The Blood of Olympus Buy Book
Click to Rate

The Blood of Olympus

Borrow
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 9n/an/an/an/a

Though the Greek and Roman crew members of the Argo II have made progress in their many quests, they still seem no closer to defeating the earth mother, Gaea. Her giants have risen-all of them-and they're stronger than ever. They must be stopped before the Feast of Spes, when Gaea plans to have two demigods sacrificed in Athens. She needs their blood-the blood of Olympus-in order to wake.

The demigods are having more frequent visions of a terrible battle at Camp Half-Blood. The Roman legion from Camp Jupiter, led by Octavian, is almost within striking distance. Though it is tempting to take the Athena Parthenos to Athens to use as a secret weapon, the friends know that the huge statue belongs back on Long Island, where it might be able to stop a war between the two camps.

The Athena Parthenos will go west; the Argo II will go east. The gods, still suffering from multiple personality disorder, are useless. How can a handful of young demigods hope to persevere against Gaea's army of powerful giants? As dangerous as it is to head to Athens, they have no other option. They have sacrificed too much already. And if Gaea wakes, it is game over.

 
 

 

Hardcover, 528 pages
Published on October 7, 2014 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 1423146735
ISBN-13: 9781423146735
Fans
928 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • maddyp18
    maddyp18Sunday, August 23, 2015 at 2:33 pm55 stars
    I loved this book so so so much. The main characters in this book are Percy, Jason, Annabeth, Reyna, Coach Hedge, Nico, Hazel, Piper, Leo, and Frank. These characters are all demigods, half God and half human. There are two kinds of demigods out of these characters -- Roman and Greek. They go to two different camps, Camp Jupiter and Camp Half Blood. They are going on two different quests out of two different groups. One of the groups is Reina, Coach Hedge, and Nico. The other group is everybody else. The first group is on a quest to deliver the Athena Pathenos to camp Half Blood to stop war between the Romans and the Greeks. The other quest is to stop Gaea from awakening. Gaea is an evil goddess, the Earth. But trouble happens as Reyna, Coach Hedge, and Nico start getting followed by Orion, the Giant Hunter. And trouble also strikes the other group when they get outwitted at the place where Gaea rises. Will the heroes fail utterly or will they end up winning?? The ending is an ultimate cliffhanger. I wish that there was at least one more chapter!!! My favorite characters were Reyna and Annabeth because they are both such good leaders and really brave. I think the message in this story is to try to save the world! If you enjoy fantasy stories you will simply LOVE this!!
    • elvis416
      elvis416Tuesday, August 18, 2015 at 7:32 am55 starsFeatured
      This is an wasome book. It is for ages 7 and up if your a good reader. It is my favorite book of Heros of Olympos. It is about how Rena, Nico, and Coach Hedge are trying to ruturn a magical statue to Camp Half Blood in order to make peace with the Romans. But on the way they are noticing Nico is starting to fade and the Roman Octovon has filthy plans to destroy the camp. Will they return the statue in time to make peace? There is also other problems the Argo 2 ships crew is trying to stop Gea from waking. Will the Romans and Greeks make peace to fix the gods and stop Gea or will Gea win and destroy everything? My favorite part is when all of the gods like an army of gods rush in to stop the Giants and work with their kids! This is a great action packed, Greek Mythology and awsome book that I am sure you will love!
      • LittleWandererSaturday, August 15, 2015 at 10:13 pm
        I read the entirety of the PJO and HoO series. I loved all the books. Rick's got a great sense of humor and his books never fail to entertain. It's hard, now that I'm out of the age range, but I was a baby fourth grader when the book series began and it's been a long journey. Thank you for the great reads, Rick, I've enjoyed them greatly. I really want to hear more from Nico!!! I've written a 15K word story on him but it's incomplete. Help me out, buddy! *spoiler* Rick, while I love it, you must let some characters go, man! You just have to.
        • sport372
          sport372Friday, August 14, 2015 at 9:49 am
          I'v read every single Percy Jackson (and Heroes of Olympus) twice. The reason i'm reviewing The Heroes Of Olympus is because its the last book of both of the series If you haven't heard yet a new series is coming out Magics test or some thing like that. This review was made 2015
          • cjukes
            cjukesSunday, August 9, 2015 at 8:25 am55 stars
            This book is the action finale of this amazing series. 7 demigods led by Percy Jackson unites the Romans and Greeks to fight this war against Gaea. Gaea has monsters and giants that they had to fight. The gods joined them in the battle of their lives, and they won.
            • selina
              selinaSaturday, July 18, 2015 at 8:46 am
              I am still reading it and I am at the part where Percy, Annabeth, Jason, Piper, Leo, Hazel and Frank are at war with a bunch of giants. Up til there IT IS AWESOME. I love all the Percy Jackson books!
              • pandy123
                pandy123Sunday, July 12, 2015 at 1:17 pm44 stars
                I waited a long time to get this book. I really liked even though it wasn't as good as I expected it to be. The ending was a little bit disappointing, but I really liked it still, like I like all of the other Percy Jackson books.
                • lilrocks68
                  lilrocks68Saturday, June 27, 2015 at 2:31 pm55 stars
                  This has to be absolutely one of the best books I have ever read!
                  • author4
                    author4Wednesday, June 24, 2015 at 10:36 am
                    I absolutely love this book! What I like about it is the characters and all the action, friendship, and mystery. I would give this a 10/10.
                    • fany13
                      fany13Tuesday, June 16, 2015 at 9:39 am33 starsFeatured
                      The last book from the Heroes of Olympus series wasn't, sadly, what I expected. Don't get me wrong, I liked the book, but the previous ones had made us believe that this would be the most awesome thing in the world. To be honest, the best parts were the Nico and Reyna chapters. It was good to get in their minds, and know how they saw the world. My biggest disappointments were towards the end: 1- The fight. I expected something more. Gaea is more powerful than Kronos, yet the fight against Kronos took more time. Basically all it took to defeat Gaea was lifting her with the Argo II, and a demigod on fire. 2- On Son of Neptune, Mars tells Frank that Percy is too loyal, and that soon he will face a choice that will be hard to make. On Blood of Olympus Percy tries to go after Piper, Jason, and Leo, because they are his friends. All it took to keep him from going with them was a simple sentence from Frank. 3- Looks like Leo wasn't all that important, because a few days after his death the mood in Camp is happy. We even see Percy and Annabeth laughing. It is only mentioned that the campers are looking at the sky, hoping for Leo to appear, but that's it. I think it is sad that such a great book series ended this way, yet I still love it, specially the last chapter, even though it almost made me cry.