The Candy Smash (The Lemonade War Series) Buy Book
Click to Rate

The Candy Smash (The Lemonade War Series)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.829694

Jessie and Evan Treski have waged a lemonade war, sought justice in a class trial, and even unmasked a bell thief. Now they are at opposite ends over the right to keep secrets. Evan believes some things (such as his poetry) are private. Jessie believes scandal makes good news. When anonymously sent candy hearts appear in Class 4-0, self-appointed ace reporter Jessie determines to get the scoop on class crushes.

To learn about the Poetry techniques from the book see Author video.


Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on January 8, 2013 by Houghton Mifflin Books for Children
ISBN-10: 0544022084
ISBN-13: 9780544022089
154 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • CheesecakeMonday, November 16, 2015 at 1:52 pm
    I'm reading the book now๐Ÿ˜€๐Ÿ˜€
    • littlebabyswaggyFriday, November 6, 2015 at 7:00 am
      In the book, Jessie has to go to the bathroom. So Mrs. Overton lets her. Every time Jessie goes to the bath room, she goes to the 2nd to the last stall because people don't really use it. When she gets inside, she finds a heart on a door that say M.M + E.T. Jessie knows that E.T stands for Evan Treski, her brother. But maybe knows that M.M stands for Megan Mority.
      • Dgurlzrawsome ๐Ÿ‘๐ŸปThursday, October 15, 2015 at 2:58 pm
        I have the book and I'm in chapter 5 already I can't wait to see what happens next! It is a great book I hope everyone gets a copy and reads it! I love how Jaqueline put in the definitions of each word that may be hard to read. If Jaqueline reads this and responds to me that would brighten my day. I hope you guys enjoy the book and remember Dgurlzrawsome๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป!
        • mikah-123
          mikah-123Sunday, February 8, 2015 at 10:10 am
          Want to read it
          • swimmer_girl02
            swimmer_girl02Sunday, November 23, 2014 at 10:36 am
            I cant believe still Evan is a poet. For someone so... not that smart, I cant believe writing couplets come so easily! I still think Evan likes Megan and vice versa.
            • yellowcake
              yellowcakeMonday, September 29, 2014 at 6:35 pm44 stars
              Jessie sees something in the girls bathroom something that most likely means that someone has a crush on her brother. not only that mystery but someone is mysteriously passing out special candy hearts. Jessie is determined to figure out both mysteries but can she?
              • bluepotato1
                bluepotato1Monday, September 29, 2014 at 4:25 pm55 stars
                The two main characters, Jessie and Evan Treski, are trying to find out who has been leaving everyone candy hearts. They are in class 4-0. Jessie is a reporter, and Evan is a poet.
                • mydogdiva2
                  mydogdiva2Sunday, September 21, 2014 at 10:07 am33 stars
                  I would like to start by thanking Jacqueline Davies for writing this awesome book about the relationship about a brother and sister and capturing the real relationship.
                  • asma234
                    asma234Wednesday, September 10, 2014 at 10:30 am33 stars
                    Evans little sister Jessie is trying to make is Fourth grade year Miserable.Evan has a Valentines day crush,and him and his sister are basically having a war in fourth grade. I enjoyed this book,and I do recommend it to anyone.It was just something I decided to pick up and read when I was bored. I think it's for 2-5th graders. It's really cool,and some parts are kinda funny.I like what the Author does with these series.I wouldn't mind reading another one of these.
                    • 4804119205
                      4804119205Thursday, September 4, 2014 at 6:12 am
                      ilove this book

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      domwan21 wrote:

                      this story is good is talking ab...

                      Shaytards wrote:

                      i love it so much. I love it whe...
                      Old School (Diary of a Wimpy Kid)


                      Its a really cool book I love mi...
                      Minecraft: Diary of the Quest to...

                      gso44 wrote:

                      I watch Once Upon A Time, so thi...
                      Rump: The True Story of Rumpelst...