Harry Potter & the Sorcerer's Stone (Book 1)
Click to Rate

Harry Potter & the Sorcerer's Stone (Book 1)

By J. K. Rowling
538 ratings625 reviews523 followers
Buy Borrow
Share by EmailShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on TwitterShare on tumblrShare on StumbleUponShare on PinterestShare on RedditShare on Edmodo
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 7V5.577508
Harry Potter has no idea how famous he is. That's because he's being raised by his miserable aunt and uncle who are terrified Harry will learn that he's really a wizard, just as his parents were. But everything changes when Harry is summoned to attend an infamous school for wizards, and he begins to discover some clues about his illustrious birthright. From the surprising way he is greeted by a lovable giant, to the unique curriculum and colorful faculty at his unusual school, Harry finds himself drawn deep inside a mystical world he never knew existed and closer to his own noble destiny.
 
Hardcover, 309 pages
Published on November 1, 2003 by Arthur A. Levine Books
ISBN-10: 3348312193
ISBN-13: 9780439554930
625 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • dsturner18
    dsturner18Thursday, January 22, 2015 at 4:36 pm
    What should I read when I finish the seires?
    • bibliophile
      bibliophileFriday, January 30, 2015 at 10:01 am4 stars
      Percy Jackson series, the Charlie Bone series, Hunger Games... honestly there are a lot of great books/series you should check out! Good luck!! :-)
    • potterwatch
      potterwatchThursday, January 15, 2015 at 12:48 pm5 stars
      This is the beginning of the enchanting world of Harry Potter. I will not be a spoiler for those of you who have not read it, but will tell you one or two things: it is a very good book, and it is when Harry discovers that he is a wizard.
      • aitrae
        aitraeMonday, January 12, 2015 at 7:19 pm5 stars
        This book was awesome, it was full of adventure and though it was pretty long it was worth reading, I also read the next book which is pretty cool too. The Harry Potter series is addicting and I always wish that I was a witch. Then I wouldn't have to clean my room the muggle way! :)
        • hemmguin
          hemmguinMonday, January 12, 2015 at 4:15 pm5 stars
          Raise your hand if you are a die-hard Harry Potter fan! *raises hand*
          • poison_ivy
            poison_ivySunday, January 11, 2015 at 1:07 pm5 stars
            J.K. Rowling did a great job whiting her fist book in an amazing series. She did a good job explaining everything without it sounding boring. Amazing book I would recommend to anyone, even if they didn't like reading.
            • lord voldemortTuesday, January 6, 2015 at 5:18 pm
              Well eh I LOVE IT btw read all the books and watch both movies they are really intense and I LOVE THEM so muchhhhh
              • mirda
                mirdaThursday, December 25, 2014 at 8:50 pm4 stars
                i really wish i could meet jan rowling (J. K. Rowling)
                • mirda
                  mirdaThursday, December 25, 2014 at 8:48 pm4 stars
                  i really love this book and it only took me like 2 weeks to read it. I think the book is way better than the movie because the book had a lot more details.
                  • peeps
                    peepsWednesday, December 24, 2014 at 6:47 am
                    too long
                    • peace_love_dance
                      peace_love_danceTuesday, December 9, 2014 at 8:17 am
                      the harry potter books are so good I have read all of them and when I read them I cant stop I recommend the book to all kids 10+

                      Most Popular Books This Week

                      Smile
                      Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Long Haul
                      Wonder
                      The One and Only Ivan
                      Rump: The True Story of Rumpelstiltskin
                      Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Long Haul
                      The One and Only Ivan

                      Latest Kids Books Reviews

                      maddyp18
                      maddyp18 wrote:

                      I love this book so so so much!!...
                      The 39 Clues: Doublecross Book 1...

                      maemae500
                      maemae500 wrote:

                      this book is great. did you know...
                      Smile

                      giggler
                      giggler wrote:

                      I liked it too! I also read f...
                      Shooting Kabul (Paula Wiseman Bo...

                      giggler
                      giggler wrote:

                      Such cool formatting! I loved it!
                      Inside Out and Back Again