The Heroes of Olympus Book Five: The Blood of Olympus
Click to Rate

The Heroes of Olympus Book Five: The Blood of Olympus

By Rick Riordan
108 ratings577 reviews230 followers
Share by EmailShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on TwitterShare on tumblrShare on StumbleUponShare on PinterestShare on RedditShare on Edmodo
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 9n/an/an/an/a

Though the Greek and Roman crew members of the Argo II have made progress in their many quests, they still seem no closer to defeating the earth mother, Gaea. Her giants have risen-all of them-and they're stronger than ever. They must be stopped before the Feast of Spes, when Gaea plans to have two demigods sacrificed in Athens. She needs their blood-the blood of Olympus-in order to wake.

The demigods are having more frequent visions of a terrible battle at Camp Half-Blood. The Roman legion from Camp Jupiter, led by Octavian, is almost within striking distance. Though it is tempting to take the Athena Parthenos to Athens to use as a secret weapon, the friends know that the huge statue belongs back on Long Island, where it might be able to stop a war between the two camps.

The Athena Parthenos will go west; the Argo II will go east. The gods, still suffering from multiple personality disorder, are useless. How can a handful of young demigods hope to persevere against Gaea's army of powerful giants? As dangerous as it is to head to Athens, they have no other option. They have sacrificed too much already. And if Gaea wakes, it is game over.

 
 

Hardcover, 528 pages
Published on October 7, 2014 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 1423146735
ISBN-13: 9781423146735
Fans
577 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • AlexaThursday, October 30, 2014 at 3:37 pm
    thought it was a great book
    • john lewisThursday, October 30, 2014 at 10:11 am
      it was a good serise but the ending sucked
      • hiWednesday, October 29, 2014 at 3:29 pm
        awesome
        • petuniaWednesday, October 29, 2014 at 9:11 am
          this book is great. If you read the description on this page, you can see the chance to win 10000 dollars! Just count how many 'the's there is in the description, comment how many and the money will come.
          • frostynhan87
            frostynhan87Wednesday, October 29, 2014 at 8:06 am5 stars
            Is a an amazing book! It has so much thrilling events.
            • thel
              thelWednesday, October 29, 2014 at 6:57 am
              I NEED THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
              • lucky_starotaku
                lucky_starotakuTuesday, October 28, 2014 at 5:09 pm5 stars
                This Book is AMAZING STOP! SPOILERS AHEAD! I can't believe Gaea awakes JUST BY PERCY'S BLOODY NOSE! i mean, come on, Jackson! The I love the part where Nico confesses to Percy about his true feelings! Wow, it was so awkward. Percy was just like "Wait... so-" then Nico said "Yeah, so see you later." Then he high-fives Annabeth! I hope you guys follow and like! ~Lucky_StarOtaku
                • mysteriousbird
                  mysteriousbirdTuesday, October 28, 2014 at 4:15 pm4 stars
                  What even!!! I got this book in a store like a week before the release date (what happened)? But anyway, again it was really good! I know some people disliked the book somewhat, but they should keep in mind that the series is called The Heroes of Olympus, not Percy Jackson and blah blah blah. However, I can relate both ways. The reason I gave this four stars, though, was because it felt a little (too) rushed. The ending, too. And I might be a fast reader, but, I actually read it really slow to enjoy it before it ended. But, it was really amazing still. :)
                  • kylethekiller
                    kylethekillerTuesday, October 28, 2014 at 3:22 pm5 stars
                    Wonderful
                    • kylethekiller
                      kylethekillerTuesday, October 28, 2014 at 3:12 pm5 stars
                      Amzing