Harry Potter & the Sorcerer's Stone (Book 1)
Click to Rate

Harry Potter & the Sorcerer's Stone (Book 1)

By J. K. Rowling
511 ratings591 reviews506 followers
Buy Borrow
Share by EmailShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on TwitterShare on tumblrShare on StumbleUponShare on PinterestShare on RedditShare on Edmodo
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 7V5.577508
Harry Potter has no idea how famous he is. That's because he's being raised by his miserable aunt and uncle who are terrified Harry will learn that he's really a wizard, just as his parents were. But everything changes when Harry is summoned to attend an infamous school for wizards, and he begins to discover some clues about his illustrious birthright. From the surprising way he is greeted by a lovable giant, to the unique curriculum and colorful faculty at his unusual school, Harry finds himself drawn deep inside a mystical world he never knew existed and closer to his own noble destiny.
 
Hardcover, 309 pages
Published on November 1, 2003 by Arthur A. Levine Books
ISBN-10: 3348312193
ISBN-13: 9780439554930
591 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • ginny67
    ginny67Thursday, October 30, 2014 at 6:30 pm5 stars
    I LOVE books but this book is the best book I've read. This book has all you could want in any book. This book keeps getting better along with the series
    • beautifulgirl
      beautifulgirlThursday, October 30, 2014 at 9:24 am
      I like this book they have a school in this book
      • edmodo-azznssk5an
        edmodo-azznssk5anThursday, October 30, 2014 at 9:22 am
        I LOVE Harry Potter!!! J.K. Rowling does a great job on making you feel like your either Harry's best friend, worst enemy, or everyday aquaintance. She also does a great job on making you see, hear, and even feel the setting. Harry Potter is an amazing book and I hope more and more people keep reading it every day. I can't believe this is just the first book out of seven!!
        • adriank
          adriankSunday, October 26, 2014 at 5:05 pm
          There is actually a school in Scotland called Hogwarts, of course it does not teach witchcraft and wizardry.
          • memcconaghy
            memcconaghySunday, October 26, 2014 at 12:31 pm
            my mom had all the books and now I am reading them
            • ratboy
              ratboyTuesday, October 21, 2014 at 8:35 pm5 stars
              it was awesome i love the part where professor qurrell takes of his turban and shows the dark lord!
              • ratboy
                ratboyTuesday, October 21, 2014 at 8:37 pm5 stars
                i forgot to put five stars!!!!!
              • drawingcyclone
                drawingcycloneTuesday, October 21, 2014 at 7:23 pm5 stars
                The first book of the wizard in training was-- Two words. So. Epic.
                • smilecrazy
                  smilecrazyTuesday, October 21, 2014 at 10:55 am
                  I LOVE THIS BOOK!!
                  • hermonie15
                    hermonie15Sunday, October 19, 2014 at 11:27 am5 stars
                    Did you know this has been printed in 500 langues?
                    • ratboy
                      ratboyTuesday, October 21, 2014 at 8:36 pm5 stars
                      that is facinating
                    • hermonie15
                      hermonie15Sunday, October 19, 2014 at 11:19 am5 stars
                      Did you know this has been printed in 500 langues?

                      Most Popular Books This Week

                      Smile
                      When You Reach Me
                      Minecraft: The Official Annual 2014
                      When You Reach Me
                      Smile
                      Wonder

                      Latest Kids Books Reviews

                      emila
                      emila wrote:

                      I have this book already but I h...
                      Charmed Life #2: Mia's Golden Bird

                      emila
                      emila wrote:

                      This is a really good book becau...
                      Charmed Life #1: Caitlin's Lucky...

                      magazinepurple

                      This book is so good it has diff...
                      Women Heroes of World War II: 26...

                      emila
                      emila wrote:

                      I wanted to read this book becau...
                      Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Hard Luck ...