Smile
Click to Rate

Smile

By Raina Telgemeier
563 ratings922 reviews890 followers
Share by EmailShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on TwitterShare on tumblrShare on StumbleUponShare on PinterestShare on RedditShare on Edmodo
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 1S2.68270
From the artist of BSC Graphix comes this humorous coming-of-age true story about the dental drama that ensues after a trip-and-fall mishap.

Raina just wants to be a normal sixth grader. But one night after Girl Scouts she trips and falls, severely injuring her two front teeth. What follows is a long and frustrating journey with on-again, off-again braces, surgery, embarrassing headgear, and even a retainer with fake teeth attached. And on top of all that, there's still more to deal with: a major earthquake, boy confusion, and friends who turn out to be not so friendly.
Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on February 1, 2010 by GRAPHIX
ISBN-10: 0545132053
ISBN-13: 9780545132053
922 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • mandm2000
    mandm20007/4/2014
    I love this book. I think it really inspires me because my teeth arent perfect and never have been, so I think this book can give a lot of people really good confidence. I know it did for me!!!!!!!!!!:):)
    • stinkerbuddy
      stinkerbuddy7/1/20145 stars
      because it's awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
      • foodgirl
        foodgirl6/30/20145 stars
        This book is really good, awesome, and epic! If you read it have a fun time. It is out of this world.
        • mindy910
          mindy9106/28/2014
          smile is probably the best book ive ever read in my life-well, one of them, at LEAST!!!!
          • happyface7
            happyface76/24/2014
            I so want to read this
            • qasww1
              qasww16/19/20144 stars
              love this book! yaa!
              • coolnicki477
                coolnicki4776/19/2014
                Raina loses her two front teeth, on the way walking home after girl scouts. She goes through, fake teeth, braces, and a doctor who was supposed to "fix" her gums, but only made them worse. She goes through boy problems and more problems with friends. Will her teeth ever get straight?! Find out by reading Smile! Based on a true story by the author!
                • coolnicki477
                  coolnicki4776/19/2014
                  This is based on a true story about the author, so Raina loses her two front teeth,on the walk home after girl scouts. She goes through, fake teeth, braces, and a doctor who was supposed to "fix" her gums, but only made them worse. She goes through boy problems and more problems with friends. Will her teeth ever get straight?! Find out by reading Smile!
                • dogo256
                  dogo2566/19/20145 stars
                  This is the perfect book for people who have braces. Raina takes a nasty fall and has to get all of the fancy head gear. What I like about this book is that is a true story that happened to the author.
                  • qasww1
                    qasww16/19/20144 stars
                    I like this book because it is a good book. This book would be for grade 3 to 7. If you like comics and true storys you will like the book. It is about Raina Telgemeier falling while chasing her friend and falls on her face and knocks out her front teeth so sad!

                    Most Popular Books This Week

                    Charlotte's Web
                    My Big Fat Zombie Goldfish
                    Home Sweet Horror (Scary Tales)
                    Animal Jam: Official Insider's Guide
                    Angry Birds Explore the World
                    Out of My Mind
                    Dragonling Collector's Edition: Volume 2

                    Latest Kids Books Reviews

                    sweetheart352

                    This book is just amazing. About...
                    Tuesdays at the Castle

                    sweetheart352

                    A great book about two unlikely ...
                    Ivy + Bean, Book 1

                    sweetheart352

                    I want to read this book. I have...
                    The Candy Smash (The Lemonade Wa...

                    jazzyhands
                    jazzyhands wrote:

                    The ending is mysterious, and yo...
                    The Giver (Cascades)