The Heroes of Olympus Book Five: The Blood of Olympus
Click to Rate

The Heroes of Olympus Book Five: The Blood of Olympus

By Rick Riordan
45 ratings343 reviews101 followers
Share by EmailShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on TwitterShare on tumblrShare on StumbleUponShare on PinterestShare on RedditShare on Edmodo
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 9n/an/an/an/a
Though the Greek and Roman crewmembers of the Argo II have made progress in their many quests, they still seem no closer to defeating the earth mother, Gaea. Her giants have risen-all of them-and they're stronger than ever. They must be stopped before the Feast of Spes, when Gaea plans to have two demigods sacrificed in Athens. She needs their blood-the blood of Olympus-in order to wake.

The demigods are having more frequent visions of a terrible battle at Camp Half-Blood. The Roman legion from Camp Jupiter, led by Octavian, is almost within striking distance. Though it is tempting to take the Athena Parthenos to Athens to use as a secret weapon, the friends know that the huge statue belongs back on Long Island, where it might be able to stop a war between the two camps.

The Athena Parthenos will go west; the Argo II will go east. The gods, still suffering from multiple personality disorder, are useless. How can a handful of young demigods hope to persevere against Gaea's army of powerful giants? As dangerous as it is to head to Athens, they have no other option. They have sacrificed too much already. And if Gaea wakes, it is game over.
Hardcover, 528 pages
Expected to be published on October 7, 2014 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 1423146735
ISBN-13: 9781423146735
343 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • kimsam123
    kimsam1237/10/2014
    I Really Want to read this. :P
    • rainbeaux
      rainbeaux7/5/2014
      I spent the week at GS camp and we watched the two Percy Jackson movies. When everyone started calling actors, I called Jason. The girl next to me called Leo and another girl (who hadn't read THoO) called Nico. I spent the rest of the day discussing Pico with the one who called Leo. Fun!
      • skylar2403
        skylar24036/30/2014
        I hope when this book releases it will be as wonderful as the other books in it's series
        • divergentlover
          divergentlover6/13/20145 stars
          I haven't read it but i know it will be awesome and yes i know Rachel! And i am in your tribe! I am abbie!
          • hyper_monkey
            hyper_monkey6/9/2014
            OH MY GODS I JUST REALIZED SOMETHING. Haha, I actually didn't; I just needed your attention. (Sorry.) I was just wondering if someone could start up a conversation, here. I would, but I can't think of anything. My brain's been temporarily murdered by final exams. So . . . debates, anyone? (Or we could all just write little mini-stories/fanfics. I dunno, I'm bored.)
            • hyper_monkey
              hyper_monkey6/13/2014
              YOU GUYS I WAS COUNTING ON YOU LIKE C'MON
              • hyper_monkey
                hyper_monkey6/13/2014
                NO SERIOUSLY LET'S TALK ABOUT BoO THAT'S WHAT THIS IS HERE FOR
                • pipermc11
                  pipermc116/21/2014
                  Well, I know this is a touchy subject, but if someone DOES die, we might as well discuss that. Now, we can rule Annabeth and Percy out. Too important. I think we can take Jason, Piper and Leo out as well. That leaves us with a few characters. Nico might die, because he feels like someone that doesn't belong. Reyna might die, to sacrifice herself for Jason. Possible. Hazel might sacrifice herself since she knows she has already died before, Frank might sacrifice himself with his burning twig, because he knows that's when he'll die, and he'll die a Roman warrior. Octavion might die, and honestly, I think that's more fandom related. Calypso might die to become free, but then again, Leo might die to go be with her...that would be a plot twist. Also, multiple other characters could die for other related reasons...like Clarisse, the Stoll brothers, etc.
                  • rainbeaux
                    rainbeaux7/5/2014
                    I call books where everyone dies a Harry Potter ending. But, Rick Riordian could pull a Divergent on us of course...
            • spinnypeeps
              spinnypeeps6/9/20145 stars
              How can we review this book if it didn't come out yet? It should be on the fall or winter reading list.
              • alicorn
                alicorn6/8/20145 stars
                I know this book is going to be really good! Rachel told me!
                • spinnypeeps
                  spinnypeeps6/9/20145 stars
                  You know Rachel? Cuz I know another Rachel who is craz-E about Percy Jackson and the Heroes of Olympus series!
                • alicorn
                  alicorn6/8/20145 stars
                  I am going to die waiting for this book! Not literally like leo... jk! I hope it's not poor leo! My friend would me devastated- when Uriah died in the divergent trilogy, she cried. Then when tris died, she threw the book across the room... We're both equally obsessed with both series, so if Leo dies i'll hope im not in the same room as she is
                  • spinnypeeps
                    spinnypeeps6/25/20145 stars
                    TRIS DIES???????? I'm on the SECOND BOOK!
                    • rainbeaux
                      rainbeaux7/5/2014
                      No... Ummm.... Of course not.... Tris and Tobias defeat everyone and live happily ever after! The end! Maybe...
                  • spinnypeeps
                    spinnypeeps6/8/20145 stars
                    Who's gonna die according to the prophecy? Storm or fire? I'm gonna be SOOO upset if Leo dies! If Leo does, he's gonna get eternal punishment in the underworld because he swore on the River Styx he'll see Calypso again! And he totally doesn't deserve that.
                    • hyper_monkey
                      hyper_monkey6/9/2014
                      That's not necessarily what the line in the prophecy has to mean. Really: world=earth=Gaea. (Most of us figured this out even before it was stated in the book.) So the question of who's going to die, if anyone, is not 'storm or fire', but 'an oath to keep with a final breath'. That's not to say, of course, that Leo is definitely going to die. It may very well not even be any of the seven to make said oath, and who's to say that the one who makes the oath isn't going to live in the end? 'Final breath' may mean last mortal or immortal breath (*cough* Calypso *cough*). And if you're still skeptical that it could be someone outside the prophecy, remember that, at one point, we were all fairly certain that Percy was the hero of the Great Prophecy. SOMETIMES, NO ONE DIES, OKAY? DO NOT QUESTION MY UNBRIDLED OPTIMISM. IT IS DEARLY NEEDED.
                      • rainbeaux
                        rainbeaux7/5/2014
                        The line is: "To storm or fire, the world must fall." So storm and fire aren't falling. They're causing the world to.
                    • spinnypeeps
                      spinnypeeps6/8/20145 stars
                      I CANNNNNNNOOOOT WAIT!

                      Most Popular Books This Week

                      Charlotte's Web
                      My Big Fat Zombie Goldfish
                      How to Make Friends and Monsters
                      Fancy Nancy: Nancy Clancy, Super Sleuth
                      Out of My Mind
                      Animal Jam: Official Insider's Guide
                      This Is Not My Hat
                      Cabin Fever (Diary of a Wimpy Kid)

                      Latest Kids Books Reviews

                      daddysblue
                      daddysblue wrote:

                      these books are so fun . they a...
                      Flat Stanley's Worldwide Adventu...

                      daddysblue
                      daddysblue wrote:

                      this book sounds super spooky bu...
                      Dying to Meet You (43 Old Cemete...

                      daddysblue
                      daddysblue wrote:

                      p.s. be eleven lol. this book so...
                      P.S. Be Eleven

                      daddysblue
                      daddysblue wrote:

                      as twins alex and ava have alw...
                      A Whole New Ball Game (It Takes ...