Ruby Holler (Carnegie Medal (Awards)) Buy Book
Click to Rate

Ruby Holler (Carnegie Medal (Awards))

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 4V4.344907
As they pulled onto a narrow dirt road, Sairy said, "You are now entering Ruby Holler, the one and only Ruby Holler! Your lives are never going to be the same -- "

Dallas and Florida have been dubbed the "trouble twins." They have been shuffled between foster families and orphanages all their lives, longing only for a loving place to call home, though mistrustful that one exists for the likes of them.

Tiller and Sairy are an eccentric, older couple whose children are grown and long gone, and they're each restless for one more big adventure while their bodies are still spry enough to paddle a river or climb a mountain.

Ruby Holler is the beautiful, mysterious place that changes all of their lives forever. When Tiller and Sairy invite Dallas and Florida to stay with them and keep them company on their adventures, the magic of the Holler takes over, and the two kids begin to think that maybe, just maybe the old folks aren't so bad....

Filled with humor, poignancy, cookies, and treasure maps, Newbery Medal winner Sharon Creech's Ruby Holler is a delightful book about a special place where it's never too late to be loved.

Paperback, 310 pages
Published on December 23, 2003 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0060560150
ISBN-13: 9780060560157
15 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • al3720
    al3720Saturday, October 31, 2015 at 1:31 pm55 stars
    I love this book soooo much. I have read it like eight times. The first time I heard it was either in third or forth grade.
    • pottergirl
      pottergirlThursday, May 14, 2015 at 2:10 pm55 stars
      Very good book, for bravery and courage. Cool setting and perfect characters. I would love to live in a place like that.
      • kpollard
        kpollardThursday, January 22, 2015 at 10:04 am
        I like how Tiller and Sairy took them under their wing as kids and took chances and didn't hurt them at all.
        • raytheeny
          raytheenyTuesday, October 28, 2014 at 5:50 pm
          It is cool
          • vonicat
            vonicatSunday, May 4, 2014 at 12:48 pm55 stars
            I keep reading it again and again, I really love this book!
            • madroberts
              Mrs. RobertsSaturday, April 26, 2014 at 4:50 amFeatured
              Students enjoy the adventures of Dallas and Florida, two orphan twins. Their well-meaning behavior tests their foster parents, Tiller and Sairy; but they realize acceptance and security at Ruby Holler, while learning the identity of one of the mysterious characters.
              • phoenixfeather
                phoenixfeatherTuesday, October 8, 2013 at 1:28 pm44 stars
                A great book about two twins- Florida, the rather strong girl, and Dallas,a boy lost in his spectacular daydreams- and how they escape Boxton's Home for Children, run by the twisted Trepids, and reside in a magical place that goes by the name of Ruby Holler with an elderly couple, Sairy andTiller. Thos book is very good and I highly reccomend it~
                • xdarkwolfx
                  xdarkwolfxMonday, September 30, 2013 at 3:16 pm44 stars
                  really good so far
                  • brannancreekside
                    brannancreeksideFriday, September 27, 2013 at 9:34 am
                    this is funny and cool. That was very mysterious when the guy gave him money to rob their house.
                    • campbellcreekside
                      campbellcreeksideFriday, September 27, 2013 at 9:32 am55 stars
                      This is a great book. The author did a great job of describing the land and nature. I think everyone should read it.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      miehl_55 wrote:

                      "The Miraculous Journey of Edwar...
                      The Miraculous Journey of Edward...

                      pinky1616 wrote:

                      havent read but looks and seems ...
                      Dork Diaries 10: Tales from a No...