The Candy Smash (The Lemonade War Series) Buy Book
Click to Rate

The Candy Smash (The Lemonade War Series)

Borrow
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.829694

Jessie and Evan Treski have waged a lemonade war, sought justice in a class trial, and even unmasked a bell thief. Now they are at opposite ends over the right to keep secrets. Evan believes some things (such as his poetry) are private. Jessie believes scandal makes good news. When anonymously sent candy hearts appear in Class 4-0, self-appointed ace reporter Jessie determines to get the scoop on class crushes.

To learn about the Poetry techniques from the book see Author video.

 

Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on January 8, 2013 by Houghton Mifflin Books for Children
ISBN-10: 0544022084
ISBN-13: 9780544022089
151 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • mikah-123
    mikah-123Sunday, February 8, 2015 at 10:10 am
    Want to read it
    • swimmer_girl02
      swimmer_girl02Sunday, November 23, 2014 at 10:36 am
      I cant believe still Evan is a poet. For someone so... not that smart, I cant believe writing couplets come so easily! I still think Evan likes Megan and vice versa.
      • yellowcake
        yellowcakeMonday, September 29, 2014 at 6:35 pm44 stars
        Jessie sees something in the girls bathroom something that most likely means that someone has a crush on her brother. not only that mystery but someone is mysteriously passing out special candy hearts. Jessie is determined to figure out both mysteries but can she?
        • bluepotato1
          bluepotato1Monday, September 29, 2014 at 4:25 pm55 stars
          The two main characters, Jessie and Evan Treski, are trying to find out who has been leaving everyone candy hearts. They are in class 4-0. Jessie is a reporter, and Evan is a poet.
          • mydogdiva2
            mydogdiva2Sunday, September 21, 2014 at 10:07 am33 stars
            I would like to start by thanking Jacqueline Davies for writing this awesome book about the relationship about a brother and sister and capturing the real relationship.
            • asma234
              asma234Wednesday, September 10, 2014 at 10:30 am33 stars
              Evans little sister Jessie is trying to make is Fourth grade year Miserable.Evan has a Valentines day crush,and him and his sister are basically having a war in fourth grade. I enjoyed this book,and I do recommend it to anyone.It was just something I decided to pick up and read when I was bored. I think it's for 2-5th graders. It's really cool,and some parts are kinda funny.I like what the Author does with these series.I wouldn't mind reading another one of these.
              • 4804119205
                4804119205Thursday, September 4, 2014 at 6:12 am
                ilove this book
                • srebag
                  srebagMonday, September 1, 2014 at 6:27 am33 stars
                  This was a good continuing of the Lemonade War series, which I started reading for my summer reading at school last year. I thought it was a good story.
                  • ruff8
                    ruff8Monday, August 18, 2014 at 2:59 pm44 stars
                    This is the 4th book in the Lemonade series. Jessie & Evan are back, but now the problem is an argument over keeping secrets. Jessie, being a reporter likes a scandal, but Even thinks some things are private.
                    • ifeelbookish
                      ifeelbookishFriday, August 15, 2014 at 4:22 pm44 starsFeatured
                      The fourth book in the Lemonade Wars series follows the life of Evan, a fourth grader who wrestles with a secret crush, Valentines Day arts and crafts, and discovering his true self. His younger sister, Jessie is trying to make Evan's fourth grade year as miserable as possible. The precocious journalist believes everything should be publi; Evan however, believes in privacy. As these two siblings battle eaxh other, they first have to make it through fourth grade. Davies presents a true coming-of-age story of self-discovery, that is sure to entertain fans of the Lemonade Wars series. What I thought about it: I usually prefer first-person point pf views, but in this case I love the third person narrative. The author perfectly described every character's feelings exceedingly well. The hardships that the characters had to overcome were relatable to me, and the story was realistic. The book kind of reminds me of Andrew Clements' novels which I love. The short entries of poetry were very enlightening. I've noticed that the books have become more and more serious as the series progresses, and I hate to admit it, but that's just part of growing up. The added twist to the story was the mystery of the candy hearts and I think that it tied the story together very well. Overall I think that boys and girls alike would enjoy this story. ~ifeelbookish

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      sgand1
                      sgand1 wrote:

                      This is an awesome science-ficti...
                      Above World

                      sgand1
                      sgand1 wrote:

                      This is a great book. It's about...
                      Kingdom Keepers: The Return Book...

                      sgand1
                      sgand1 wrote:

                      This book is incredible! It's ab...
                      Book of the Dead (TombQuest)

                      08sh
                      08sh wrote:

                      I just can't Wait to read it. I ...
                      Heroes of Olympus, The, Book Two...