Harry Potter & the Sorcerer's Stone (Book 1)

Book 1 of 8 in the Harry Potter Series
Email
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 8V5.577508
Harry Potter has no idea how famous he is. That's because he's being raised by his miserable aunt and uncle who are terrified Harry will learn that he's really a wizard, just as his parents were. But everything changes when Harry is summoned to attend an infamous school for wizards, and he begins to discover some clues about his illustrious birthright. From the surprising way he is greeted by a lovable giant, to the unique curriculum and colorful faculty at his unusual school, Harry finds himself drawn deep inside a mystical world he never knew existed and closer to his own noble destiny.
Hardcover, 309 pages
Published on November 1, 2003 by Arthur A. Levine Books
ISBN-10: 3348312193
ISBN-13: 9780439554930
1150 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • savigurl
    savigurlMonday, June 27, 2016 at 8:49 pm55 stars
    favriote book ever. nothing beats Harry Potter,ever. i would recommend this book to everyone really an amazing work.
    • carlaSunday, June 26, 2016 at 3:33 am
      harry potter is the best book ever
      • kiwikat
        kiwikatThursday, June 23, 2016 at 6:19 am55 stars
        J.K Rowling casts a spell on readers. Wizard or muggle, you'll enjoy this book. Hermione says so.
        • booklover321
          booklover321Wednesday, June 22, 2016 at 9:17 amFeatured
          This book is awesome, it's about a little boy named Harry Potter who starts off with an awful life with his Aunt, Uncle, and Cousin. They treated Harry as if he was a sack of flour and come to find out, he was a wizard. Harry didn't know at first, but his uncle did and did not want Harry to know. The more Harry's uncle hid the truth the more mail they got for harry to go to Hogwarts, Harry's uncle was so tired of the mail that he packed up and left. Soon as they got settled down Hagrid came around and took Harry to Hogwarts, but of course causing some havoc first. I love this book it has everything in it to make it interesting, even one of the books made me cry!
          • keasey
            keaseyTuesday, June 21, 2016 at 2:26 pm
            OMG! Harry potter is the best! I watched them all when I was a baby! And I read the books over and over again! LONG LIVE THE BOY WHO LIVED!
            • koolkat75
              koolkat75Monday, June 20, 2016 at 5:00 pm55 stars
              I loved this book. I really liked it because it has adventure, is very long, and helped me read more complicated books. The whole series is a whole whimsical adventure. I recommend everyone reading the series.
              • mini-moth
                mini-mothSunday, June 19, 2016 at 11:08 am
                I am a Harry Potter fan and this book is the first one in the series. I recommend reading all the books about Harry Potter's adventures at Hogwarts.
                • october
                  octoberSaturday, June 18, 2016 at 2:35 pm
                  I LOVE this book. One reason why I like this book is because I like magic, and magic is involved in all the books. Also, I like how Harry gets introduced to Hogwarts, and meets Ron and Hermione. Thats cool.
                  • strawberry1234
                    strawberry1234Saturday, June 18, 2016 at 1:44 pm55 stars
                    I think it is a fun book to read and it is funny
                    • beanblob
                      beanblobFriday, June 17, 2016 at 2:01 pm55 stars
                      Harry potter really opened me up to the next levels of imagination and writing. I have to thanks mom for telling me to read this book. Now I'm reading books more complicated books. But wouldn't have been reading those if it hadn't been for Harry Potter.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      strawberry1234

                      This book is about friendships a...
                      The BFG

                      Firestar_247 wrote:

                      Awesome, defiantly my fave Origa...
                      Princess Labelmaker to the Rescu...

                      Lisbet wrote:

                      it is a great book!😊😊
                      iCarly iCreate My World Online [...

                      yellow43528

                      This is awesome! I love the book...
                      Hidden Oracle