The Blood of Olympus

Email
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 9Grade 6n/a5.2111748

Though the Greek and Roman crew members of the Argo II have made progress in their many quests, they still seem no closer to defeating the earth mother, Gaea. Her giants have risen-all of them-and they're stronger than ever. They must be stopped before the Feast of Spes, when Gaea plans to have two demigods sacrificed in Athens. She needs their blood-the blood of Olympus-in order to wake.

The demigods are having more frequent visions of a terrible battle at Camp Half-Blood. The Roman legion from Camp Jupiter, led by Octavian, is almost within striking distance. Though it is tempting to take the Athena Parthenos to Athens to use as a secret weapon, the friends know that the huge statue belongs back on Long Island, where it might be able to stop a war between the two camps.

The Athena Parthenos will go west; the Argo II will go east. The gods, still suffering from multiple personality disorder, are useless. How can a handful of young demigods hope to persevere against Gaea's army of powerful giants? As dangerous as it is to head to Athens, they have no other option. They have sacrificed too much already. And if Gaea wakes, it is game over.

Hardcover, 528 pages
Published on October 7, 2014 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 1423146735
ISBN-13: 9781423146735
Fans
1027 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • babybunny02
    babybunny02Monday, June 20, 2016 at 3:29 pm
    GOD! I love this book, my brother and I have been reading all of Riordan's books: Kane Chronicles, Percy Jackson and the Olympians, and Heroes of Olympus. I got this one for Christmas, and I've read it about 10 times all the way through, but I have my favorite parts.I just wish that it would have ended with Leo going back to Camp Half-Blood instead of when he and Calypso "ride off into the sunset." Still loved it though!
    • mistyriver
      mistyriverWednesday, June 15, 2016 at 4:54 pm55 stars
      This was the best Percy Jackson book so far, in my opinion. My favorite characters are Nico and Reyna. Well really I like Nico but I relate to Reyna the most. Hope this helps!
      • mermaid21
        mermaid21Friday, June 10, 2016 at 3:29 pm
        The Hidden Oracle kind of picks up where this one left off, it has many of the main characters, including PERCY!!!!!
        • anaklusmos
          anaklusmosThursday, June 9, 2016 at 4:54 am55 stars
          I decided to read this book because it was the next book in the series and it is very interesting.
          • anaklusmos
            anaklusmosThursday, June 9, 2016 at 4:51 am55 stars
            I decided to read this book because it was very interesting it was the next book in the series. The Percy Jackson series and the Heroes of Olympus series are interesting to imagine and the story is cool.
            • prezlexiSaturday, June 4, 2016 at 2:53 pm
              This is a amazing book written by a genius, who sadly takes a long time on his books. A definite must read. By the way anyone else ready for the trials of Apollo?
              • mermaid21
                mermaid21Friday, June 10, 2016 at 3:30 pm
                I have already read it. you most definitely should read it
              • shadowqueen1220
                shadowqueen1220Wednesday, May 25, 2016 at 6:01 pm55 stars
                This book is probably the best book in the series, yet. It is filled with amazhang characters. (Anyone got the pun?) and humorous dialogue. The seven heroes: Percy, Annabeth, Hazel, Frank, Jason, Piper, and Leo are headed toward Athens to stop the giants from waking Gaea while Reyna, Nico, and Coach Hedge are shadow-travelling to Camp Half-Blood to restore peace between the two camps. Will the Reyna, Nico, and Coach Hedge succeed even with a dangerous hunter on their tails? (For Coach Hedge, literally) Will the seven great heroes save the world even when the prophecy states that one is fated to die? Find out in the new Heroes of Olympus book: The Blood of Olympus.
                • mermaid21
                  mermaid21Friday, June 10, 2016 at 3:28 pm
                  much pun intended, ama(Zhang)
                • biomarcher10
                  biomarcher10Wednesday, May 25, 2016 at 5:01 pm
                  I LOVE RICK RIORDAN BOOKS!!!
                  • algebraqueen
                    algebraqueenFriday, May 20, 2016 at 5:18 am55 stars
                    I can't wait till other books related to this book come out!!:)
                    • algebraqueen
                      algebraqueenFriday, May 20, 2016 at 5:16 am55 stars
                      I like this book!:) I like the series. Its very interesting reading along with the adventure, I gives suspense!! But I advise you to read the other Heroes of Olympus books before you read this one.