I Survived the Shark Attacks of 1916

Book 4 of 15 in the I Survived Series
Email
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5R3.910272
Based on true events! It's the summer of 1916 and the Jersey shore is being terrorized by a Great White shark. Can 10-year-old Chet and his friends survive a swim in the local creek?

In the summer of 1916, ten year-old Chet Roscow is captivated by the local news: A great white shark has been attacking and killing people up and down the Atlantic coast, not far from Chet's hometown of Springfield, New Jersey.

Then one day, swimming with his friends, Chet sees something in the water ...
Hardcover, 112 pages
Published on September 1, 2010 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 054520688X
ISBN-13: 9780545206884
59 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • thedoglover1234
    thedoglover1234Monday, June 13, 2016 at 6:35 am
    So awesome.
    • nonstopreader
      nonstopreaderWednesday, June 8, 2016 at 11:16 am
      I love this series! I am always excited when a new one comes out. This book focuses on the scary Shark attacks of 1916. This book is one of my favorites in the series.
      • fuzzle
        fuzzleWednesday, May 25, 2016 at 2:01 pm
        I have to admit, this cover totally scared me when I first saw the book. To be perfectly honest when ever I was holding the book while reading, I always put my fingers FAR, far away from the sharks mouth. No joke. I only stopped that at the middle of the end chapter. Speaking of the honest truth I think the author did a very good job making the book realistic, like after Chett narrowly escapes the shark and vomits, I feel like how he reacted is like any other kid in the world. Overall i like this superb book and recommend it to people of all ages!
        • MonkeyThursday, May 19, 2016 at 3:02 pm
          I like it
          • they love me Thursday, March 24, 2016 at 8:59 am
            I loved this book it means a lot to me because my dad died to a shark bite while he was suffering. so for me to read this book and see that other people have went to most of the things that I have that made me feel really good. this book also inspired me to surf again after my dads passing. this is why I loved this book!!!!!!! I think anyone who reads this book will love it just like I do................................
            • monkey14
              monkey14Monday, March 21, 2016 at 6:45 am55 stars
              I loved this book! It has so much detail, this was one of my favorite books you should really read it!!!
              • johnbard109Monday, February 15, 2016 at 11:58 am
                It was awesome at the ending. My favorite part was that Neal's friend saved him from a shark in the water.
                • AwesomeBella022Tuesday, January 26, 2016 at 3:08 pm
                  I thought it was AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :)
                  • AwesomeBella022Tuesday, January 26, 2016 at 3:06 pm
                    I really liked the book, it had lots of details
                    • shopkin305
                      shopkin305Saturday, October 24, 2015 at 7:19 am
                      once mom talked to the author

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      mandm2000
                      mandm2000 wrote:

                      Omg. This book is so good. At fi...
                      Boys of Summer

                      nonstopreader

                      This book is really good. This b...
                      Fish in a Tree

                      awesomessb
                      awesomessb wrote:

                      Is this the New 52 origin?
                      Wonder Woman Bio (Backstories)

                      waterlily1255

                      A girl, waiting for something ma...
                      The Finisher (Vega Jane, Book 1)