The Candy Smash (The Lemonade War Series)
Click to Rate

The Candy Smash (The Lemonade War Series)

By Jacqueline Davies
73 ratings146 reviews129 followers
Share by EmailShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on TwitterShare on tumblrShare on StumbleUponShare on PinterestShare on RedditShare on Edmodo
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.829694

Jessie and Evan Treski have waged a lemonade war, sought justice in a class trial, and even unmasked a bell thief. Now they are at opposite ends over the right to keep secrets. Evan believes some things (such as his poetry) are private. Jessie believes scandal makes good news. When anonymously sent candy hearts appear in Class 4-0, self-appointed ace reporter Jessie determines to get the scoop on class crushes.

To learn about the Poetry techniques from the book see Author video.

 

Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on January 8, 2013 by Houghton Mifflin Books for Children
ISBN-10: 0544022084
ISBN-13: 9780544022089
146 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • asma234
    asma2349/10/20143 stars
    Evans little sister Jessie is trying to make is Fourth grade year Miserable.Evan has a Valentines day crush,and him and his sister are basically having a war in fourth grade. I enjoyed this book,and I do recommend it to anyone.It was just something I decided to pick up and read when I was bored. I think it's for 2-5th graders. It's really cool,and some parts are kinda funny.I like what the Author does with these series.I wouldn't mind reading another one of these.
    • 4804119205
      48041192059/4/2014
      ilove this book
      • srebag
        srebag9/1/20143 stars
        This was a good continuing of the Lemonade War series, which I started reading for my summer reading at school last year. I thought it was a good story.
        • ruff8
          ruff88/18/20144 stars
          This is the 4th book in the Lemonade series. Jessie & Evan are back, but now the problem is an argument over keeping secrets. Jessie, being a reporter likes a scandal, but Even thinks some things are private.
          • ifeelbookish
            ifeelbookish8/15/20144 stars
            The fourth book in the Lemonade Wars series follows the life of Evan, a fourth grader who wrestles with a secret crush, Valentines Day arts and crafts, and discovering his true self. His younger sister, Jessie is trying to make Evan's fourth grade year as miserable as possible. The precocious journalist believes everything should be publi; Evan however, believes in privacy. As these two siblings battle eaxh other, they first have to make it through fourth grade. Davies presents a true coming-of-age story of self-discovery, that is sure to entertain fans of the Lemonade Wars series. What I thought about it: I usually prefer first-person point pf views, but in this case I love the third person narrative. The author perfectly described every character's feelings exceedingly well. The hardships that the characters had to overcome were relatable to me, and the story was realistic. The book kind of reminds me of Andrew Clements' novels which I love. The short entries of poetry were very enlightening. I've noticed that the books have become more and more serious as the series progresses, and I hate to admit it, but that's just part of growing up. The added twist to the story was the mystery of the candy hearts and I think that it tied the story together very well. Overall I think that boys and girls alike would enjoy this story. ~ifeelbookish
            • tim0706
              tim07068/13/20142 stars
              I do not like it because it nothing to do with candy and smashing it. I do not get the title even though I usually get the titles.
              • maggieciara
                maggieciara8/4/2014
                Jessie Treski receives a box of candy. So does everyone in class 4-O. Jessie sees a heart on the bathroom that says E.T. + M.M. Jessie, her brother, Evan Treski and her friend, Megan Marrioty have to find out.
                • iserb
                  iserb7/28/20142 stars
                  two kids fought a lemon war. Had a class trial and found a thief . They are fighting over the right to keep secrets. I didn't really like it , it wasn't my type of book. I kinda just scimmed it, so i dont have that much ifo
                  • sweetheart352
                    sweetheart3527/21/2014
                    I want to read this book. I have read all of the other books in the lemonade war series and they were great! I would recommend the lemonade war series.
                    • chocolatecandy5
                      I wonder why the named the book the candy smash and who would smash candy? I really don't like candy even though my username has to do with candy.

                      Most Popular Books This Week

                      Lockwood & Co., Book 2 The Whispering Skull
                      Magic in the Mix
                      Lockwood & Co., Book 2 The Whispering Skull
                      Magic in the Mix
                      Percy Jackson's Greek Gods

                      Latest Kids Books Reviews

                      kerahughes
                      kerahughes wrote:

                      loved it I am in love with diary...
                      Cabin Fever (Diary of a Wimpy Kid)

                      kerahughes
                      kerahughes wrote:

                      h grade teacher read it to us an...
                      The One and Only Ivan

                      kerahughes
                      kerahughes wrote:

                      I haven't read it yet but I hear...
                      Uncle John's Totally Quacked Bat...