The Heroes of Olympus Book Five: The Blood of Olympus
Click to Rate

The Heroes of Olympus Book Five: The Blood of Olympus

By Rick Riordan
52 ratings449 reviews126 followers
Share by EmailShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on TwitterShare on tumblrShare on StumbleUponShare on PinterestShare on RedditShare on Edmodo
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 9n/an/an/an/a
Though the Greek and Roman crewmembers of the Argo II have made progress in their many quests, they still seem no closer to defeating the earth mother, Gaea. Her giants have risen-all of them-and they're stronger than ever. They must be stopped before the Feast of Spes, when Gaea plans to have two demigods sacrificed in Athens. She needs their blood-the blood of Olympus-in order to wake.

The demigods are having more frequent visions of a terrible battle at Camp Half-Blood. The Roman legion from Camp Jupiter, led by Octavian, is almost within striking distance. Though it is tempting to take the Athena Parthenos to Athens to use as a secret weapon, the friends know that the huge statue belongs back on Long Island, where it might be able to stop a war between the two camps.

The Athena Parthenos will go west; the Argo II will go east. The gods, still suffering from multiple personality disorder, are useless. How can a handful of young demigods hope to persevere against Gaea's army of powerful giants? As dangerous as it is to head to Athens, they have no other option. They have sacrificed too much already. And if Gaea wakes, it is game over.
Hardcover, 528 pages
Expected to be published on October 7, 2014 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 1423146735
ISBN-13: 9781423146735
449 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • combosoldier
    combosoldier10/1/20145 stars
    It came out already!!!!!!!!!!! im so gonna get it!
    • neoncat
      neoncat10/1/2014
      It already came out in the Philippines
      • thesassykitten10/1/2014
        okay Persassy (Percy) and Annabeth do not die, rick made a crossover of them with saddie and carter, but everyone else will probably DIE( and Pico is not a ship it is Pernico ,okay) I don't think someone else here is a fangirl or a fanboy
        • tonyjetter1030
          wow I am exited to read this book when is this coming out? I read all the others but this one
        • oceansurfer
          oceansurfer10/1/2014
          i agree with nick483. reading is a great source of imagnation and it helps create rivals agenst book charater fans. i have seen it before. two girls got into a fight trying to deside who was a better match for percy, annabeth or nico. The fight was freaky weird.
          • coolnicki477
            coolnicki4779/30/20145 stars
            I pre-ordered the book! It comes out next week!
            • nick483
              nick4839/30/2014
              I love reading this book when Percy, annabeth, frank,hazel,piper,Jason,Leo to storm the fire also it is very informative book to read so you guys must read it
              • nosamisfun9/30/2014
                The prophecy of seven duh duh duh....... Okay seven half-bloods shall answer the call. got that percy, annabeth, frank, hazel, piper, jason, leo. to storm or fire the world shall fall. that could mean leo or jason or possibly jason and percy together. an oath to keep with a final breath. that probably means leo's oath to calypso and foes bear arms to the doors of death that has to mean percy, annabeth, bob, and damasen
                • Bob9/30/2014
                  I love this series and this book is a great next adventure.
                  • neoncat
                    neoncat9/28/2014
                    Okay, I know I'm KIND spoiling because the book came out early for some people, but... to ease your worries PERCY, ANNABETH, and NICO DO NOT DIE.
                    • rainbeaux
                      rainbeaux10/1/2014
                      I still want to know how you know this? Besides, spoiler tags? Please? Anyway, that makes sense because then they'll have to resolve the whole Pico subplot. I've said it before and I'll say it again. Percy is meant to be with Annabeth! Killing off any of those character s would be lazy writing that avoids conflict. I'll stop rambling now...
                      • ouroboros
                        ouroboros9/30/2014
                        Everyone besides Percy, Annabeth,and Nico die and Rick Riordan writes a third series about them living alone in a post-apocalyptic world. That, or everyone dies and neoncat was just trolling.
                        • neoncat
                          neoncat10/1/2014
                          I don't troll. The picture of Nico talking about himself to Percy and Annabeth is on Instagram. And since it's page 400-something, I REALLY DOUBT they're going to die within the last few pages. Besides, every social media would have exploded.

                      Most Popular Books This Week

                      Wonder
                      Cages: 9
                      Minecraft: The Official Annual 2014
                      Smile
                      Wonder
                      Magic in the Mix
                      Cages: 9
                      Smile
                      Sisters

                      Latest Kids Books Reviews

                      combosoldier

                      It came out already!!!!!!!!!!! i...
                      The Heroes of Olympus Book Five:...

                      margotcreekside

                      This is a funny and adverterous ...
                      Bad Magic

                      Frankiebabby wrote:

                      great book!
                      Bad Magic

                      coolnicki477

                      The Big Read book of Bdginner Bo...
                      The Big Red Book of Beginner Boo...