The Witches

Email
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5R4.735987
A young boy and his Norwegian grandmother, who is an expert on witches, together foil a witches' plot to destroy the world's children by turning them into mice.
Paperback, 208 pages
Published on August 16, 2007 by Puffin
ISBN-10: 014241011X
ISBN-13: 9780142410110
109 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • teddybear7
    teddybear7Monday, September 26, 2016 at 7:15 pm44 stars
    A descriptive book, with deep characters and a meaningful plot. I loved every bit of it. The deep twisted mind of each witch in catching. A boy who's grandma tells him only about witches and to stay away from them. Then he encounters a witch when building a tree house. What will happen when the little boy comes face to face with grand high which? Read and find out!
    • celina108
      celina108Tuesday, September 20, 2016 at 1:42 pm55 stars
      There is lots of details and pictures and it's a really good book 😝🤗
      • bookworm100
        bookworm100Wednesday, August 24, 2016 at 2:59 pm55 stars
        This book is for realm thrill seeckers don't read this to your younger siblings unless your parents read it and where okay with you reading it to them!!!!!!! I'm telling you this book is scary it's about real witches who turn kids into mice there is a kid who grandmother tells him stories about real witches and one day he comes face to face with the grand high witch! Will he be turned into a mouse read to find out !!!!!!!!!!!! P.S. FOLLOW ME
        • SUPWednesday, August 17, 2016 at 12:35 pm
          i really enjoyed reading about the boy dilemma and thought it had a lot of oomph good job Roald dahl
          • Cool kidThursday, June 16, 2016 at 11:06 pm
            I liked how in the witches it was scary but funny at the same time,but I didn't like how it started a story but didn't finish like grandmamma's thumb . I think it's a loopy story for all ages to read. 5 out of 5
            • Australian kidsThursday, June 16, 2016 at 7:34 pm
              The Grade 4 students from Australia really enjoyed this book. We love Roald Dahl as an author because his books always have a problem and they always hook you in. We liked the chapter in the kitchen and when he snatched the mousemaker from the Grand High Witch. We would recommend the book for ages 8 and up because it could scare the young people but we believe even adults could enjoy this just like our teacher did. It was interesting how he missed a few parts of the story - like what really happened to Grandmamma's thumb? Overall we give The Witches 5 stars!
              • belizey
                belizeyMonday, June 13, 2016 at 7:56 pm55 stars
                this book is good good good good good good good good good good good good good good iii like it
                • violetkitten
                  violetkittenMonday, June 13, 2016 at 2:41 pm44 stars
                  i liked this book have to admit it kinda scared me at the beginning about the witches turning people in to stone and putting people in pictures the wonkiest thing was they turned people in to mice and the ironic thing was that all the victims were children :-O ya it was just creepy but it also made me laugh but the thing i disliked was that the boy ended out as a mice and could never find a cure but i also liked that they went from place to place destroying witches that part kinda made up for him being a mice for the rest of his life
                  • cuterabbit
                    cuterabbitSaturday, May 28, 2016 at 1:06 am44 stars
                    I liked this book!
                    • Brains of Baku!Thursday, May 26, 2016 at 10:39 pm
                      We are a class of Year 4 children from Azerbaijan! We LOVED this book because it was spooky and funny. We liked how the Grand High Witch spoke and when the mouse ran up the leg of the chef. It was incredibly exciting and sometimes silly too. We HIGHLY recommend this book for children and adults.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      madimin05
                      madimin05 wrote:

                      this book was awesome, weird, an...
                      Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculi...

                      teddybear7
                      teddybear7 wrote:

                      This book is so good. Although t...
                      Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculi...

                      Tophat wrote:

                      I read sisters but not smile.
                      Smile

                      giraffematthew

                      See more of my reviews on my pro...
                      Eldest (Inheritance, Book 2)