I Survived the Shark Attacks of 1916
Click to Rate

I Survived the Shark Attacks of 1916

By Lauren Tarshis
Buy Borrow
Share by EmailShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on TwitterShare on tumblrShare on StumbleUponShare on PinterestShare on RedditShare on Edmodo
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 3R3.910272
Based on true events! It's the summer of 1916 and the Jersey shore is being terrorized by a Great White shark. Can 10-year-old Chet and his friends survive a swim in the local creek?

In the summer of 1916, ten year-old Chet Roscow is captivated by the local news: A great white shark has been attacking and killing people up and down the Atlantic coast, not far from Chet's hometown of Springfield, New Jersey.

Then one day, swimming with his friends, Chet sees something in the water ...
Hardcover, 112 pages
Published on September 1, 2010 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 054520688X
ISBN-13: 9780545206884
34 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • FrankyTuesday, March 3, 2015 at 12:36 pm
    I loved the book,it has a great mystery,I think everyone should read it!
    • edmodo-zyr3tcbxjf
      edmodo-zyr3tcbxjfMonday, November 17, 2014 at 9:48 am5 stars
      This book was an ok book because it seemed sad to me because one of the boy jumped in and he got heart and he went to the doters and when he went over there he got cast his family was sad for him.
      • goblin123
        goblin123Friday, November 14, 2014 at 10:46 am
        amazing that is so cool
        • cnusd296139
          cnusd296139Monday, October 13, 2014 at 8:49 pm5 stars
          Aidde is awsome just like this book addie its me danielle hello peace players bye now bye bye:-)
          • aorozco
            aorozcoMonday, October 13, 2014 at 3:43 pm
            this book is really interesting I liked it and I decided to talk about it because its one of my favorite books of I survived this was the most interesting part that I think was most fasinating of all was when Chet was making his prank because the other boys pranked him.
            • paige Sunday, September 28, 2014 at 12:30 pm
              it was awesome
              • DeathStalkerSunday, May 18, 2014 at 7:47 pm
                It was okay!
                • maxcreekside
                  maxcreeksideWednesday, March 26, 2014 at 7:58 pm3 stars
                  This book was great! I loved all the detail. This book was awesome just like all the others. I was great!
                  • radergrant5705
                    radergrant5705Monday, March 3, 2014 at 7:56 am
                    loved the book. My favorite part is when he scared his friends. Short read. This series was very detailed. Can't wait to finish series.
                    • acesreaders
                      acesreadersThursday, February 27, 2014 at 12:03 pm
                      I SURVIVED THE SHARK ATTACKS OF 1916 is a very intense book. This book is about a little boy named Chet, he moves to live with his uncle over the summer, some unbelievable things happen, To be honest I don't think this book has any weaknesses.

                      Most Popular Books This Week

                      Wonder
                      Smile
                      Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Long Haul
                      The Hunger Games
                      Wonder
                      Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Long Haul
                      Smile
                      The Hunger Games

                      Latest Kids Books Reviews

                      fmaglalang
                      fmaglalang wrote:

                      this was an awesome book. a shou...
                      How to Be a Girly Girl in Just T...

                      fmaglalang
                      fmaglalang wrote:

                      cool. my grandpa's birthday is m...
                      Witherwood Reform School

                      lionsrcute1

                      Alexis. A girl with cotton-candy...
                      Bad Girls Don't Die

                      maddyrocks13

                      I've never read this manga, thou...
                      Black Butler, Vol. 1