The Heroes of Olympus Book Five: The Blood of Olympus
Click to Rate

The Heroes of Olympus Book Five: The Blood of Olympus

By Rick Riordan
49 ratings402 reviews114 followers
Share by EmailShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on TwitterShare on tumblrShare on StumbleUponShare on PinterestShare on RedditShare on Edmodo
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 9n/an/an/an/a
Though the Greek and Roman crewmembers of the Argo II have made progress in their many quests, they still seem no closer to defeating the earth mother, Gaea. Her giants have risen-all of them-and they're stronger than ever. They must be stopped before the Feast of Spes, when Gaea plans to have two demigods sacrificed in Athens. She needs their blood-the blood of Olympus-in order to wake.

The demigods are having more frequent visions of a terrible battle at Camp Half-Blood. The Roman legion from Camp Jupiter, led by Octavian, is almost within striking distance. Though it is tempting to take the Athena Parthenos to Athens to use as a secret weapon, the friends know that the huge statue belongs back on Long Island, where it might be able to stop a war between the two camps.

The Athena Parthenos will go west; the Argo II will go east. The gods, still suffering from multiple personality disorder, are useless. How can a handful of young demigods hope to persevere against Gaea's army of powerful giants? As dangerous as it is to head to Athens, they have no other option. They have sacrificed too much already. And if Gaea wakes, it is game over.
Hardcover, 528 pages
Expected to be published on October 7, 2014 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 1423146735
ISBN-13: 9781423146735
402 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • neoncat
    neoncat9/14/2014
    NICO AND REYNA ARE GOING TO HAVE THEIR OWN POVs
    • rainbeaux
      rainbeaux9/13/2014
      This comes out on October 9th right? (I know, it's horrible that I have to ask.) I'm going on a plane trip a couple weeks after that and I'll want to have something to read. But, having it stare me in the face, that'll be unbearable. Plus I won't be able to log on hear or I'll be tempted to read *SPOILERS* :(
      • coolnicki477
        coolnicki4779/11/20145 stars
        Like this if you are the #1 of Rick Riordan
        • coolnicki477
          coolnicki4779/10/20145 stars
          Guess what?! I'm going to meet Rick Riordan at the Boston Book festival
          • pipermc11
            pipermc119/11/2014
            I'm hoping to see him when he makes his Norse myth series. The closest he comes to me this year is NYC!
            • spinnypeeps
              spinnypeeps9/11/20145 stars
              When? I live in MA! (You know that)
              • spinnypeeps
                spinnypeeps9/11/20145 stars
                He was one of the judges of my art contests, actually.
                • rainbeaux
                  rainbeaux9/13/2014
                  Doodle4Google, right? I entered that too.
                  • bibliophile
                    bibliophile9/13/2014
                    Me too, I also entered that contest...
                    • coolnicki477
                      coolnicki4779/14/20145 stars
                      me too,*virtually group hug*
                      • spinnypeeps
                        spinnypeeps9/16/20145 stars
                        I Virtually slap five instead... I'm not a big fan of random hugs, I guess?
              • annabeth123
                annabeth1239/11/2014
                That would be a dream come true for me!!! (just look at my username!!!
                • maddyrocks13
                  maddyrocks139/10/2014
                  Awesome! :) Hope you have a great time! Tell Uncle Rick I say hello! ;)
                  • spinnypeeps
                    spinnypeeps9/11/20145 stars
                    Rick is your UNCLE? (Or is it just a figure of speech?)
                  • bibliophile
                    bibliophile9/10/2014
                    OMG, you are sooooooo lucky, I wish I live near Boston or anywhere near Massachusetts. Hope you have a great time!!!!
                • bookworm1824
                  bookworm18249/8/2014
                  I wonder if Riordan will add the Egyptian series in there?
                  • bibliophile
                    bibliophile9/10/2014
                    Actually there is a Egyptian series/trilogy, called the Kane Chronicles... you should check it out.
                    • tim0706
                      tim07069/10/2014
                      Yeah, the first book is The Red Pyramid. Second book is Throne of Fire. The Last book is The Serpent's Shadow!
                      • tim0706
                        tim07069/10/2014
                        It is with Carter and Sadie Kane.
                  • sweetpicks
                    sweetpicks9/7/20145 stars
                    i will miss the series when it will be over, but at least there will be another series... hopefully. maybe norse mythology, or or asian mythology maybe.
                    • coolnicki477
                      coolnicki4778/15/20145 stars
                      The author lives in Boston, Massachusetts
                      • coolnicki477
                        coolnicki4778/14/20145 stars
                        This is going to be the last book Rick Riordan's making in this series he's going to stop
                        • spinnypeeps
                          spinnypeeps8/14/20145 stars
                          Really? Like, he's not going to write any other books? Awwwwwwww
