Smile

Email
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 1 - 5S2.68270
From the artist of BSC Graphix comes this humorous coming-of-age true story about the dental drama that ensues after a trip-and-fall mishap.

Raina just wants to be a normal sixth grader. But one night after Girl Scouts she trips and falls, severely injuring her two front teeth. What follows is a long and frustrating journey with on-again, off-again braces, surgery, embarrassing headgear, and even a retainer with fake teeth attached. And on top of all that, there's still more to deal with: a major earthquake, boy confusion, and friends who turn out to be not so friendly.
Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on February 1, 2010 by GRAPHIX
ISBN-10: 0545132053
ISBN-13: 9780545132053
2049 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • batmanlover1239
    batmanlover1239Tuesday, August 23, 2016 at 8:25 am55 stars
    I really like this book.It is the best book you could ever read.Its about a girl who gets her front teeth knocked out. And on top of all that, there's still more to deal with an earthquake, boy trouble, and unfriendly friends.So yeah if you have read it...check it out at the library. :-)
    • ChicagoMonday, August 22, 2016 at 7:41 am
      The best
      • ChicagoMonday, August 22, 2016 at 7:41 am
        This book is the best. A1 for Day 1
        • meatball23
          meatball23Thursday, August 18, 2016 at 7:55 pm55 stars
          I loved this book so much. It was super-duper funny. I liked the part when a man's golf ball went into the lake and they went to go and get it and an alligator came chompping out of the water and the golf ball was nowhere to be seen.
          • kjtennis
            kjtennisTuesday, August 16, 2016 at 5:47 am
            Raina is a rising teenager with the same problems as everyone else: Boys, makeup, popularity, etc. But a tragic fall that damages her teeth can turn her everyday, normal life into "a long and frustrating journey" of braces, retainers, surgery, and more. And to add on to that comes drama, relationships, friendships, an earthquake, and puberty. Can Raina survive it all? Will her teeth ever become normal again? This book is SO good, and the illustrations are fabulous! If you like graphic novels and coming of age stories, you will love Smile! Fun Fact: This is a true story! :) ;)
            • bunnyzhang
              bunnyzhangSaturday, August 13, 2016 at 6:31 am
              absolutely love
              • escapethenight
                escapethenightFriday, August 12, 2016 at 12:32 am55 stars
                this book is one of my fave true story books it was inspiring and i really like how its her life journey and in a comic sort of layout.i have the book at home and i read it over and over
                • escapethenight
                  escapethenightFriday, August 12, 2016 at 12:01 am55 stars
                  this book is one of my fave true story books
                  • funtime-chica
                    funtime-chicaMonday, August 8, 2016 at 5:38 am55 stars
                    Its a good book
                    • K.MThursday, August 4, 2016 at 6:22 pm
                      This book looks so cool I am reading this book at my school.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      trenton wrote:

                      jake and aney wet to greceec and...
                      Hour of the Olympics (Magic Tree...

                      amari wrote:

                      i have not read it yet
                      Hour of the Olympics (Magic Tree...

                      leecifur
                      leecifur wrote:

                      THIS BOOK IS AWESOME!!! I person...
                      Tuesdays at the Castle