The Heroes of Olympus Book Five: The Blood of Olympus
Click to Rate

The Heroes of Olympus Book Five: The Blood of Olympus

By Rick Riordan
134 ratings649 reviews271 followers
Buy Borrow
Share by EmailShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on TwitterShare on tumblrShare on StumbleUponShare on PinterestShare on RedditShare on Edmodo
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 9n/an/an/an/a

Though the Greek and Roman crew members of the Argo II have made progress in their many quests, they still seem no closer to defeating the earth mother, Gaea. Her giants have risen-all of them-and they're stronger than ever. They must be stopped before the Feast of Spes, when Gaea plans to have two demigods sacrificed in Athens. She needs their blood-the blood of Olympus-in order to wake.

The demigods are having more frequent visions of a terrible battle at Camp Half-Blood. The Roman legion from Camp Jupiter, led by Octavian, is almost within striking distance. Though it is tempting to take the Athena Parthenos to Athens to use as a secret weapon, the friends know that the huge statue belongs back on Long Island, where it might be able to stop a war between the two camps.

The Athena Parthenos will go west; the Argo II will go east. The gods, still suffering from multiple personality disorder, are useless. How can a handful of young demigods hope to persevere against Gaea's army of powerful giants? As dangerous as it is to head to Athens, they have no other option. They have sacrificed too much already. And if Gaea wakes, it is game over.

 
 

Hardcover, 528 pages
Published on October 7, 2014 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 1423146735
ISBN-13: 9781423146735
Fans
649 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • swimmer_girl02
    swimmer_girl02Saturday, November 22, 2014 at 3:10 pm4 stars
    The story itself was ok, but THE ENDING WAS SO DISAPPOINTING! I am an avid Riordan fan, I have read all of his books. But he ends this book on a cliffhanger! :(
    • ayluma
      aylumaSaturday, November 22, 2014 at 12:36 pm
      (SPOILER ALERT)I read the book very recently. My only complaint is that even though the book doesn't end on a cliffhanger, I really wanted Leo's friends to know that he was alive and with Calypso. Also, It doesn't give you an epilogue, and I need to know what happened to the other characters.
      • gir7747
        gir7747Friday, November 21, 2014 at 7:15 am
        I love it but I do not like it at the same time because of the bad cliff hanger in this book is worth reading I like the stuff he writes but the cliff hanger not ever
        • potatojackson
          potatojacksonThursday, November 20, 2014 at 6:34 pm
          I wish that he would still juice it for all it's worth.
          • frankiebaby
            frankiebabyThursday, November 20, 2014 at 6:18 pm5 stars
            I have no idea what happens in this book but I will read it
            • bookworm12345
              bookworm12345Thursday, November 20, 2014 at 5:31 pm
              Awesome!!!!!! LOVE the series and author. So cool!!!
              • sirulu
                siruluWednesday, November 19, 2014 at 3:52 pm5 stars
                This is amazing! In this book, The crew of The Argo first get trapped in an arena by Nike and are almost forced to kill each other until the last one standing who wins. After narrowly escaping Nike, the crew find themselves much more trouble. And Nico decides that he cant keep his secret from Percy any longer...
                • analise
                  analiseWednesday, November 19, 2014 at 12:22 pm5 stars
                  a little sappy
                  • happypug12
                    happypug12Tuesday, November 18, 2014 at 5:06 pm
                    Now that Rick has finished writing this series, his plans for 2015 are to write about Norse Mythology.
                    • analise
                      analiseThursday, November 20, 2014 at 3:02 pm5 stars
                      I believe thats true! I love norse mythology!
                    • minecraft333
                      minecraft333Tuesday, November 18, 2014 at 5:03 pm
                      THEY DEFEATED GAEA TOO EASILY
                      • bookworm12345
                        bookworm12345Thursday, November 20, 2014 at 5:32 pm
                        I agree...