                I recommend this to 8 to 13 yrs old GREAT BOOK IF U LIKE MYSTERY
                • dabombblaster
                  dabombblaster10/4/20134 stars
                  really good. didn't want it to end!
                  • dabombblaster
                    dabombblaster10/4/20134 stars
                    really good and funny
                    • cl-2934
                      cl-293410/2/20135 stars
                      I have read over 10 times but I never get bored!

                      Most Popular Books This Week

                      Percy Jackson's Greek Gods
                      Whatever After #1: Fairest of All
                      Divergent (Book 1) (Divergent Series)
                      Percy Jackson's Greek Gods
                      The Fourteenth Goldfish
                      Minecraft: Essential Handbook
                      Minecraft: The Official Annual 2014
                      Sisters

                      Latest Kids Books Reviews

                      christopher wrote:

                      the best book ever in the percy ...
                      Percy Jackson's Greek Gods

                      marlee wrote:

                      this book was pretty cool and i ...
                      Tales from Lovecraft Middle Scho...

                      aussie
                      aussie wrote:

                      I liked how it had a lot or humo...
                      Timmy Failure: Now Look What You...

                      lyla wrote:

                      greattt book!
                      Guinness World Records 2013