The Blood of Olympus Buy Book
Click to Rate

The Blood of Olympus

Borrow
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 9n/an/an/an/a

Though the Greek and Roman crew members of the Argo II have made progress in their many quests, they still seem no closer to defeating the earth mother, Gaea. Her giants have risen-all of them-and they're stronger than ever. They must be stopped before the Feast of Spes, when Gaea plans to have two demigods sacrificed in Athens. She needs their blood-the blood of Olympus-in order to wake.

The demigods are having more frequent visions of a terrible battle at Camp Half-Blood. The Roman legion from Camp Jupiter, led by Octavian, is almost within striking distance. Though it is tempting to take the Athena Parthenos to Athens to use as a secret weapon, the friends know that the huge statue belongs back on Long Island, where it might be able to stop a war between the two camps.

The Athena Parthenos will go west; the Argo II will go east. The gods, still suffering from multiple personality disorder, are useless. How can a handful of young demigods hope to persevere against Gaea's army of powerful giants? As dangerous as it is to head to Athens, they have no other option. They have sacrificed too much already. And if Gaea wakes, it is game over.

 
 

 

Hardcover, 528 pages
Published on October 7, 2014 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 1423146735
ISBN-13: 9781423146735
Fans
924 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • selina
    selinaSaturday, July 18, 2015 at 8:46 am
    I am still reading it and I am at the part where Percy, Annabeth, Jason, Piper, Leo, Hazel and Frank are at war with a bunch of giants. Up til there IT IS AWESOME. I love all the Percy Jackson books!
    • pandy123
      pandy123Sunday, July 12, 2015 at 1:17 pm44 stars
      I waited a long time to get this book. I really liked even though it wasn't as good as I expected it to be. The ending was a little bit disappointing, but I really liked it still, like I like all of the other Percy Jackson books.
      • lilrocks68
        lilrocks68Saturday, June 27, 2015 at 2:31 pm55 stars
        This has to be absolutely one of the best books I have ever read!
        • author4
          author4Wednesday, June 24, 2015 at 10:36 am
          I absolutely love this book! What I like about it is the characters and all the action, friendship, and mystery. I would give this a 10/10.
          • fany13
            fany13Tuesday, June 16, 2015 at 9:39 am33 starsFeatured
            The last book from the Heroes of Olympus series wasn't, sadly, what I expected. Don't get me wrong, I liked the book, but the previous ones had made us believe that this would be the most awesome thing in the world. To be honest, the best parts were the Nico and Reyna chapters. It was good to get in their minds, and know how they saw the world. My biggest disappointments were towards the end: 1- The fight. I expected something more. Gaea is more powerful than Kronos, yet the fight against Kronos took more time. Basically all it took to defeat Gaea was lifting her with the Argo II, and a demigod on fire. 2- On Son of Neptune, Mars tells Frank that Percy is too loyal, and that soon he will face a choice that will be hard to make. On Blood of Olympus Percy tries to go after Piper, Jason, and Leo, because they are his friends. All it took to keep him from going with them was a simple sentence from Frank. 3- Looks like Leo wasn't all that important, because a few days after his death the mood in Camp is happy. We even see Percy and Annabeth laughing. It is only mentioned that the campers are looking at the sky, hoping for Leo to appear, but that's it. I think it is sad that such a great book series ended this way, yet I still love it, specially the last chapter, even though it almost made me cry.
            • klhuerta
              klhuertaMonday, June 15, 2015 at 6:45 amFeatured
              *SPOILERS WARNING* I absolutely LOVED this series! The characters were amazing and had so many different personalities and struggles of their own and I really loved how the author included some of their past and gave them backgrounds instead of just introducing them as they were at that moment. The setting was also explained really well and gave me an image of the where they were in the story. The plot was interesting and I love how with every question I had, there was an answer given. Such as: why couldn't the mortals see the havoc going around right in front of them. The answer: the Mist covered it up and gave mortals a different image than what was really there. Although everything rocked about this book, the ending disappointed me. I thought it was going to end on Percy's point of view but ended up finishing with Leo's. It gave the reader the story of what happened to Leo and how he survived the explosion with Gaea and how Festus took flew him all the way to Ogygia where Calypso was doubtful that he would show. He went there earlier in the story and he fell in love with Calypso and I think its sweet that he came back for her and all but that could have been put in another chapter right before the ending. But he put it in the end because he wanted to show the readers that Leo lived and he was alright so I guess that was a good reason to put that in the last chapter. I didn't want it to end there. But it did and I think the author did a great job with the rest of the story and I see why he ended the book that way. I recommend anyone to READ THIS SERIES. It was amazing and once you start reading you get sucked right into the story. Great book.
              • booknutjob
                booknutjobSunday, June 7, 2015 at 4:55 am55 stars
                I LOVE this book, and all of the other Heroes of Olympus, Percy Jackson and the Olympians, and Kane chronicles books that Riordan has written. So awesome! All of Riordan's books are amazing!
                • booknutjob
                  booknutjobSunday, June 7, 2015 at 4:38 am55 stars
                  I LOVE this book, and all of the other Heroes of Olympus, Percy Jackson and the Olympians, and Kane chronicles books that Riordan has written. So awesome!
                  • homie
                    homieFriday, May 22, 2015 at 10:37 am55 stars
                    Whis i could read it
                    • AnnabethThursday, May 21, 2015 at 3:51 am
                      The series of this book is The heroes of olympus and seven half-bloods; the demigods of The prophecy of seven sails on Argo II. There are two demigod camp; Roman and Greek and they stop Gaia together. In this book, Gaia rises with Percy's blood.... And in the other side, Reyna, Nico, coach Heage goes to Camp Half Blood to put Athena partoes. see this book to travel myth and defeat Gaia. I can not stop reading this book!