                          • coolnicki477
                            coolnicki4778/15/20145 stars
                            He's going to make other books but I said he's done with the Heroes of Olympus
                            • pipermc11
                              pipermc118/15/2014
                              Sorry to burst your bubble, but he never said that. He said it was too soon to consider writing another series, but it's certainly possible he will.
                              • hyper_monkey
                                hyper_monkey9/8/2014
                                Actually, he's already confirmed that he's writing a series on Norse mythology.
                                • pipermc11
                                  pipermc119/11/2014
                                  I was talking about the PJO series :)
                                • coolnicki477
                                  coolnicki4778/16/20145 stars
                                  Yeah, I think your right, thanks
                                  • epiced
                                    epiced9/2/2014
                                    He's going to make a series about Norse mythology
                                    • hohomanx
                                      hohomanx9/3/2014
                                      that would be cool. I am totally Rick Riordan
                                      • coolnicki477
                                        coolnicki4779/15/20145 stars
                                        of course! Everone here is too
                                      • spinnypeeps
                                        spinnypeeps9/3/20145 stars
                                        How do you know? That's awesome! Norse mythology is da best(other than Greek and Roman mythology. Also I'm Christian so don't mistake the other stuff for my religion.)
                                        • pipermc11
                                          pipermc119/8/2014
                                          *Virtual high-five to spinnypeeps* Go Christian people who read Percy Jackson!
                                          • spinnypeeps
                                            spinnypeeps9/12/20145 stars
                                            Virtual high- five to everyone else!
                                            • coolnicki477
                                              coolnicki4779/10/20145 stars
                                              also Christian! twinzie!
                                              • chuckgirl10
                                                chuckgirl109/12/2014
                                                me too! Triplets!
                                                • nightreaper
                                                  nightreaper9/12/20145 stars
                                                  Christian as well! Bro fist! /)(\
                                              • bibliophile
                                                bibliophile9/5/2014
                                                If you go on Rick Riordan's website (you should check it out), click on "About Rick," then down below there's a list, and then "Frequently Asked Questions." Then just scroll down the questions, one particular questions asked about Norse mythology, so there you have it :)... btw Norse mythology is awesome!!!! :D
                                                • spinnypeeps
                                                  spinnypeeps9/5/20145 stars
                                                  What is Rick Riordan's website? Tell me the address.
                                                  • bibliophile
                                                    bibliophile9/6/2014
                                                    It's www.rickriordan.com Very short and easy to remember just Rick Riordan's, (name and last name combined) with no capitalization.
                                    • bibliophile
                                      bibliophile8/14/2014
                                      Really!!!!! NOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!
                                    • bibliophile
                                      bibliophile8/4/2014
                                      I wish the book would come out sooner... I need to read more of these series!!!!!
                                      • spinnypeeps
                                        spinnypeeps9/5/20145 stars
                                        YES! I totally agree.
                                      • coolnicki477
                                        coolnicki4778/4/20145 stars
                                        Like this If you love Greeks!
                                        • coolnicki477
                                          coolnicki4778/4/20145 stars
                                          Like this if you love Romans
                                          • spinnypeeps
                                            spinnypeeps8/15/20145 stars
                                            I love both- don't know which is better!

                                        Most Popular Books This Week

                                        Fahrenheit 451
                                        Smile
                                        Percy Jackson's Greek Gods
                                        The Graham Cracker Plot
                                        Smile
                                        Fahrenheit 451