Harry Potter & the Sorcerer's Stone (Book 1) Buy Book
Click to Rate

Harry Potter & the Sorcerer's Stone (Book 1)

Borrow
Share by EmailShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on TwitterShare on PinterestShare on RedditShare on Edmodo
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 7V5.577508
Harry Potter has no idea how famous he is. That's because he's being raised by his miserable aunt and uncle who are terrified Harry will learn that he's really a wizard, just as his parents were. But everything changes when Harry is summoned to attend an infamous school for wizards, and he begins to discover some clues about his illustrious birthright. From the surprising way he is greeted by a lovable giant, to the unique curriculum and colorful faculty at his unusual school, Harry finds himself drawn deep inside a mystical world he never knew existed and closer to his own noble destiny.
 
Hardcover, 309 pages
Published on November 1, 2003 by Arthur A. Levine Books
ISBN-10: 3348312193
ISBN-13: 9780439554930
825 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • lj0615
    lj0615Friday, July 3, 2015 at 4:42 pm
    I love the Harry Potter series of books! Better than the movies! Great series! My favorite.
    • acholguin
      acholguinThursday, July 2, 2015 at 5:09 pm55 stars
      This is the first book of seven in Harry Potter. Harry's father and mother were killed by a dark wizard named Lord Voldemort and when he was just one year old. At the age of 11, he was found by Rubius Hagred as he was under the care of a Mugel nonmagic family the Durseleys. When Harry enrolled at Hogwarts, the sorting suggested Slytherin, one of the houses, Harry had heard that Voldemort was in Slytherin, so the hat put him in Griffindor. Harry was allowed to play quiddich in his first year, while all the others could only enroll in the game after their first year. Near the end of the book, harry discovered that his defense agains the dark arts teacher mr. quorreel had been a servant of Voldemort.
      • sweetheart352
        sweetheart352Tuesday, June 30, 2015 at 7:47 pm55 stars
        this book is really a wonderful adventure. filled with wizards, magic, mail carrying owls, and muggles. once you start reading you just can't stop. I would recommend this book.
        • amelie123
          amelie123Tuesday, June 30, 2015 at 8:26 am
          I like this book. It is interesting how Harry Potter gets detention and has to go into this forest with Hagrid.
          • sparkle132
            sparkle132Monday, June 29, 2015 at 7:06 am55 stars
            I have been told that the beginning of the book is boring, once you get past the 1st chapter, you enter Harry's world. I have read every Harry Potter book and have watched every movie. I used to think Harry Potter was for nerds (which I now understand is not a nice term) but if that is so, I am proud to consider myself a nerd.
            • csnow
              csnowSunday, June 28, 2015 at 4:53 am55 stars
              This is a book about a boy named harry potter who's mother and father dies when he was young and now has to live with a mean old family called the Durslys ( don't know how to spell) and then he learns he is a wizard and go's to a wizard school and this is basically how he lives his first year there!
              • chocolatecandy5
                chocolatecandy5Saturday, June 27, 2015 at 1:51 pm55 stars
                This book is about a boy named Harry Potter. He goes to a school of witchcraft and wizardy that is named Hogwarts. It tells about his first year there.
                • asma234
                  asma234Saturday, June 27, 2015 at 12:37 pm55 stars
                  All Harry Potter books are pretty long but totally worth it.Book one is mainly about how Harry begins Hogwarts and how he stopped Voldemort as a young baby. Everyone in the associated with the magical world knows about Harry Potter and how he still has the scar the dark lord gave him.Harry potter and the deathly hallows is my favorite book out of the entire series.It's the last one but it's still my favorite.
                  • selina
                    selinaFriday, June 26, 2015 at 1:06 pm55 stars
                    This book is awesome. It is about a boy named Harry Potter. Harry has started to attend a school called Hogwarts Witchcraft aand Wizardry. First Harry has to get his school supplies. On September First Harry gets on the Hogwarts Express. On the train Harry makes new friends named Hermione Granger and Ron Weasely. Harry also met Draco Malfoy. Now Potter, Geranger and Weasley are enemies with Malfoy, Crabbe and Goyle (for some reason all the characters call each other by their last name). At Hogwarts after the sorting Sacramone and after dinnereveryone went to their houses to get some rest. In the morning after breakfast everyone have to go to their classes to learn how to do some magic and the first years they have to also learn how to ride a broomstick. when Neville try to ride the broomstick he fell off and broke his wrist and he had to put the ball he was holding on the table but then Malfoy took it and jumped on his broomstick and and started flying into the air Harry on the other hand also jumped on his room and flew after Malfoy.then Professor McGonagall found Malfoy and Potter in the air. She yelled at Malfoy but told Harry to follow her. She asked Proffessor Quirell if she can borrow Oliver Wood for a moment. At the end of the book it is the end of Harry's first year at school and Harry and all of the other kids (other 1st years and 2nd through 7 years) are going home since it's the summer.
                    • bibliophile
                      bibliophileThursday, June 25, 2015 at 1:00 pm44 stars
                      "Don't judge book by it's cover" especially if it''s the Harry Potter series... These series have been with me since third grade. Here we have a typical teenage boy named Harry, he was an unusual boy but did not know he had magic in him. Now a few months past and he has friends, he now knows sorcery, and he attends the famous school: Hogwarts. Now you can tell Harry is an unusual boy for sure. This story caught my attention for sure, actually the whole series. I would recommend this book because the book feels like it is right in front of you. I also really enjoyed the author's transitions used during the story. The book may look long, but it isn't when you start reading. Enjoy!!!!

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      katiecool
                      katiecool wrote:

                      I like these books, because rete...
                      The Land of Stories: The Enchant...

                      maddyp18
                      maddyp18 wrote:

                      I loved this book so much!!!!!!!...
                      Harry Potter and the Order of th...

                      katiecool
                      katiecool wrote:

                      Amazing! I can't wait for book 4...
                      The Land of Stories: The Wishing...

                      RYLAN wrote:

                      this book is the best ever!
                      Upside-Down Magic