The Heroes of Olympus Book Five: The Blood of Olympus
Click to Rate

The Heroes of Olympus Book Five: The Blood of Olympus

By Rick Riordan
97 ratings560 reviews213 followers
Share by EmailShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on TwitterShare on tumblrShare on StumbleUponShare on PinterestShare on RedditShare on Edmodo
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 9n/an/an/an/a

Though the Greek and Roman crew members of the Argo II have made progress in their many quests, they still seem no closer to defeating the earth mother, Gaea. Her giants have risen-all of them-and they're stronger than ever. They must be stopped before the Feast of Spes, when Gaea plans to have two demigods sacrificed in Athens. She needs their blood-the blood of Olympus-in order to wake.

The demigods are having more frequent visions of a terrible battle at Camp Half-Blood. The Roman legion from Camp Jupiter, led by Octavian, is almost within striking distance. Though it is tempting to take the Athena Parthenos to Athens to use as a secret weapon, the friends know that the huge statue belongs back on Long Island, where it might be able to stop a war between the two camps.

The Athena Parthenos will go west; the Argo II will go east. The gods, still suffering from multiple personality disorder, are useless. How can a handful of young demigods hope to persevere against Gaea's army of powerful giants? As dangerous as it is to head to Athens, they have no other option. They have sacrificed too much already. And if Gaea wakes, it is game over.

 
 

Hardcover, 528 pages
Published on October 7, 2014 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 1423146735
ISBN-13: 9781423146735
Fans
560 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • coolnicki477
    coolnicki477Saturday, October 25, 2014 at 6:40 pm5 stars
    Rick Riordan told everyone he's going to make a book called Percy Jackson and the Greek Heroes. (Sequel to Percy Jackson's greek gods)
    • coolnicki477
      coolnicki477Saturday, October 25, 2014 at 6:39 pm5 stars
      I just finished the book a couple hours ago. IT WAS AMAZING!! I won't spoil anything unless you want me too.
      • coolnicki477
        coolnicki477Saturday, October 25, 2014 at 6:38 pm5 stars
        I got to meet Rick Riordan this morning! He's really funny and he has great sense of humor (like Leo). I went with spinnypeeps
        • rainbeaux
          rainbeauxFriday, October 24, 2014 at 1:39 pm4 stars
          The 'epilogue' was interesting. Correct me if I'm wrong but, I don't think Percy, Annabeth, Frank or Hazel had a POV. I thought the final battle was a bit anti climactic though I like how it all turned out. But, in the dedication he promised no cliffhangers! How is (x character) leaving with (x character) not a cliffhanger? The one on the last page of the book!
          • deckkerg777
            deckkerg777Friday, October 24, 2014 at 12:52 pm
            I do know the story but never read the book
            • brandonace
              brandonaceFriday, October 24, 2014 at 6:19 am
              It's really interesting to see the point of view of Nico. Especially since we found out who he loves. Also reading about the Roman Praetor Reyna. We also get a lot of her back story.
              • hamcraft03Wednesday, October 22, 2014 at 2:21 pm
                I almost got this book at barns and noble!!!!
                • sri
                  sriTuesday, October 21, 2014 at 4:29 pm5 stars
                  The book I read The Blood of Olympus was a really interesting book written by Rick Riordan. I recommend reading this book.
                  • peacheslarue
                    peacheslarueTuesday, October 21, 2014 at 3:24 pm
                    I really want to read this book so bad!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
                    • peacheslarue
                      peacheslarueTuesday, October 21, 2014 at 3:24 pm
                      Ive read every single book in the percy jackson sreies except this one!!
                    • rapeti
                      rapetiTuesday, October 21, 2014 at 2:12 pm
                      this book was not what i wanted it hardly answered any of my questions.
                      • csheen
                        csheenFriday, October 24, 2014 at 5:10 pm5 stars
                        it answered mine