Smile
Click to Rate

Smile

By Raina Telgemeier
566 ratings924 reviews892 followers
Share by EmailShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on TwitterShare on tumblrShare on StumbleUponShare on PinterestShare on RedditShare on Edmodo
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 1S2.68270
From the artist of BSC Graphix comes this humorous coming-of-age true story about the dental drama that ensues after a trip-and-fall mishap.

Raina just wants to be a normal sixth grader. But one night after Girl Scouts she trips and falls, severely injuring her two front teeth. What follows is a long and frustrating journey with on-again, off-again braces, surgery, embarrassing headgear, and even a retainer with fake teeth attached. And on top of all that, there's still more to deal with: a major earthquake, boy confusion, and friends who turn out to be not so friendly.
Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on February 1, 2010 by GRAPHIX
ISBN-10: 0545132053
ISBN-13: 9780545132053
924 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • wildchild999
    wildchild9997/31/20145 stars
    loooooove it
    • maddyp18
      maddyp187/30/20145 stars
      I loved this book so so so so so much!!!!!! It is about a girl who knocks a tooth out, needs to get braces, and makes lots of new friends. I think the message in this story is ''be brave''. I hope you like it!!!!!!!
      • wildchild999
        wildchild9997/26/20145 stars
        raina has a overbite and needs braces. one night after girl scouts her friends start racing to raina's house. raina trips and falls and knocks out her two front teeth its a long step by step process until her teeth are normal. it included headgear, crossbite, root canals, plus much more. many things happened before her teeth were fixed boy drama, mean friends who pansed her, an major earthquake, a new high school and new friends and the most interesting thing is it all happened to the author!!!!
        • buttercupllama7/25/2014
          This book was very entertaining! i loved reading it! i read it twice. Grade 4 and up!
          • tenzin2005
            tenzin20057/23/20145 stars
            i like this book because it reminds me when i went to the dentist
            • mandm2000
              mandm20007/4/2014
              I love this book. I think it really inspires me because my teeth arent perfect and never have been, so I think this book can give a lot of people really good confidence. I know it did for me!!!!!!!!!!:):)
              • stinkerbuddy
                stinkerbuddy7/1/20145 stars
                because it's awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
                • foodgirl
                  foodgirl6/30/20145 stars
                  This book is really good, awesome, and epic! If you read it have a fun time. It is out of this world.
                  • mindy910
                    mindy9106/28/2014
                    smile is probably the best book ive ever read in my life-well, one of them, at LEAST!!!!
                    • happyface7
                      happyface76/24/2014
                      I so want to read this

                      Most Popular Books This Week

                      Percy Jackson's Greek Gods
                      Wonder
                      Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Long Haul
                      Diary of a Wimpy Kid, Book 1
                      Percy Jackson's Greek Gods
                      Wonder
                      Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Long Haul
                      Wonder

                      Latest Kids Books Reviews

                      happyface221

                      I think that they should make a ...
                      Of Poseidon

                      happyface221

                      I Super doper wanna read this book
                      The Mermaid's Mirror

                      cerulian
                      cerulian wrote:

                      This is book is the story of a p...
                      Harry Potter & the Sorcerer's St...