Smile
Click to Rate

Smile

By Raina Telgemeier
566 ratings923 reviews891 followers
Share by EmailShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on TwitterShare on tumblrShare on StumbleUponShare on PinterestShare on RedditShare on Edmodo
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 1S2.68270
From the artist of BSC Graphix comes this humorous coming-of-age true story about the dental drama that ensues after a trip-and-fall mishap.

Raina just wants to be a normal sixth grader. But one night after Girl Scouts she trips and falls, severely injuring her two front teeth. What follows is a long and frustrating journey with on-again, off-again braces, surgery, embarrassing headgear, and even a retainer with fake teeth attached. And on top of all that, there's still more to deal with: a major earthquake, boy confusion, and friends who turn out to be not so friendly.
Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on February 1, 2010 by GRAPHIX
ISBN-10: 0545132053
ISBN-13: 9780545132053
923 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • maddyp18
    maddyp187/30/20145 stars
    I loved this book so so so so so much!!!!!! It is about a girl who knocks a tooth out, needs to get braces, and makes lots of new friends. I think the message in this story is ''be brave''. I hope you like it!!!!!!!
    • wildchild999
      wildchild9997/26/20145 stars
      raina has a overbite and needs braces. one night after girl scouts her friends start racing to raina's house. raina trips and falls and knocks out her two front teeth its a long step by step process until her teeth are normal. it included headgear, crossbite, root canals, plus much more. many things happened before her teeth were fixed boy drama, mean friends who pansed her, an major earthquake, a new high school and new friends and the most interesting thing is it all happened to the author!!!!
      • buttercupllama7/25/2014
        This book was very entertaining! i loved reading it! i read it twice. Grade 4 and up!
        • tenzin2005
          tenzin20057/23/20145 stars
          i like this book because it reminds me when i went to the dentist
          • mandm2000
            mandm20007/4/2014
            I love this book. I think it really inspires me because my teeth arent perfect and never have been, so I think this book can give a lot of people really good confidence. I know it did for me!!!!!!!!!!:):)
            • stinkerbuddy
              stinkerbuddy7/1/20145 stars
              because it's awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
              • foodgirl
                foodgirl6/30/20145 stars
                This book is really good, awesome, and epic! If you read it have a fun time. It is out of this world.
                • mindy910
                  mindy9106/28/2014
                  smile is probably the best book ive ever read in my life-well, one of them, at LEAST!!!!
                  • happyface7
                    happyface76/24/2014
                    I so want to read this
                    • dogo256
                      dogo2566/19/20145 stars
                      This is the perfect book for people who have braces. Raina takes a nasty fall and has to get all of the fancy head gear. What I like about this book is that is a true story that happened to the author.

                      Most Popular Books This Week

                      Animal Jam: Official Insider's Guide
                      Island of the Blue Dolphins
                      Weird but True! Ripped from the Headlines
                      Charlotte's Web
                      Weird but True! Ripped from the Headlines
                      Animal Jam: Official Insider's Guide
                      Hello Baby
                      My Sister, the Creep (An Apple Paperback)

                      Latest Kids Books Reviews

                      ikyra_marie

                      Love her songs!i suggest you don...
                      Taylor Swift: Country's Sweethea...

                      spinnypeeps

                      Definitely my favorite book out ...
                      The Son of Neptune (Heroes of Ol...

                      coolnicki477

                      Its filled with amazing facts th...
                      Weird but True! Ripped from the ...

                      jessapark
                      jessapark wrote:

                      this book includes some part of ...
                      Hello Baby