The Blood of Olympus

Email
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 9Grade 6n/a5.2111748

Though the Greek and Roman crew members of the Argo II have made progress in their many quests, they still seem no closer to defeating the earth mother, Gaea. Her giants have risen-all of them-and they're stronger than ever. They must be stopped before the Feast of Spes, when Gaea plans to have two demigods sacrificed in Athens. She needs their blood-the blood of Olympus-in order to wake.

The demigods are having more frequent visions of a terrible battle at Camp Half-Blood. The Roman legion from Camp Jupiter, led by Octavian, is almost within striking distance. Though it is tempting to take the Athena Parthenos to Athens to use as a secret weapon, the friends know that the huge statue belongs back on Long Island, where it might be able to stop a war between the two camps.

The Athena Parthenos will go west; the Argo II will go east. The gods, still suffering from multiple personality disorder, are useless. How can a handful of young demigods hope to persevere against Gaea's army of powerful giants? As dangerous as it is to head to Athens, they have no other option. They have sacrificed too much already. And if Gaea wakes, it is game over.

Hardcover, 528 pages
Published on October 7, 2014 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 1423146735
ISBN-13: 9781423146735
Fans
1037 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • jayWednesday, September 14, 2016 at 12:06 pm
    this book is awesome and it is for kids so anybody read it
    • djcoolTuesday, September 13, 2016 at 5:07 pm
      Loved the book i just think they beat gia to quickly, i mean it only took like two pages to beat her, It all just seemed a little forced. Unlike the Percy Jackson and the Olympians, which were the best books i have ever read.
      • yumikothelewis
        yumikothelewisSunday, August 28, 2016 at 7:17 pm
        Amazing book, Love It!
        • #PersassyTuesday, August 23, 2016 at 10:01 am
          Percy Jackson series is the absolute best!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
          • yellow43528
            yellow43528Saturday, August 20, 2016 at 12:02 pm55 stars
            One of my favorite Rick Riordan books. Note Please read this before Trials of Apollo or that book won't make much sense.
            • swirlycool
              swirlycoolSunday, August 14, 2016 at 8:10 am55 stars
              I had a few issues with this book. Well, I was expecting Annabeth and Percy to have a chapter of their point of view. Rick Riordan didn't include that. Those were my favorite demigods. They also had a lot of power to stop Gaia (even though Annabeth has no powers but she's really smart.) My favorite books are the ones with cliffhangers. Cliffhangers always make you buy or read more of the book.
              • SomebodyWednesday, July 20, 2016 at 11:54 am
                BEST BOOK EVER!!! I am a long time fan of Rick Riordan, and this is awesome. A perfect balance of action, fantasy, and any other thing that a book requires!
                • dazzlebook
                  dazzlebookThursday, June 30, 2016 at 9:04 am55 starsFeatured
                  As a fan I am of Rick Riordan I too am sharing a depressing moment. I have loved Percy Jackson since the first book I read of Percy Jackson. But there is now way I will forget the way Rick Riordan embraced the story in a suspenseful way. The blood of Olympus remarks the end of their journey with Percy,Annabeth,Leo,Piper,Jason,Hazel,Frank,Nico and Reyna. Even though Rick Riordan didn't write in the phases of Percy and Annabeth it was abundantly clear the demigods worked their mighty best to defeat Gaia(Greek), Terra(Roman). With obstacles coming through their way they overcame together and survived it through the hard way. This book deserves five stars for Rick Riordans hard work and for the demigods intelligence. (Never forget Leo's jokes).
                  • dazzlebook
                    dazzlebookThursday, June 30, 2016 at 9:05 am55 stars
                    Go Reyna! From Percy Jackson.
                  • I love booksTuesday, June 28, 2016 at 4:33 pm
                    I've been reading all of Rick Riordan's books and this one is just great. It talks about the Greeks and the Romans together so I think that it the characters are like puzzle pieces fitting together to make a team. I think it was really good and would record it to teenagers or 10 year olds who have a sense of adventure and love to fantasy. I also like how the. Whole series can be a learning experience because you learn about all the Greek and Roman gods and different legends and myths. Definitely 5 stars⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
                    • babybunny02
                      babybunny02Monday, June 20, 2016 at 3:29 pm
                      GOD! I love this book, my brother and I have been reading all of Riordan's books: Kane Chronicles, Percy Jackson and the Olympians, and Heroes of Olympus. I got this one for Christmas, and I've read it about 10 times all the way through, but I have my favorite parts.I just wish that it would have ended with Leo going back to Camp Half-Blood instead of when he and Calypso "ride off into the sunset." Still loved it though!