The Witches

Email
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5R4.735987
A young boy and his Norwegian grandmother, who is an expert on witches, together foil a witches' plot to destroy the world's children by turning them into mice.
Paperback, 208 pages
Published on August 16, 2007 by Puffin
ISBN-10: 014241011X
ISBN-13: 9780142410110
107 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • bookworm100
    bookworm100Wednesday, August 24, 2016 at 2:59 pm55 stars
    This book is for realm thrill seeckers don't read this to your younger siblings unless your parents read it and where okay with you reading it to them!!!!!!! I'm telling you this book is scary it's about real witches who turn kids into mice there is a kid who grandmother tells him stories about real witches and one day he comes face to face with the grand high witch! Will he be turned into a mouse read to find out !!!!!!!!!!!! P.S. FOLLOW ME
    • SUPWednesday, August 17, 2016 at 12:35 pm
      i really enjoyed reading about the boy dilemma and thought it had a lot of oomph good job Roald dahl
      • Cool kidThursday, June 16, 2016 at 11:06 pm
        I liked how in the witches it was scary but funny at the same time,but I didn't like how it started a story but didn't finish like grandmamma's thumb . I think it's a loopy story for all ages to read. 5 out of 5
        • Australian kidsThursday, June 16, 2016 at 7:34 pm
          The Grade 4 students from Australia really enjoyed this book. We love Roald Dahl as an author because his books always have a problem and they always hook you in. We liked the chapter in the kitchen and when he snatched the mousemaker from the Grand High Witch. We would recommend the book for ages 8 and up because it could scare the young people but we believe even adults could enjoy this just like our teacher did. It was interesting how he missed a few parts of the story - like what really happened to Grandmamma's thumb? Overall we give The Witches 5 stars!
          • belizey
            belizeyMonday, June 13, 2016 at 7:56 pm55 stars
            this book is good good good good good good good good good good good good good good iii like it
            • violetkitten
              violetkittenMonday, June 13, 2016 at 2:41 pm44 stars
              i liked this book have to admit it kinda scared me at the beginning about the witches turning people in to stone and putting people in pictures the wonkiest thing was they turned people in to mice and the ironic thing was that all the victims were children :-O ya it was just creepy but it also made me laugh but the thing i disliked was that the boy ended out as a mice and could never find a cure but i also liked that they went from place to place destroying witches that part kinda made up for him being a mice for the rest of his life
              • cuterabbit
                cuterabbitSaturday, May 28, 2016 at 1:06 am44 stars
                I liked this book!
                • Brains of Baku!Thursday, May 26, 2016 at 10:39 pm
                  We are a class of Year 4 children from Azerbaijan! We LOVED this book because it was spooky and funny. We liked how the Grand High Witch spoke and when the mouse ran up the leg of the chef. It was incredibly exciting and sometimes silly too. We HIGHLY recommend this book for children and adults.
                  • momosnowflake
                    momosnowflakeThursday, May 26, 2016 at 9:59 pm44 stars
                    So interesting!! Roald Dahl is one of my favourite authors.
                    • kittykat17
                      kittykat17Sunday, May 22, 2016 at 9:46 pm55 stars
                      i luved this book sooo much!!! i found out that there is a movie too! :3 it is a must read for any kid. it tells about witches and their looks. it is very interesting!

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      AleEis wrote:

                      I really liked this book, I foun...
                      The Devil You Know

                      giuliEIS wrote:

                      This book was one of the best bo...
                      The Devil You Know

                      roblox2341
                      roblox2341 wrote:

                      i like the book its pretty cool ...
                      SPACEPOP: Not Your Average Princ...

                      minecrafroblox1

                      WAIT I NOW ROALD DAHL!
                      The BFG