The Witches

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5R4.735987
A young boy and his Norwegian grandmother, who is an expert on witches, together foil a witches' plot to destroy the world's children by turning them into mice.
Paperback, 208 pages
Published on August 16, 2007 by Puffin
ISBN-10: 014241011X
ISBN-13: 9780142410110
110 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • oreoshershey
    oreoshersheyTuesday, October 4, 2016 at 3:07 pm55 stars
    I love this book I own and I read whenever I have nothing to do its one of those books that you can go back to and read again I love books about witches they are really interesting I recommend this book
    • teddybear7
      teddybear7Monday, September 26, 2016 at 7:15 pm44 stars
      A descriptive book, with deep characters and a meaningful plot. I loved every bit of it. The deep twisted mind of each witch in catching. A boy who's grandma tells him only about witches and to stay away from them. Then he encounters a witch when building a tree house. What will happen when the little boy comes face to face with grand high which? Read and find out!
      • celina108
        celina108Tuesday, September 20, 2016 at 1:42 pm55 stars
        There is lots of details and pictures and it's a really good book 😝🤗
        • bookworm100
          bookworm100Wednesday, August 24, 2016 at 2:59 pm55 stars
          This book is for realm thrill seeckers don't read this to your younger siblings unless your parents read it and where okay with you reading it to them!!!!!!! I'm telling you this book is scary it's about real witches who turn kids into mice there is a kid who grandmother tells him stories about real witches and one day he comes face to face with the grand high witch! Will he be turned into a mouse read to find out !!!!!!!!!!!! P.S. FOLLOW ME
          • SUPWednesday, August 17, 2016 at 12:35 pm
            i really enjoyed reading about the boy dilemma and thought it had a lot of oomph good job Roald dahl
            • Cool kidThursday, June 16, 2016 at 11:06 pm
              I liked how in the witches it was scary but funny at the same time,but I didn't like how it started a story but didn't finish like grandmamma's thumb . I think it's a loopy story for all ages to read. 5 out of 5
              • Australian kidsThursday, June 16, 2016 at 7:34 pm
                The Grade 4 students from Australia really enjoyed this book. We love Roald Dahl as an author because his books always have a problem and they always hook you in. We liked the chapter in the kitchen and when he snatched the mousemaker from the Grand High Witch. We would recommend the book for ages 8 and up because it could scare the young people but we believe even adults could enjoy this just like our teacher did. It was interesting how he missed a few parts of the story - like what really happened to Grandmamma's thumb? Overall we give The Witches 5 stars!
                • belizey
                  belizeyMonday, June 13, 2016 at 7:56 pm55 stars
                  this book is good good good good good good good good good good good good good good iii like it
                  • violetkitten
                    violetkittenMonday, June 13, 2016 at 2:41 pm44 stars
                    i liked this book have to admit it kinda scared me at the beginning about the witches turning people in to stone and putting people in pictures the wonkiest thing was they turned people in to mice and the ironic thing was that all the victims were children :-O ya it was just creepy but it also made me laugh but the thing i disliked was that the boy ended out as a mice and could never find a cure but i also liked that they went from place to place destroying witches that part kinda made up for him being a mice for the rest of his life
                    • cuterabbit
                      cuterabbitSaturday, May 28, 2016 at 1:06 am44 stars
                      I liked this book!

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      pipermc11 wrote:

                      Have you ever wondered how fairy...
                      The Inquisitor's Tale: Or, The T...


                      I love this book so much! It is ...
                      The Forbidden Library


                      I think this book is ok because ...
                      Kinda Like Brothers


                      I really like this book because ...
                      Mountain Dog