The Candy Smash (The Lemonade War Series)
Click to Rate

The Candy Smash (The Lemonade War Series)

By Jacqueline Davies
71 ratings144 reviews129 followers
Share by EmailShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on TwitterShare on tumblrShare on StumbleUponShare on PinterestShare on RedditShare on Edmodo
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.829694

Jessie and Evan Treski have waged a lemonade war, sought justice in a class trial, and even unmasked a bell thief. Now they are at opposite ends over the right to keep secrets. Evan believes some things (such as his poetry) are private. Jessie believes scandal makes good news. When anonymously sent candy hearts appear in Class 4-0, self-appointed ace reporter Jessie determines to get the scoop on class crushes.

To learn about the Poetry techniques from the book see Author video.

 

Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on January 8, 2013 by Houghton Mifflin Books for Children
ISBN-10: 0544022084
ISBN-13: 9780544022089
144 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • ruff8
    ruff88/18/20144 stars
    This is the 4th book in the Lemonade series. Jessie & Evan are back, but now the problem is an argument over keeping secrets. Jessie, being a reporter likes a scandal, but Even thinks some things are private.
    • ifeelbookish
      ifeelbookish8/15/20144 stars
      The fourth book in the Lemonade Wars series follows the life of Evan, a fourth grader who wrestles with a secret crush, Valentines Day arts and crafts, and discovering his true self. His younger sister, Jessie is trying to make Evan's fourth grade year as miserable as possible. The precocious journalist believes everything should be publi; Evan however, believes in privacy. As these two siblings battle eaxh other, they first have to make it through fourth grade. Davies presents a true coming-of-age story of self-discovery, that is sure to entertain fans of the Lemonade Wars series. What I thought about it: I usually prefer first-person point pf views, but in this case I love the third person narrative. The author perfectly described every character's feelings exceedingly well. The hardships that the characters had to overcome were relatable to me, and the story was realistic. The book kind of reminds me of Andrew Clements' novels which I love. The short entries of poetry were very enlightening. I've noticed that the books have become more and more serious as the series progresses, and I hate to admit it, but that's just part of growing up. The added twist to the story was the mystery of the candy hearts and I think that it tied the story together very well. Overall I think that boys and girls alike would enjoy this story. ~ifeelbookish
      • tim0706
        tim07068/13/20142 stars
        I do not like it because it nothing to do with candy and smashing it. I do not get the title even though I usually get the titles.
        • maggieciara
          maggieciara8/4/2014
          Jessie Treski receives a box of candy. So does everyone in class 4-O. Jessie sees a heart on the bathroom that says E.T. + M.M. Jessie, her brother, Evan Treski and her friend, Megan Marrioty have to find out.
          • iserb
            iserb7/28/20142 stars
            two kids fought a lemon war. Had a class trial and found a thief . They are fighting over the right to keep secrets. I didn't really like it , it wasn't my type of book. I kinda just scimmed it, so i dont have that much ifo
            • sweetheart352
              sweetheart3527/21/2014
              I want to read this book. I have read all of the other books in the lemonade war series and they were great! I would recommend the lemonade war series.
              • chocolatecandy5
                I wonder why the named the book the candy smash and who would smash candy? I really don't like candy even though my username has to do with candy.
                • mags
                  mags7/14/20145 stars
                  It is a really good book, but you sort of have to read the other books first. It is about two siblings and Valentines day. Evan's sister is a year younger than him, but is smart so she is in the same grade as him. read it!
                  • loveeangelina
                    loveeangelina7/12/20145 stars
                    I love this new series. Jessie and Even are brother and sister. They both love to write. But One is more quiet then the other. Although you should read Lemonade Wars before this book.
                    • popbaby898
                      popbaby8987/12/2014
                      Great book. Fun characters and lots of action. I like this series and have read others in it. I can't wait to see how it ends.

                      Most Popular Books This Week

                      Percy Jackson's Greek Gods
                      The School for Good and Evil
                      Wonder
                      Percy Jackson's Greek Gods
                      The Fourteenth Goldfish
                      Minecraft: Essential Handbook
                      Minecraft: The Official Annual 2014
                      Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Long Haul

                      Latest Kids Books Reviews

                      BODY wrote:

                      THis book is awesome!
                      Divergent (Book 1) (Divergent Se...

                      skoyv
                      skoyv wrote:

                      I would recommend this book beca...
                      The Second Siege: Book Two of Th...

                      skoyv
                      skoyv wrote:

                      I would recommend this book beca...
                      The Hound of Rowan: Book One of ...