Ruby Holler (Carnegie Medal (Awards))
Click to Rate

Ruby Holler (Carnegie Medal (Awards))

By Sharon Creech
13 ratings13 reviews25 followers
Buy Borrow
Share by EmailShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on TwitterShare on tumblrShare on StumbleUponShare on PinterestShare on RedditShare on Edmodo
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 4V4.344907
As they pulled onto a narrow dirt road, Sairy said, "You are now entering Ruby Holler, the one and only Ruby Holler! Your lives are never going to be the same -- "

Dallas and Florida have been dubbed the "trouble twins." They have been shuffled between foster families and orphanages all their lives, longing only for a loving place to call home, though mistrustful that one exists for the likes of them.

Tiller and Sairy are an eccentric, older couple whose children are grown and long gone, and they're each restless for one more big adventure while their bodies are still spry enough to paddle a river or climb a mountain.

Ruby Holler is the beautiful, mysterious place that changes all of their lives forever. When Tiller and Sairy invite Dallas and Florida to stay with them and keep them company on their adventures, the magic of the Holler takes over, and the two kids begin to think that maybe, just maybe the old folks aren't so bad....

Filled with humor, poignancy, cookies, and treasure maps, Newbery Medal winner Sharon Creech's Ruby Holler is a delightful book about a special place where it's never too late to be loved.

Paperback, 310 pages
Published on December 23, 2003 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0060560150
ISBN-13: 9780060560157
13 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • raytheeny
    raytheenyTuesday, October 28, 2014 at 5:50 pm
    It is cool
    • vonicat
      vonicatSunday, May 4, 2014 at 12:48 pm5 stars
      I keep reading it again and again, I really love this book!
      • madroberts
        Mrs. RobertsSaturday, April 26, 2014 at 4:50 am
        Students enjoy the adventures of Dallas and Florida, two orphan twins. Their well-meaning behavior tests their foster parents, Tiller and Sairy; but they realize acceptance and security at Ruby Holler, while learning the identity of one of the mysterious characters.
        • phoenixfeather
          phoenixfeatherTuesday, October 8, 2013 at 1:28 pm4 stars
          A great book about two twins- Florida, the rather strong girl, and Dallas,a boy lost in his spectacular daydreams- and how they escape Boxton's Home for Children, run by the twisted Trepids, and reside in a magical place that goes by the name of Ruby Holler with an elderly couple, Sairy andTiller. Thos book is very good and I highly reccomend it~
          • wordnerd7
            wordnerd7Thursday, October 3, 2013 at 12:29 pm
            Suuch a great book, cant wait to read all the other books by Sharon Creech
            • dabombblaster
              dabombblasterMonday, September 30, 2013 at 3:16 pm4 stars
              really good so far
              • brannancreekside
                brannancreeksideFriday, September 27, 2013 at 9:34 am
                this is funny and cool. That was very mysterious when the guy gave him money to rob their house.
                • campbellcreekside
                  campbellcreeksideFriday, September 27, 2013 at 9:32 am5 stars
                  This is a great book. The author did a great job of describing the land and nature. I think everyone should read it.
                  • Polka DotWednesday, August 29, 2012 at 10:58 am
                    This book will touch your heart. It is sweet and the characters are funny. This is an amazing book
                    • thechosen1
                      thechosen1Saturday, June 23, 2012 at 1:39 pm5 stars
                      When I was young I tried reading this book. Now that I can, I really liked it and in still do! I love it so very much

                      Most Popular Books This Week

                      Smile
                      Wonder
                      Minecraft: The Official Annual 2014
                      Cages: 9
                      When You Reach Me
                      Smile
                      Wonder

                      Latest Kids Books Reviews

                      addy
                      addy wrote:

                      I read this book because I liked...
                      Poor Little Witch Girl

                      etfantastic

                      Normally I don't think anything ...
                      When You Reach Me

                      jjbee1979
                      jjbee1979 wrote:

                      I never read any of the other Jo...
                      The Key That Swallowed Joey Pigza