Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (Book 1)
Click to Rate

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (Book 1)

By J. K. Rowling
373 ratings384 reviews421 followers
Harry Potter has no idea how famous he is. That's because he's being raised by his miserable aunt and uncle who are terrified Harry will learn that he's really a wizard, just as his parents were. But everything changes when Harry is summoned to attend an infamous school for wizards, and he begins to discover some clues about his illustrious birthright. From the surprising way he is greeted by a lovable giant, to the unique curriculum and colorful faculty at his unusual school, Harry finds himself drawn deep inside a mystical world he never knew existed and closer to his own noble destiny.
 
(less)
Hardcover, 309 pages
Published on November 1, 2003 by Arthur A. Levine Books
ISBN-10: 3348312193
ISBN-13: 9780439554930
Share on FacebookShare on Google+Share on TwitterShare on tumblrShare on StumbleUponShare on PinterestShare on RedditShare on Edmodo
384 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • aggiesoph
    aggiesoph4/22/20145 stars
    This is the first book in the BEST SERIES EVER!!!!! (In my opinion), and you have to read it if you know what's good for you. It is about a boy named Harry Potter, a wizard,and his parents are killed by an evil sorcerer named...... Well, I can't say it. I'll just say You-Know-Who. So anyways, his parents die when he is only a baby, and he is sent off to live with his only living relatives.... Muggles. His Aunt and Uncle treat him horribly, and his cousin Dudley bullies him a lot. When a letter arrives, all hope isn't lost for harry, and he boards the Hogwarts express and makes a friend named Ron Weasley. At Hogwarts, they are put in Gryffindor with a bossy, bushy haired girl, who they eventually make friends with after they take out a troll on Halloween. They also go to many classes during the year and experience many adventures! Read the book to find out! I guarantee you'll love it! 😜😜
    • resw
      resw4/11/20145 stars
      it is such a good book you have to read it. it is a book full of mystery,magic,and friendship. it is awesome i loved it you have to read it :-)
      • brem
        brem4/11/2014
        this is a madgical book i loved it it was so amazing j.k rowling is a fanomanalwrighter i highly suggest this book.
        • bea123
          bea1234/9/2014
          I also have read this book in a day with the rest of the books
          • calhoun
            calhoun4/8/20145 stars
            I think that it is going to be great.
            • Rachel4/5/2014
              I love this whole Harry Potter series, it's awesome!
              • 8765309kid
                8765309kid4/2/20145 stars
                This is the best book series ever! I read the whole series and loved it, all, Book 1 to Book 7, and when I told everyone in my class how awesome it was, over half of my class dived into it automatically, with no complains. It has been a while after I finished the series, but I'm happy that two of my best friends are already catching up, and are reading the 4th book. Great series! Love it!
                • Harrypotterfan3/26/2014
                  I'm a Potterhead.
                  • superstriker6
                    superstriker63/25/2014
                    It's an awesome series made me love reading
                    • princesess
                      princesess3/24/2014
                      i want 2 read it i heard it's realy realy good

                      Reading Levels

                      Guided Reading
                      V
                      Interest Level
                      Grades 4 - 8
                      Reading Level
                      Grade 5
                      ATOS Level
                      5.5
                      Word Count
                      77508

                      Latest Kids Books Reviews

                      ikyra_marie

                      Much love for One Direction!
                      1D One Direction: Forever Young

                      ikyra_marie

                      Oh my gosh!Me too!
                      iCarly: iCarly Scrapbook

                      aggiesoph
                      aggiesoph wrote:

                      This is the first book in the B...
                      Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's ...

                      Book expertee wrote:

                      best book ever known to mankind....
                      The Diary of a Young Girl