The Heroes of Olympus Book Five: The Blood of Olympus
Click to Rate

The Heroes of Olympus Book Five: The Blood of Olympus

By Rick Riordan
45 ratings343 reviews101 followers
Share by EmailShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on TwitterShare on tumblrShare on StumbleUponShare on PinterestShare on RedditShare on Edmodo
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 9n/an/an/an/a
Though the Greek and Roman crewmembers of the Argo II have made progress in their many quests, they still seem no closer to defeating the earth mother, Gaea. Her giants have risen-all of them-and they're stronger than ever. They must be stopped before the Feast of Spes, when Gaea plans to have two demigods sacrificed in Athens. She needs their blood-the blood of Olympus-in order to wake.

The demigods are having more frequent visions of a terrible battle at Camp Half-Blood. The Roman legion from Camp Jupiter, led by Octavian, is almost within striking distance. Though it is tempting to take the Athena Parthenos to Athens to use as a secret weapon, the friends know that the huge statue belongs back on Long Island, where it might be able to stop a war between the two camps.

The Athena Parthenos will go west; the Argo II will go east. The gods, still suffering from multiple personality disorder, are useless. How can a handful of young demigods hope to persevere against Gaea's army of powerful giants? As dangerous as it is to head to Athens, they have no other option. They have sacrificed too much already. And if Gaea wakes, it is game over.
Hardcover, 528 pages
Expected to be published on October 7, 2014 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 1423146735
ISBN-13: 9781423146735
343 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • spinnypeeps
    spinnypeeps6/8/20145 stars
    I CANNNNNNNOOOOT WAIT!
    • spinnypeeps
      spinnypeeps6/8/20145 stars
      Who's gonna die according to the prophecy? Storm or fire? I'm gonna be SOOO upset if Leo dies! If Leo does, he's gonna get eternal punishment in the underworld because he swore on the River Styx he'll see Calypso again! And he totally doesn't deserve that.
      • hyper_monkey
        hyper_monkey6/9/2014
        That's not necessarily what the line in the prophecy has to mean. Really: world=earth=Gaea. (Most of us figured this out even before it was stated in the book.) So the question of who's going to die, if anyone, is not 'storm or fire', but 'an oath to keep with a final breath'. That's not to say, of course, that Leo is definitely going to die. It may very well not even be any of the seven to make said oath, and who's to say that the one who makes the oath isn't going to live in the end? 'Final breath' may mean last mortal or immortal breath (*cough* Calypso *cough*). And if you're still skeptical that it could be someone outside the prophecy, remember that, at one point, we were all fairly certain that Percy was the hero of the Great Prophecy. SOMETIMES, NO ONE DIES, OKAY? DO NOT QUESTION MY UNBRIDLED OPTIMISM. IT IS DEARLY NEEDED.
        • rainbeaux
          rainbeaux7/5/2014
          The line is: "To storm or fire, the world must fall." So storm and fire aren't falling. They're causing the world to.
      • alicorn
        alicorn6/8/20145 stars
        I am going to die waiting for this book! Not literally like leo... jk! I hope it's not poor leo! My friend would me devastated- when Uriah died in the divergent trilogy, she cried. Then when tris died, she threw the book across the room... We're both equally obsessed with both series, so if Leo dies i'll hope im not in the same room as she is
        • spinnypeeps
          spinnypeeps6/25/20145 stars
          TRIS DIES???????? I'm on the SECOND BOOK!
          • rainbeaux
            rainbeaux7/5/2014
            No... Ummm.... Of course not.... Tris and Tobias defeat everyone and live happily ever after! The end! Maybe...
        • alicorn
          alicorn6/8/20145 stars
          I know this book is going to be really good! Rachel told me!
          • spinnypeeps
            spinnypeeps6/9/20145 stars
            You know Rachel? Cuz I know another Rachel who is craz-E about Percy Jackson and the Heroes of Olympus series!
          • spinnypeeps
            spinnypeeps6/9/20145 stars
            How can we review this book if it didn't come out yet? It should be on the fall or winter reading list.
            • hyper_monkey
              hyper_monkey6/9/2014
              OH MY GODS I JUST REALIZED SOMETHING. Haha, I actually didn't; I just needed your attention. (Sorry.) I was just wondering if someone could start up a conversation, here. I would, but I can't think of anything. My brain's been temporarily murdered by final exams. So . . . debates, anyone? (Or we could all just write little mini-stories/fanfics. I dunno, I'm bored.)
              • hyper_monkey
                hyper_monkey6/13/2014
                YOU GUYS I WAS COUNTING ON YOU LIKE C'MON
                • hyper_monkey
                  hyper_monkey6/13/2014
                  NO SERIOUSLY LET'S TALK ABOUT BoO THAT'S WHAT THIS IS HERE FOR
                  • pipermc11
                    pipermc116/21/2014
                    Well, I know this is a touchy subject, but if someone DOES die, we might as well discuss that. Now, we can rule Annabeth and Percy out. Too important. I think we can take Jason, Piper and Leo out as well. That leaves us with a few characters. Nico might die, because he feels like someone that doesn't belong. Reyna might die, to sacrifice herself for Jason. Possible. Hazel might sacrifice herself since she knows she has already died before, Frank might sacrifice himself with his burning twig, because he knows that's when he'll die, and he'll die a Roman warrior. Octavion might die, and honestly, I think that's more fandom related. Calypso might die to become free, but then again, Leo might die to go be with her...that would be a plot twist. Also, multiple other characters could die for other related reasons...like Clarisse, the Stoll brothers, etc.
                    • rainbeaux
                      rainbeaux7/5/2014
                      I call books where everyone dies a Harry Potter ending. But, Rick Riordian could pull a Divergent on us of course...
              • divergentlover
                divergentlover6/13/20145 stars
                I haven't read it but i know it will be awesome and yes i know Rachel! And i am in your tribe! I am abbie!
                • skylar2403
                  skylar24036/30/2014
                  I hope when this book releases it will be as wonderful as the other books in it's series
                  • rainbeaux
                    rainbeaux7/5/2014
                    I spent the week at GS camp and we watched the two Percy Jackson movies. When everyone started calling actors, I called Jason. The girl next to me called Leo and another girl (who hadn't read THoO) called Nico. I spent the rest of the day discussing Pico with the one who called Leo. Fun!
                    • kimsam123
                      kimsam1237/10/2014
                      I Really Want to read this. :P

                      Most Popular Books This Week

                      Charlotte's Web
                      The Giver (Cascades)
                      Animal Jam: Official Insider's Guide
                      The Giver (Cascades)
                      Charlotte's Web

                      Latest Kids Books Reviews

                      zorba
                      zorba wrote:

                      AMAZING BOOK!!!!! Wilbur, Charlo...
                      Charlotte's Web

                      zorba
                      zorba wrote:

                      I read 2 other books by Esther F...
                      Spirit's Princess (Princesses of...

                      zorba
                      zorba wrote:

                      I read 2 other books by Esther F...
                      Sphinx's Queen (Princesses of Myth)

                      zorba
                      zorba wrote:

                      I read 2 other books by Esther F...
                      Sphinx's Princess (Princesses of...