The Candy Smash (The Lemonade War Series)
Click to Rate

The Candy Smash (The Lemonade War Series)

By Jacqueline Davies
75 ratings150 reviews129 followers
Buy Borrow
Share by EmailShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on TwitterShare on tumblrShare on StumbleUponShare on PinterestShare on RedditShare on Edmodo
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.829694

Jessie and Evan Treski have waged a lemonade war, sought justice in a class trial, and even unmasked a bell thief. Now they are at opposite ends over the right to keep secrets. Evan believes some things (such as his poetry) are private. Jessie believes scandal makes good news. When anonymously sent candy hearts appear in Class 4-0, self-appointed ace reporter Jessie determines to get the scoop on class crushes.

To learn about the Poetry techniques from the book see Author video.

 

Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on January 8, 2013 by Houghton Mifflin Books for Children
ISBN-10: 0544022084
ISBN-13: 9780544022089
150 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • swimmer_girl02
    swimmer_girl02Sunday, November 23, 2014 at 10:36 am
    I cant believe still Evan is a poet. For someone so... not that smart, I cant believe writing couplets come so easily! I still think Evan likes Megan and vice versa.
    • yellowcake
      yellowcakeMonday, September 29, 2014 at 6:35 pm4 stars
      Jessie sees something in the girls bathroom something that most likely means that someone has a crush on her brother. not only that mystery but someone is mysteriously passing out special candy hearts. Jessie is determined to figure out both mysteries but can she?
      • bluepotato1
        bluepotato1Monday, September 29, 2014 at 4:25 pm5 stars
        The two main characters, Jessie and Evan Treski, are trying to find out who has been leaving everyone candy hearts. They are in class 4-0. Jessie is a reporter, and Evan is a poet.
        • mydogdiva2
          mydogdiva2Sunday, September 21, 2014 at 10:07 am3 stars
          I would like to start by thanking Jacqueline Davies for writing this awesome book about the relationship about a brother and sister and capturing the real relationship.
          • asma234
            asma234Wednesday, September 10, 2014 at 10:30 am3 stars
            Evans little sister Jessie is trying to make is Fourth grade year Miserable.Evan has a Valentines day crush,and him and his sister are basically having a war in fourth grade. I enjoyed this book,and I do recommend it to anyone.It was just something I decided to pick up and read when I was bored. I think it's for 2-5th graders. It's really cool,and some parts are kinda funny.I like what the Author does with these series.I wouldn't mind reading another one of these.
            • 4804119205
              4804119205Thursday, September 4, 2014 at 6:12 am
              ilove this book
              • srebag
                srebagMonday, September 1, 2014 at 6:27 am3 stars
                This was a good continuing of the Lemonade War series, which I started reading for my summer reading at school last year. I thought it was a good story.
                • ruff8
                  ruff8Monday, August 18, 2014 at 2:59 pm4 stars
                  This is the 4th book in the Lemonade series. Jessie & Evan are back, but now the problem is an argument over keeping secrets. Jessie, being a reporter likes a scandal, but Even thinks some things are private.
                  • ifeelbookish
                    ifeelbookishFriday, August 15, 2014 at 4:22 pm4 stars
                    The fourth book in the Lemonade Wars series follows the life of Evan, a fourth grader who wrestles with a secret crush, Valentines Day arts and crafts, and discovering his true self. His younger sister, Jessie is trying to make Evan's fourth grade year as miserable as possible. The precocious journalist believes everything should be publi; Evan however, believes in privacy. As these two siblings battle eaxh other, they first have to make it through fourth grade. Davies presents a true coming-of-age story of self-discovery, that is sure to entertain fans of the Lemonade Wars series. What I thought about it: I usually prefer first-person point pf views, but in this case I love the third person narrative. The author perfectly described every character's feelings exceedingly well. The hardships that the characters had to overcome were relatable to me, and the story was realistic. The book kind of reminds me of Andrew Clements' novels which I love. The short entries of poetry were very enlightening. I've noticed that the books have become more and more serious as the series progresses, and I hate to admit it, but that's just part of growing up. The added twist to the story was the mystery of the candy hearts and I think that it tied the story together very well. Overall I think that boys and girls alike would enjoy this story. ~ifeelbookish
                    • tim0706
                      tim0706Wednesday, August 13, 2014 at 6:23 pm2 stars
                      I do not like it because it nothing to do with candy and smashing it. I do not get the title even though I usually get the titles.

                      Most Popular Books This Week

                      The Blood of Olympus
                      Divergent
                      Treasure Hunters: (Treasure Hunters 1)
                      Wonder
                      Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Long Haul
                      Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Long Haul
                      Wonder
                      The Blood of Olympus
                      Divergent
                      Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Hard Luck (Book 8)

                      Latest Kids Books Reviews

                      analise
                      analise wrote:

                      foodie, right here! (points to s...
                      Kids Cookbook: A Year-Round Fun ...

                      booknerd717

                      Sarah weeks is one of my favorit...
                      As Simple as It Seems

                      booknerd717

                      Totally agree with you!
                      Wonder