Harry Potter & the Sorcerer's Stone (Book 1) Buy Book
Click to Rate

Harry Potter & the Sorcerer's Stone (Book 1)

Borrow
Share by EmailShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on TwitterShare on PinterestShare on RedditShare on Edmodo
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 7V5.577508
Harry Potter has no idea how famous he is. That's because he's being raised by his miserable aunt and uncle who are terrified Harry will learn that he's really a wizard, just as his parents were. But everything changes when Harry is summoned to attend an infamous school for wizards, and he begins to discover some clues about his illustrious birthright. From the surprising way he is greeted by a lovable giant, to the unique curriculum and colorful faculty at his unusual school, Harry finds himself drawn deep inside a mystical world he never knew existed and closer to his own noble destiny.
 
Hardcover, 309 pages
Published on November 1, 2003 by Arthur A. Levine Books
ISBN-10: 3348312193
ISBN-13: 9780439554930
744 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • bballinlex
    bballinlexThursday, May 28, 2015 at 11:07 pm
    I read the book before watching the movie. The book had so much more detail! I enjoyed the book because because I felt that Harry's world, including the existence of Hogwarts, was an ideal magical world you think of in your imagination. The relationships between friends and enemies were relatable, even though they they included magic. The teachers at Hogwarts reminded of teacher personalities at a real school, of course, minus the wizards and spell masters. Quidditch reminded be of a school's football team. Overall, this is a great read!
    • suniyah
      suniyahThursday, May 28, 2015 at 12:59 pm55 stars
      Harry Potter is an amazing book.My favorite character is Hermione Granger.
      • genius1326
        genius1326Thursday, May 28, 2015 at 12:01 pm55 stars
        Awesome book. It is about this boy named Harry Potter, and he is raised by his mean Aunt and Uncle, and is stuck with his mean cousin, who are all terrified that he might learn one day that he is a wizard. Harry has no idea why he wasn't with his TRUE mother and father, but one day, he was invited to Hogwarts. He went to attend, and he was greeted by Hagruff, the giant at Hogwarts. So as Harry continues his journey at the school, he learns how and what to do as a wizard.
        • abbas24
          abbas24Thursday, May 28, 2015 at 10:22 am
          Harry Potter, a young Eleven year old orphan boy, having to grow up with his cruel Aunt Petunia, and Uncle Vernon treating him like a filthy boy. And now He goes to a wizarding school called Hogwarts! I love these series, and it thrills me to have them waiting on my bookshelf ready for me to read!
          • katyperry7
            katyperry7Thursday, May 28, 2015 at 2:51 am
            harry potter is the best i have read these books like 100 times
            • goofy127
              goofy127Wednesday, May 27, 2015 at 5:27 pm55 stars
              Harry Potter thinks he is an ordinary orphan boy living with his rather mean and selfish aunt, uncle and cousin. That all changes when he receives (many, many, many) letters inviting him to Hogwarts, the school of Witchcraft and Wizardry. Harry is special and everybody knows it - recognizing him by the trademark lightning-shaped scar on his forehead - except him. The scar was given to him by Lord Voldemort, the villainous Wizard who killed his parents and terrorized pretty much everybody before a little baby boy - Harry Potter - stopped him eleven years ago (round about). Now he must face off against his Parents' murderer and stop Lord Voldemort from coming back all while keeping the infamous Philosopher's Stone safe and passing his classes. This book is a really great read, full of adventure, tons of suspense, sly humor and keeps readers wishing they weren't just normal muggles (non-magic humans).
              • bird12
                bird12Wednesday, May 27, 2015 at 4:06 pm55 stars
                i absolutely love this book. its perfect for people who like magic and suspence. and a sad but happy tale also its kind of dark and creepy especially when the story goes on.
                • bird12
                  bird12Wednesday, May 27, 2015 at 3:34 pm55 stars
                  i love this book because its the start of an amazing book series, i also love this book because harry finds out things he was hidden from.
                  • allygirl
                    allygirlWednesday, May 27, 2015 at 2:41 pm55 stars
                    I liked the part about the golden snitch
                    • allygirl
                      allygirlWednesday, May 27, 2015 at 2:32 pm55 stars
                      It is amazing didn't want to read at first but now I love it

                      Popular Books This Week

                      Big Nate: From the Top
                      The Lemonade War (The Lemonade War Series)
                      The Adventures of Captain Underpants
                      Whatever After #1: Fairest of All
                      National Geographic Kids Almanac 2016
                      The Lemonade War (The Lemonade War Series)
                      Cirque Du Freak

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      Bananaforeves wrote:

                      I would suggest to read the firs...
                      Percy Jackson and the Sea of Mon...

                      Bananaforeves wrote:

                      Do u like Greek mythology? Adven...
                      The Lightning Thief

                      dragonballZKAI wrote:

                      This book is also like this book...
                      Twilight: The Graphic Novel, Vol...

                      dragonballZKAI wrote:

                      This book is also like this book...
                      Twilight: The Graphic Novel, Vol...