Harry Potter & the Sorcerer's Stone (Book 1)
Click to Rate

Harry Potter & the Sorcerer's Stone (Book 1)

By J. K. Rowling
475 ratings535 reviews476 followers
Share by EmailShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on TwitterShare on tumblrShare on StumbleUponShare on PinterestShare on RedditShare on Edmodo
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 7V5.577508
Harry Potter has no idea how famous he is. That's because he's being raised by his miserable aunt and uncle who are terrified Harry will learn that he's really a wizard, just as his parents were. But everything changes when Harry is summoned to attend an infamous school for wizards, and he begins to discover some clues about his illustrious birthright. From the surprising way he is greeted by a lovable giant, to the unique curriculum and colorful faculty at his unusual school, Harry finds himself drawn deep inside a mystical world he never knew existed and closer to his own noble destiny.
 
Hardcover, 309 pages
Published on November 1, 2003 by Arthur A. Levine Books
ISBN-10: 3348312193
ISBN-13: 9780439554930
535 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • xxpish
    xxpish8/14/20145 stars
    Hmm. What can I say about this book that hasn't already been said? Well, it's AWESOME. If you haven't read Harry Potter you are SERIOUSLY living under a rock :-P I LOVE everything HP. POTTER FOREVER!!!!!!!!!
    • ifeelbookish
      ifeelbookish8/13/20145 stars
      NOPE. I CANT PROPERLY REVIEW THIS WITHOUT FANGIRLING. I CANT BELIEVE THAT I'VE WAITED THIS LONG TO READ THE HARRY POTTER SERIES. First of all, I want to thank DOGO for sending me this book. So this past week, I've been scrolling through Tumblr GIFS of Harry Potter movies, and I just thought to myself: Why haven't I read Harry Potter when about 95% of the Earth's population has? I've had the book for over a year now, and I still haven't read it yet. I absolutely love the new covers of the series, and I immediately recognized Kazu Kibuishi's artwork because I had previously read his Amulet series. I also appreciated the spine artwork, in which if you line up all the books in the series, it displays Hogwarts. This was definitely a page-turner and the characters were witty and endearing. I JUST LOVED THIS BOOK OKAY? I JUST CANT REVIEW IT WITHOUT MESSING UP. P. S. : Thank you very much to DOGO, again, for sending me this book, and I'm soooo sorry it took so long to review it. -ifeelbookish
      • lulu1234
        lulu12348/13/20145 stars
        my mom and i are reading this whole series together. I wish there were pictures but i really like the storey. Im excited to read them all!
        • pigloveramazing
          pigloveramazing8/13/20145 stars
          This is an amazing book! It is in My top 7 favorite books! The other 6 is the rest of the Harry Potter series! J K Rowling has an amazing talent for writing!
          • pigloveramazing
            pigloveramazing8/13/20145 stars
            This is an amazing book! It is in my top 7 favorite! The other 6 are the rest of the Harry Potter series. J K Rowling has an amazing talent for writing
            • salexander
              salexander8/12/20144 stars
              The first of many great books. It's a creative story that is filled with interesting characters and strange creatures. I love its plot.
              • selina
                selina8/11/20145 stars
                This story is about a baby boy who survives a death attack. 11 years later he got stuff from a place called Digon Alley so that the boy has everything he needs for school. That alley has everything he needs : a cauldron , a pet , a wand , school robes , and dress robes. Before Harry, the survived boy who had never before celebrated his B'day, left for school and got his stuff the school gamekeeper gave him a birthday cake and took him away from his aunt and uncle. His aunt and uncle were very mean and they practically didn't care about him.
                • zorba
                  zorba8/11/20145 stars
                  AWESOME BOOK!!!! J. K. Rowling has a great talent writing. This is the first book in the Harry Potter series, all the books are wonderful! Harry Potter's parents were killed when he was a baby by a "car crash" (really Voldemort killed both of them) so Harry went to live with his fat, annoying, mean aunt, uncle, and cousin. Then Harry gets sent to Hogwarts, a magic school, and meets his two best friends Ron and Hermione and starts his adventure there!!! READ THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!
                  • zorba
                    zorba8/8/20145 stars
                    This book is AWESOME!!!! Harry Potter is amazing, so is Ron and Hermione!!! Harry Potter is a young wizard, his parents were killed when he was a baby by Voldemort (evil guy) so he lives with his horrible aunt and uncle. Harry gets sent to Hogwarts and he starts his adventure there. I STRONGLY RECOMMEND THIS BOOK!!!!!!
                    • batman123
                      batman1238/7/20145 stars
                      This book was filled with magic, and adventure

                      Most Popular Books This Week

                      Percy Jackson's Greek Gods
                      Wonder
                      Charlotte's Web
                      Anna Dressed in Blood
                      Wonder
                      Percy Jackson's Greek Gods
                      Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Long Haul
                      Secrets of the Book
                      A Wrinkle in Time

                      Latest Kids Books Reviews

                      tim0706
                      tim0706 wrote:

                      I loved this amazing book. It is...
                      Room One: A Mystery or Two

                      luckymax
                      luckymax wrote:

                      AMAZING I love the book it's *te...
                      Divergent (Book 1) (Divergent Se...

                      leafstar
                      leafstar wrote:

                      SO AWESOME!!! It comes out in 6 ...
                      Warriors Super Edition: Brambles...