Harry Potter & the Sorcerer's Stone (Book 1)
Click to Rate

Harry Potter & the Sorcerer's Stone (Book 1)

By J. K. Rowling
468 ratings524 reviews474 followers
Share by EmailShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on TwitterShare on tumblrShare on StumbleUponShare on PinterestShare on RedditShare on Edmodo
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 7V5.577508
Harry Potter has no idea how famous he is. That's because he's being raised by his miserable aunt and uncle who are terrified Harry will learn that he's really a wizard, just as his parents were. But everything changes when Harry is summoned to attend an infamous school for wizards, and he begins to discover some clues about his illustrious birthright. From the surprising way he is greeted by a lovable giant, to the unique curriculum and colorful faculty at his unusual school, Harry finds himself drawn deep inside a mystical world he never knew existed and closer to his own noble destiny.
 
Hardcover, 309 pages
Published on November 1, 2003 by Arthur A. Levine Books
ISBN-10: 3348312193
ISBN-13: 9780439554930
524 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • iserb
    iserb7/28/20145 stars
    I loved it , my mom gave it to me it was awesome. It about a young wizard who was taken in bye his aunt and uncle who hate wizards When harry gets taken to the school fro wizards fun and wonder await. But when he finds a secret room gaurded bye a three headed dog the adventure truly begins.
    • cardsandknights
      cardsandknights7/24/20145 stars
      The author was great at giving details. Harry Potters character went through many changes. I do not think living with the Dursleys was a great way to grow up, but wow did he make up for it. Quidditch seems like an awesome game, and he made great friends.
      • thewrecker
        thewrecker7/23/20145 stars
        i love harry potter i read almost all the books i like it because it hooks me in to the book so much that i cant stop reading its also very very very interesting i love it
        • chewie
          chewie7/22/2014
          In Harry Potter the Dursley's a nasty family find a baby on there doorstep. 10 years later Harry Potter for that was who the baby was, was sleeping in a cupboard under the stairs.It all begins here. I like this book because of its mystery.
          • bookworm890
            bookworm8907/19/20145 stars
            I received this book last year through a giveaway. This is one of the best stories that I've read in a very long time. And I know that those of you who have already read the books are probably nodding your heads and saying "well, duh, it's Harry Potter!" Honestly though, the stories are so well thought out, the characters are so original, that I can find nothing to complain about. Rowling is a master of her craft and as long as I've known this her books have tempted me. In a strange way, I've tried to avoid reading her books for years. Not because they are bad, but because I like saving the best for last and I would like to thank DOGObooks for finally giving me a chance to succumb to her stories.
            • gymnastluv2253
              gymnastluv22537/19/20145 stars
              This book is amazing! J.K. Rowling is an awesome author! This book is filled with so much imagination and transports you to the world of magic.
              • beeslees
                Ms. Lee7/18/20145 stars
                Let me start off by saying, although I do love the movie it comes NO WHERE CLOSE to being as good as the book. The movie leaves out so many important and interesting characters and events. After reading this book in high school I fell in love. Rowling creates an amazing new world filled with excitement, magic, and adventure. The characters in the book are creative and memorable. Harry teaches us how to be kind and brave even through the tough stuff. Ron is always there to give us a laugh and to teach us how to have a good time, while Hermione (personally my favorite) teaches us the importance of determination, dedication, and hard-work. There is one thing that these characters really teach us though, and that is how important friendship is. This is a story I could read over and over again. Each time I open us this book I am immediately taken into the magical world of Hogwarts and taken on the most wonderful adventures. Whether it is casting a spell, brewing a potion, flying on my broomstick, or simply exploring the halls and grounds of the castle, I am always swept away.
                • kimsam123
                  kimsam1237/17/20144 stars
                  Who doesn't love Harry Potter? He is a wizard raised by his aunt and uncle. Harry goes to a school for wizards, where he meets his two "BFFs" I guess you can call it. Allakazam!
                  • yaya10
                    yaya107/17/20145 stars
                    it one of the best books in the world i love it i read the whole story JK Rowling is the best
                    • tim0706
                      tim07067/16/20145 stars
                      Harry Potter is an 11 years old boy who is very unusual. This is because he was baby sitter by his uncle and aunt (for which he was the only one to survive the death spell). He then started to attend a school called Hogwarts. He learned his parents were magical and got friends (Hermione and Ron). This book was very fun. Even though it is long, it is very interesting and funny.

                      Most Popular Books This Week

                      Animal Jam: Official Insider's Guide
                      Charlotte's Web
                      Weird but True! Ripped from the Headlines
                      Island of the Blue Dolphins
                      Weird but True! Ripped from the Headlines
                      Animal Jam: Official Insider's Guide
                      My Sister, the Creep (An Apple Paperback)

                      Latest Kids Books Reviews

                      ikyra_marie

                      Love her songs!i suggest you don...
                      Taylor Swift: Country's Sweethea...

                      spinnypeeps

                      Definitely my favorite book out ...
                      The Son of Neptune (Heroes of Ol...

                      coolnicki477

                      Its filled with amazing facts th...
                      Weird but True! Ripped from the ...

                      jessapark
                      jessapark wrote:

                      this book includes some part of ...
                      Hello Baby