The Witches
Click to Rate

The Witches

By Roald Dahl
65 ratings79 reviews104 followers
Share by EmailShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on TwitterShare on tumblrShare on StumbleUponShare on PinterestShare on RedditShare on Edmodo
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5R4.735987
A young boy and his Norwegian grandmother, who is an expert on witches, together foil a witches' plot to destroy the world's children by turning them into mice.
Paperback, 208 pages
Published on August 16, 2007 by Puffin
ISBN-10: 014241011X
ISBN-13: 9780142410110
79 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • maddyp18
    maddyp18Wednesday, August 20, 2014 at 11:54 am5 stars
    I loved this book so so much!!!!!! It is a fun fantasy story. It is about a boy who has a grandmother who knows a lot about witches. In this story, the boy tries to figure out, where the boss witch lives. I think the message for the story is ''always believe your family''. My favorite character is the boy because in the story he saves a lot of children from being killed by witches. My favorite part is when he hears the witches plans on how to ''exterminate'' children. I hope you like it!!!!!!!!
    • penguin313
      penguin313Saturday, June 28, 2014 at 1:17 pm5 stars
      This is a book about a boy who learns about witches and then tries to overthrow them, with the help of his grandma.
      • mgoing
        mgoingThursday, May 15, 2014 at 8:47 pm5 stars
        I love it
        • mgoing
          mgoingThursday, May 15, 2014 at 8:46 pm5 stars
          I love it
          • codeone
            codeoneSunday, January 26, 2014 at 7:50 pm3 stars
            The witches was a very good book. I read it in school once and like that you couldn't trust anyone and that anyone could of been a Witch.
            • aescamilla
              Ms. EscamillaThursday, November 21, 2013 at 9:23 am5 stars
              This is one of my favorite books! It's a little creepy, but very funny! The movie is also quite funny.
              • asht
                ashtMonday, October 14, 2013 at 2:09 pm5 stars
                I recommend this to 8 to 13 yrs old GREAT BOOK IF U LIKE MYSTERY
                • dabombblaster
                  dabombblasterFriday, October 4, 2013 at 1:24 pm4 stars
                  really good. didn't want it to end!
                  • dabombblaster
                    dabombblasterFriday, October 4, 2013 at 1:23 pm4 stars
                    really good and funny
                    • cl-2934
                      cl-2934Wednesday, October 2, 2013 at 9:04 pm5 stars
                      I have read over 10 times but I never get bored!

                      Most Popular Books This Week

                      Smile
                      Wonder
                      Minecraft: The Official Annual 2014
                      Cages: 9
                      Smile
                      Wonder
                      Cages: 9
                      Magic in the Mix

                      Latest Kids Books Reviews

                      retrotaco
                      retrotaco wrote:

                      this is a great book. all of joh...
                      Looking for Alaska

                      retrotaco
                      retrotaco wrote:

                      this is the best book ever! john...
                      Fault in Our Stars

                      ratboy
                      ratboy wrote:

                      i forgot to put five stars!!!!!
                      Harry Potter & the Sorcerer's St...