Smile
Click to Rate

Smile

By Raina Telgemeier
591 ratings1020 reviews960 followers
Share by EmailShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on TwitterShare on tumblrShare on StumbleUponShare on PinterestShare on RedditShare on Edmodo
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 1S2.68270
From the artist of BSC Graphix comes this humorous coming-of-age true story about the dental drama that ensues after a trip-and-fall mishap.

Raina just wants to be a normal sixth grader. But one night after Girl Scouts she trips and falls, severely injuring her two front teeth. What follows is a long and frustrating journey with on-again, off-again braces, surgery, embarrassing headgear, and even a retainer with fake teeth attached. And on top of all that, there's still more to deal with: a major earthquake, boy confusion, and friends who turn out to be not so friendly.
Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on February 1, 2010 by GRAPHIX
ISBN-10: 0545132053
ISBN-13: 9780545132053
1020 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • babyshy16
    babyshy16Friday, October 24, 2014 at 11:29 am
    you just dont now how good it is
    • babyshy16
      babyshy16Friday, October 24, 2014 at 11:29 am
      this book is the best book that i ever read and it like the ending when eveer the girl had a man on her siad and the more she go talk the more she loved it
      • turquoise
        turquoiseFriday, October 24, 2014 at 8:33 am
        I LOVE SMILE
        • HanFriday, October 24, 2014 at 8:30 am
          This book is the best book.
          • stephaniehernandez
            stephaniehernandezThursday, October 23, 2014 at 7:56 am5 stars
            This book is really good i recommend this book for everyone
            • cmull
              cmullTuesday, October 21, 2014 at 11:34 am5 stars
              Really good, I have read the 2nd one too.
              • bumblebee25
                bumblebee25Monday, October 20, 2014 at 10:13 pm
                "Smile" is a funny funny book i definitely suggest this book!!!
                • bluecruise
                  bluecruiseMonday, October 20, 2014 at 9:18 pm5 stars
                  Smile is a wonderful book about a girl that accidentally trips and loses her two front teeth all over again. She goes through many challenges in real life. For example, she faces with bullies, has teeth pain, and survives through an earthquake. Smile is a book that encourages others to smile, even if you don't feel like it. I
                  • caseyryba
                    caseyrybaMonday, October 20, 2014 at 6:15 pm
                    HI GUYS I'M KINDA NEW SO FOLLOW ME PLZ!!!!!!thx
                    • LizzyMonday, October 20, 2014 at 1:41 pm
                      I love this book because I have very crooked teeth. And bad breath. I can fix the bad breath, but my teeth? I wasn't so sure. People would look at my teeth and say, "You know, Lizzy, you need braces. Badly." Even my friends would say that, and it's a big deal to me. I want to have nice teeth when I grow up and I'm so scared of braces. My friends have them and they say it hurts real bad. I am so upset about them, and for a while I thought I would never be able to fix them. I have this one tooth that is all the way in the back and one that is tilted to the side. I even thought I might have fake teeth! But after reading Smile, I gained much more confidence. "If Raina can go through all of that and still have a beautiful smile, then I should be able to have something just as good hers!" I think. Thank you Raina for giving me so much more confidence in my life. Great book! It's a very easy book to read, not much hard vocabulary, especially since it is pretty much just comics (which is great for people who absolutely HATE books!). Also great for girls who are going through "boy trouble" like me! I like to think that I'll eventually find someone I love, but I guess I can't always expect that to happen. This is a well-written book with lots of funny parts and drama. I recommend it to tweens and people who are heading into junior high, but not people heading into high school.
                      • divergentrocks
                        divergentrocksTuesday, October 21, 2014 at 1:38 pm
                        Wow, Lizzy that is really inspirational. I hope that you manage to get a healthy smile!

                      Most Popular Books This Week

                      Smile
                      Wonder
                      Minecraft: The Official Annual 2014
                      Cages: 9
                      Smile
                      Wonder
                      Cages: 9
                      Magic in the Mix

                      Latest Kids Books Reviews

                      gowiththeflow

                      Lots of magic
                      Bliss

                      Faizan wrote:

                      The book was good, but the nerd ...
                      Middle School Nerd Avengers: Ris...

                      Faizan wrote:

                      the book nerd avengers was reall...
                      Middle School Nerd Avengers: Ris...