The Heroes of Olympus Book Five: The Blood of Olympus
Click to Rate

The Heroes of Olympus Book Five: The Blood of Olympus

By Rick Riordan
134 ratings655 reviews273 followers
Buy Borrow
Share by EmailShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on TwitterShare on tumblrShare on StumbleUponShare on PinterestShare on RedditShare on Edmodo
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 9n/an/an/an/a

Though the Greek and Roman crew members of the Argo II have made progress in their many quests, they still seem no closer to defeating the earth mother, Gaea. Her giants have risen-all of them-and they're stronger than ever. They must be stopped before the Feast of Spes, when Gaea plans to have two demigods sacrificed in Athens. She needs their blood-the blood of Olympus-in order to wake.

The demigods are having more frequent visions of a terrible battle at Camp Half-Blood. The Roman legion from Camp Jupiter, led by Octavian, is almost within striking distance. Though it is tempting to take the Athena Parthenos to Athens to use as a secret weapon, the friends know that the huge statue belongs back on Long Island, where it might be able to stop a war between the two camps.

The Athena Parthenos will go west; the Argo II will go east. The gods, still suffering from multiple personality disorder, are useless. How can a handful of young demigods hope to persevere against Gaea's army of powerful giants? As dangerous as it is to head to Athens, they have no other option. They have sacrificed too much already. And if Gaea wakes, it is game over.

 
 

Hardcover, 528 pages
Published on October 7, 2014 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 1423146735
ISBN-13: 9781423146735
Fans
655 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • hshgdgTuesday, November 25, 2014 at 12:45 pm
    oh WOW!!!!!! This book is SOOO GOOD! READ IT!!!!!!! ( not request ORDER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!)
    • analise
      analiseMonday, November 24, 2014 at 6:45 pm5 stars
      I AM THE #1 RICK RIORDAN FAN AND I LOVE MYTHOLOGY! I LOVE NORSE, GREEK, ROMAN, EGYPTIAN, CHINESE, JAPANESE, EUROPEAN, NATIVE AMERICAN, AFRICAN, ALASKAN, AND KOREAN MYTHOLOGY! NOT TO MENTION MUCH MORE! THIS BOOK WAS THE BEST OF THE SERIES! IT WAAS THE FINAL *BANG!* My only complaint was the (yet again) cliffhanger
      • spinnypeeps
        spinnypeepsMonday, November 24, 2014 at 5:00 pm5 stars
        Thank you, THANK YOU, THANK YOU Dogo News for helping me win this book!!! I'll give you the best book review you've ever read in return, you've just made me and the hospital kids' dreams come true.
        • analise
          analiseMonday, November 24, 2014 at 6:17 pm5 stars
          Spinnypeeps, OMG CONGRATS! I had to PAY for the book!
        • charmsayshi
          charmsayshiMonday, November 24, 2014 at 11:04 am
          this is boring
          • bobsayshi
            bobsayshiMonday, November 24, 2014 at 11:03 am
            I still want to read it so badly!
            • swimmer_girl02
              swimmer_girl02Saturday, November 22, 2014 at 3:10 pm4 stars
              The story itself was ok, but THE ENDING WAS SO DISAPPOINTING! I am an avid Riordan fan, I have read all of his books. But he ends this book on a cliffhanger! :(
              • ayluma
                aylumaSaturday, November 22, 2014 at 12:36 pm
                (SPOILER ALERT)I read the book very recently. My only complaint is that even though the book doesn't end on a cliffhanger, I really wanted Leo's friends to know that he was alive and with Calypso. Also, It doesn't give you an epilogue, and I need to know what happened to the other characters.
                • gir7747
                  gir7747Friday, November 21, 2014 at 7:15 am
                  I love it but I do not like it at the same time because of the bad cliff hanger in this book is worth reading I like the stuff he writes but the cliff hanger not ever
                  • potatojackson
                    potatojacksonThursday, November 20, 2014 at 6:34 pm
                    I wish that he would still juice it for all it's worth.
                    • frankiebaby
                      frankiebabyThursday, November 20, 2014 at 6:18 pm5 stars
                      I have no idea what happens in this book but I will read it